1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Questions about the Moment

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zachdude, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. zachdude

    zachdude Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    OK, First off, when my girlfriend(HTC Hero) and my friend(Moto Droid) use Advanced Task Killer they have 60m avail memory(Hero) and like 90m Avail Memory(droid)

    What is everyone else at usually... does this phone have less memory than the other two?

    Also, sometimes when calling phone won't connect to a contact, and freezes, I then have to take out the batter... I deleted TasKiller and hasn't happened since.

    Last question is about the connection of the phone, I was sitting in the wendy's parking lot close to work, and was surfn' the net, but then had no connection, and I hadn't moved....

    Also, is this phone 2g?3g?4g? I'm very new to this. Thanks to ALL in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. numus

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    577
    32
    68
    Different os versions and htc has heavily modified the 1.5 os... it isnt apples to apples
     
  3. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Task Killers are overrated unless a program is buggy. The OS should do a fairly good job at killing programs not in use. As numus mentioned about the Hero being heavily modified, they incorporate their Sense UI into the firmware so they need more memory to run their version of Android.

    This phone is 3g. None of the current crop of phones is 4g compatible. And there is a update available for the Moment as of tomorrow. So go to a Sprint store and have them update yours. You might see some improvements all around.
     
  4. zachdude

    zachdude Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Really? because everyone says a task killer is a necessity.
     
  5. BirdieMN

    BirdieMN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    41
    6
    36
    I fight what you fear.
    Woodbury, MN
    It's not. If it was stock Android apps would have a "close" function in them. ;)

    If you do a bit of research about how the Android OS allocates memory you'll find that apps that aren't being actively used drop to near zero memory usage. Basically when it comes to Android you need to forget everything you are used to from spending your whole life in Windows, LOL.
     
  6. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Check out this thread for more info on that topic. If you do a search about some of your concerns, you'll see there are usually a few threads already going on the topic.
     
  7. pdx77

    pdx77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    149
    5
    36
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa

    From what I understand (I don't use one) but the task killer is only useful for apps that like to run in the background (weather apps, etc).
     
  8. zachdude

    zachdude Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Thanks everyone, this has been very helpful.
     
  9. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    1 of the many reasons i use a task killer is to close the browser since the oem browser has no option to close it & stay open in the background.
     
  10. Red_Cheeks

    Red_Cheeks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    74
    3
    16
    You can always close the browser by pressing the back button... I know it sucks...
     
  11. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Why? It's not necessary to kill the browser, it doesn't do anything unless you're actively using it. If you kill it you lose all the pages you're viewing. So it's pretty stupid / unncessary to kill the browser since it has no effect on battery life or anything else.
     
  12. dkjones96

    dkjones96 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    258
    7
    36
    Albuquerque, NM
    In WM5 I used task manager to kill stuff all the time because the OS lacked active memory/application management.

    I'd say the vast majority of people that use them and seem them necessary came from an older platform.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...