1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Questions about Transformer car usage and accessories. Plus some bonus questions.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Waldy, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. Waldy

    Waldy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    21
    2
    16
    Hi everyone. I
     

    Advertisement

  2. kampfwolf09

    kampfwolf09 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    144
    20
    38
    NC
    1. I would say no. Like the iPad, the TF needs a lot of juice to charge. A standard usb car charger will probably only maintain/trickle charge it. I'm not sure if anyone makes a usb car charger that supports the power levels needed. A power inverter would probably be your best bet.

    2. A 10" netbook mount will probably work for the TF. Most people are using carrying bags designed for netbooks, so I would assume a mount would work too.

    3. Yes, use rockplayer lite or mobo player for best support.

    4. GPS should be as good as any other Android device. I know mine was good enough to put me within 10 inside my concrete apartment. Google navigation is IMO, the best nav system for price (free!).It has never left me hanging. Apps like Yelp and such tie into Google maps if your looking for stores, food, gas, and such.

    5. Yes, its on the side with the microsd slot.

    Bonus: Sure. Use UPnP, though some people report(including me) trouble streaming large or HD videos consistently.
     
    jbeemon and Waldy like this.
  3. ToyTank

    ToyTank Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    1. Buy a 175W dc-ac converter for $20 @ Amazon. Then use oem ac adapter. Best solution available for now.
    Normal USB only works with device off or in standby and takes forever. Will not trickle charge or anything unless it is off or standby. Voltage of the device is higher than the 1s lipo your phone uses. USB provides ~5V. Device requires 11V+ to initiate a charge while in use. Devcake over on XDA has a great thread on DIY chargers for the TF.

    2. Many IPAD mounts will work. Get a clamp style one that grabs top and bottom(in landscape) of IPAD2 it SHOULD work(<$50 @amazon).

    3. Yes. Apps available to play wide range of formats.

    4. Google Maps Navigation if you tether to you phone. Will have full offline support in the next few months. Market has many options that use open street maps for offline navigation.

    5. Yes

    I don't work for Amazon
     
    Waldy likes this.
  4. foxmajik

    foxmajik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    6
    1
    6
     
    Waldy likes this.
  5. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    The stock charge cable is very very short. It's a AC/USB adapter with a proprietary USB/ dataport cable. I tried using a USB 'extension' cable with it and it doesn't recognize it's charging..

    There are 2 kinds of "GPS"- TRUE GPS you must have a clear view of the sky, the GPS satellite signal is not that strong to go through buildings, heavy trees, etc... Most phones use the celltowers to triangulate where they are. This is not as accurate, but is faster since the cellphone picks that signal up and is able to calculate much easier without using as much time from the satellites.

    The GPS on the Transformer is NOT "celltower", not sure if it would even lock onto the satellites inside the car. And most nav apps have to have some sort of online connection to "update" as you're driving.

    I found a free map program that you can Download the maps for offline use, but it's map only, no Nav.
     
    Waldy likes this.
  6. kampfwolf09

    kampfwolf09 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    144
    20
    38
    NC
    ^Mine placed me within 10ft inside a concrete bottom floor apartment, I'd say it works pretty well.
     
  7. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53

    I'm inside a metal building with 1" walls and can't find anything.
     
  8. kampfwolf09

    kampfwolf09 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    144
    20
    38
    NC
    ^no windows I take it? The metal is probably causing the signal to reflect everywhere so it can't lock in. Definitely won't have a problem using its GPS in a car.
     
  9. Waldy

    Waldy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    21
    2
    16
    Thank you all for informative replies. I really like to have this tablet but it is not available in Iceland yet so I
     
  10. Gunner

    Gunner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    660
    89
    78
    You answered your own question. Put it next to a window, and it will start pulling sat signals.
     
  11. Gunner

    Gunner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    660
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    660
    89
    78
    Just to clear things up a bit.....

    There is GPS and A-GPS (assisted). Most smartphones have A-GPS which you can think of as 'enhanced' GPS. An A-GPS receiver has an extra component that pulls ephemeris data off the mobile network. This allows for a quick location fix, and allows for rough positioning inside buildings, tunnels, etc. Most A-GPS receivers (in modern day smartphones, anyway) are 'true' GPS receivers in that you can lose the cell signal and still pull a location fix from the sat signals under open sky, or near windows indoors (just like your Garmin or TomTom). The TF has a 'traditional' GPS receiver (not assisted) as there is no cellular modem in the TF (although future TF's will likely have a 3G option, and thus may have A-GPS). Thus the TF requires you to be near windows when indoors, or ideally under open sky for an accurate position.

    Yes, the TF will get a sat lock inside a car (why wouldn't it?) in the same way your Garmin will. Multiple Youtube videos on this.

    No, most (commercial grade) Nav apps don't require you to be online to navigate, as they have map data that you download and install to your SD card. I use CoPilot ($5) for offline use, as a backup to GMN.
     
    mihaelb, Waldy and kampfwolf09 like this.
  12. Roidian

    Roidian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    A-GPS just needs an Internet connection. So it's not a "cell phone" thing. The ASUS Transformer (like other android devices with a GPS) uses A-GPS if there is a WiFi connection.

    The "assisted" part of A-GPS consists of downloading satellite orbit information. This same information is actually transmitted by the satellites themselves, but it is very slow.

    That's why, if you put your stand alone portable GPS device in the drawer at home for a lengthy period of time, it will take a really long time to get your first fix the next time you power it on.
     
  13. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
     
  14. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    I thought I'd be using A/C extension cords, but really I just charge at night. I keep the keyboard on enough that I haven't come close to running the battery out.
     
  15. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    409
    50
    53
    The "official" Sprint Nav and Google Nav didn't work for me without a data connection. Seems they download the voice prompts for the entire route, when you first enter the destination. They update the "turn by turn" physical map (road ahead, with curves and all) as you drive (I assume data download.)

    If you deviate and don't have 3g, they can't download the new voice cues, and eventually the turn-by-turn map also will not load.

    Good info about CoPilot, I'll check it out.
     
  16. Ess.Pee

    Ess.Pee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Brodit holder mounted on Brodit ProClip would be an ideal solution for car, however, also look at these universal mounts.
     
  17. tcat007

    tcat007 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    1,722
    262
    163
    Texas
    Haven't bought a Transformer yet, but might on my way home. I was looking around my car for a good "spot", and thinking it could just hang on the visor. If it has a leather case, the "cover" could slide behind the visor, just need some velcro on the case to keep it from flopping down.

    Still no car cigarette adapters? Seems 12V to 12V USB would be a real easy one to manufacturer.
     
  18. SONOiO

    SONOiO Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    @Eris1981
    All you need is a USB 3 (!) extension cable, this will work.
     
  19. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    267
    17
    38
    i read that awhile back. I bought one then and it worked. I am much happier now.
     
  20. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    If you're looking at the ProClip/Brodit mount, I can save you some dough on it. Was going to post it was available. I don't have a desire to mount it in the car otherwise I'd be picking it up. I've been using my new Dell Streak 7 in the car. Resolution is crap, but tegra 2 in that little thing makes it fly.

    If you do mount the TF, be aware of what you're mounting it to. Some mounts might not hold well due to the weight.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...