1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Questions Before Going to EB1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigshotproducer, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    I see the extended instructions on XDA that have been linked here.

    I also see an "All-In-One" post. I'm ready update my wife's phone, but is one way better than the other? I'm looking to put SC/Voodoo.

    Any advice? thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    1,848
    130
    163
    NC, USA
    Nope I would just go with all in one. It is working great for many :D
     
  3. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
  4. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    1,848
    130
    163
    NC, USA
    Always glad to help :)
     
  5. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    Um, my computer isn't seeming to recognize the phone via USB? Any thoughts? I haven't started anything yet except to try and put the new CWM onto SD card...but comp won't recognize it....eek!
     
  6. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    Got it...never mind. Just rebooted phone with it connected to cpu...Lord today! lol
     
  7. atomD21

    atomD21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    41
    3
    36
    Ohio
    I just used the All in One package for mine and it works great! New CWM and root with EB01, took me all of 15 minutes with Odin!
     
  8. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    I went all in one.. Worked great...but now I need the stock alarm clock back...anywhere I can get it?

    We're running 2.4 Superclean. Thanks!
     
  9. jamesnmandy

    jamesnmandy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    343
    34
    43

    I would update to 2.6 and post in the XDA thread requesting the installer for the stock alarm clock. Adrenalyne can get that for you.
     
    bigshotproducer likes this.
  10. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
  11. grin0048

    grin0048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    184
    35
    43
    bigshotproducer likes this.
  12. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
  13. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    Asked this in another thread by mistake......

    Question...can I just flash sc2.6 over 2.4? Thanks
     
  14. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    yup
     
    bigshotproducer likes this.
  15. wscaddie56

    wscaddie56 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Minneapolis
    So I just want to make sure I understand. I'm on superclean 2.4, I still haven't installed clockwork so I need to ODIN clockwork, new version, then I can just flash the zip for 2.6?

    Also, I was planning on resetting the battery stats once I get ODIN on there but it looks like that is unnecessary if I put 2.6 on there?

    TIA!
     
  16. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    you are on superclean and you dont have cwr installed?...................:thinking:
     
  17. wscaddie56

    wscaddie56 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Minneapolis
    Yeah, I've been ridiculously busy w other stuff so I just ODIN'd sc 2.4 and never got around to putting cwr on again. Just a part time noob here; found the time to get sc 2.4 on there but I ran out of time to do the cwr part.

    Hoping to avoid a full data wipe again to update to 2.6, so I think if I'm right that I can ODIN the new cwr then flash 2.6 w cwr I can avoid having to re-download all my apps, etc.

    Am I on the right track here?

    Thanks for the quick response!
     
  18. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    yeah you can just push recovery and then flash the newer superclean w/o a data wipe...i actually didnt know someone made an odin version of superclean...seems kinda bizarre that anyone would do that tbh :eek:
     
  19. wscaddie56

    wscaddie56 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Minneapolis
    Thank you sir. I used this guide, [EB01 WALKTHROUGHS] Rooting, Clockwork, Voodoo, Stock and Custom ROM, Battery, etc - xda-developers.

    I was wayyyy behind, was still on a superclean DL01 actually, so this seemed a lot easier than flashing to dl09 just to be able to flash to eb01. I dislike the complete data wiping that I get from ODIN, but A) this is similar to how I flashed ROMs for my Omnia so there's a certain comfort level and B) it seems to be less likely I make a mistake using this method.

    Just trying to get this done quickly w/o bricking this thing, if you need help w a golf swing or a March Madness pool that's more my strong suit. ;)

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  20. NOsquid

    NOsquid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    634
    65
    78
    Yeah one of the good folks at Android Central made Odin packages for pretty much all the EB01 ROMs. I'm kind of torn - on the one hand he made it easy for everybody, on the other hand there's a watershed of threads asking for really basic tech support because you really don't have to know *anything* to get root/froyo/superclean anymore.

    IMO Clockwork is safer than Odin, but there is more room for small mistakes in CWM that a lot of people don't know how to troubleshoot. Odin is all or nothing. I've never actually heard of an Odin brick directly, but rumors persist. And an Odin brick is a true brick.
     
  21. wscaddie56

    wscaddie56 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Minneapolis
    All sounds about right to me. I do appreciate the help, more like a self confidence boost, as I'd much rather ask about something easy, ie the cwr thing above, than be crying on irc because my phone is a brick.

    I also don't want to wait for Sammy to drop me froyo, let alone 2.3. I want my phone to be all it can be but I just can't dedicate the time to be self sufficient. If that means I stay stock so be it, but thanks to yall being helpful I am getting so much more out of my phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...