1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Questions About Galaxy S2

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by mkmossop, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. mkmossop

    mkmossop Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012

    Nov 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    Ok I've tried looking all around but can't find out how to set the "1" screen as my home screen. Whenever I click the "up" arrow in the main phone buttons it takes me to the screen with the highest number.

    I've tried pinching the home page so you get the view of the various screens, but don't see any options there to set the home screen.

    I'm also wondering how I can put an icon linking to a specific website on my home page. I see you can add bookmarks, but there's no option to add a custom bookmark. Also is it possible to add a custom icon to this page?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,821
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,821
    4,541
    1,108
    Male
    1. Not sure how I can help you here, as it may be a ROM specific issue. The default launcher on my Galaxy S1 is the "1" screen. You can use a different launcher like Go, Apex or Nova which can allow you to change the homescreen depending on which one you like.

    2. Why just not make a bookmark of the page, then put that bookmark on the homescreen? You can just separate the bookmarks into a folder so it doesn't get cluttered. As for using a custom icon, you need to use a launcher that supports such icon customization (Go, Apex, Nova, etc). You can use your own icons or download an icon pack from the Play Store.
     
  3. mkmossop

    mkmossop Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012

    Nov 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    Hey thanks for the reply.

    That's part of the problem... I don't know how to make a bookmark for a specific page. It will let me only let me add bookmarks from a predefined list stored in the phone.

    Maybe I can connect my phone to my computer and add a new link to the "bookmarks" folder or something?

    Thanks!
     
  4. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    Have you tried dragging the screens?
     
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,821
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,821
    4,541
    1,108
    Male
    Assuming you are using the stock browser, open it to the webpage you want to bookmark, then when you are there, tap the menu button then select "add bookmark"
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,992
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Let us know which S2 variant you have (AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint 4G Touch etc) and I'll move this thread to the specific section of the site for that device.
     
  7. mkmossop

    mkmossop Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012

    Nov 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    Oopsies sorry I got busy and completely forgot about this.

    I'm with Rogers (in Canada). The add bookmark thing works... thanks I had no idea about that. I'd still like to change the icon it has but it's no big deal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...