1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root quick darktremor questions...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by paully, May 6, 2012.

  1. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    restating what I think is correct to solidify clarity...

    with dt, running the "a2sd reinstall" and "a2sd cachesd" commands moves already installed apps to the sd card.

    any apps installed thereafter, either via market or TB, get installed internally on the phone. Until the "a2sd reinstall" and "a2sd cachesd" commands are run again, then everything internal is moved over once more.


    right?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,102
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,102
    25,142
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I think those 2 commands work if a previous command to remove apps or cache is done.
    dt a2sd automatically sends apps to sd ext. thereafter...
    Anyone care to confirm?
     
    paully likes this.
  3. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    It's supposed to do it automatically yes. However it doesn't always. The 2 commands should work with out a prior run "reinstall" is essentially the same thing as "install" Also a2sd will only send the app to sd during the boot process.
     
    paully likes this.
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,102
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,102
    25,142
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Thanks, I did not know that..So if I download, let's say, 5 apps and did not reboot, those apps are on the internal storage until I reboot? Then they go to sdext?
     
    paully and Rxpert83 like this.
  5. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Yes if the guide I read way back when I first started using it is correct. I thought I had it in my favorites / Bookmarks but its not there :( It was a decent guide to.
     
    Mikestony, paully and Rxpert83 like this.
  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    This is why I keep coming back, I learn something new everyday :D
     
  7. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    ok. I flashed (wiping cache and dalvik between each flashing):
    - mikG: v3.11 (which autoreboots, so I powered phone back off)
    - anthrax: SUPERSONIC-SENSE-AnthraX-2.6.38.8-REV_zzzTESTzzz009.zip
    - dt: dtapps2sd-2.7.5.3-beta04-signed.zip
    - wiped cache and dalvik again, rebooted, left phone on for 10mins, and rebooted, (per chad's thorough recommendations)

    installed terminal, and ran "su" (got the #), "a2sd reinstall" which reboots after running, then ran "a2sd cachesd".

    - fired up TB, which stated 376MB internal storage.
    - used TB to restore 20 apps + data
    - TB then stated 349MB internal storage (? apps didn't go to sd ?)
    - I rebooted phone, TB still stated 349MB internal storage
    - I ran the scripts again (just "su" and "a2sd reinstall" this time)
    - TB still states 349MB internal, with 51 app that can be "batch moved" to sd

    so something's not working. any idears?
     
  8. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    You have the Card Partitioned Right? I would go with EXT3 even though 4 is a bit better not all ROMS support it.
     
    paully likes this.
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Mikg comes with cma2sd so you don't need to use dta2sd. Just flash and restore and it should all be there as long as the card is partitioned
     
    paully likes this.
  10. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    yeah wait he said works to :D :banghead:
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,102
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,102
    25,142
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Is cma2sd a cyanogenmod script? I am running Mikg and when I type "a2sd check" in terminal emulator, it says I have darktremor Apps2ad v2.7.5.2 and gives a report etc.
    Just wondering if it's the same thing:thinking:

    Edit: when I originally flashed MikG v3.11, I did not flash dta2sd
     
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,102
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,102
    25,142
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I don't know exactly what the issue is but I'll throw something out there...would fixing permissions via recovery help?
     
    paully likes this.
  13. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Do note that you will have to wipe cache and Dalvic in order to see the change Dalvic cache has stored what the system tells it.
     
    paully likes this.
  14. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    yes. the card is partitioned. precisely as described in the guide: via ra, 32MB for swap, 2048MB upgraded from ext2 to ext3 for the partition itself.


    hrmmm..... I'll have to look into how cma2sd works. since it's part of the rom, it prolly doesn't move things over automatically cuz not everyone's sd card would be partitioned. unless it checks for that, and then toggles on (?).

    hopefully there's a "toggle on" script like w/ dt, you don't have to manually move each app over.
     
  15. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It does it all automatically as long as its partitioned.

    How? I donno....?

    :D
     
    paully likes this.
  16. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    pure magic i'm sure.


    :D
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  17. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    so. in order to get rid of dt, I prolly need to:
    full wipe everything, including, sd ext?

    then flash rom n kernel as normal.

    i'm curious to see how this works out. because (as described above) none of the TB restored apps made it to the sd card before, even though cma2sd is part of the rom and the sd card was partitioned. perhaps having flashed and used dt messed with cma2sd?
     
  18. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    yeah they were probably fighting over who gets to do what. :rolleyes:

    Not sure what the process is when doing a restore with TB. but it does all get to the card
     
    paully likes this.
  19. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    okie dokie. so I've begun anew in attempts to remove dt and get cma2sd firing on all cylinders. sd card is partitioned, as mentioned earlier in the thread.

    - did full wipe, including sdext
    - flashed mikG: v3.11 (which autoreboots, so I powered phone back off)
    - wiped cache and dalvik
    - flashed anthrax: SUPERSONIC-SENSE-AnthraX-2.6.38.8-REV_zzzTESTzzz009.zip
    - wiped cache and dalvik again, rebooted, left phone on for 10mins, and rebooted

    - installed TB from the market, it stated relevant free space as:
    391MB on internal, 1.79GB on SD card (a2sd)
    - installed 5 apps directly from the market
    - TB stated relevant free space as:
    378MB on internal, 1.77GB on SD card (a2sd) [a little loss on the partition, also some on sd partition]
    - rebooted
    - TB stated relevant free space as:
    382MB on internal, 1.77GB on SD card (a2sd) [got some space back internally, no action on sd, at least measured in 10s of MBs]
    - used TB to restore 15 app + data
    - TB stated relevant free space as:
    369MB on internal, 1.73GB on SD card (a2sd) [again more loss internally]
    - rebooted
    - TB stated relevant free space as:
    371MB on internal, 1.73GB on SD card (a2sd) [again reboot gets a little internal space after installs]

    so after, via market and TB, 18ish apps + data installed/restored, loss of 20MBs internal and loss of 60MBs (again rounding to the nearest 10MB) on sd parition.

    this seem about right?
     
  20. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Sounds like its working to me. I've never done it quite as methodically as you have, but you have to keep in mind that there has to be a symbolic link kept on the phone to tell the phone where it can find the application (on the Sd-ext partition). This is going to take up some room, but I don't know how much it takes up.


    How big were the apps you were restoring? Were they large games or smaller apps?
     
    paully likes this.
  21. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Also important to figure is any email/text/Facebook stuff that gets stored in the same internal memory as apps
     
    paully likes this.
  22. bigbear6708

    bigbear6708 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    470
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    470
    224
    68
    2 GB partition is HUGE!!! putting a few apps into it prob. wont show much a dent at all. looks as if a2sd is working correctly. For me when it is not installed, TB wont show the sd partition, once I flashed the script, the partition space shows up in TB (AOSP user)...not sure if my method is scientific..but it lets me sleep at night!!
     
    argedion and dustwun77 like this.
  23. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I use 2gb as well. I'm not ever gonna fill up my 16gb card
     
  24. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    Evernote was this biggest one at 10.03MB. so it's prolly only 50-70MB total worth of apps, or something like that.

    I just checked on her now, this is my wife's evo that I'm playing with here. She's had a couple of reboots, once while playin w/ camera and once while playin w/ pandora. I'm dismayed to hear that. I just can't seem to get a stable rom n kernel combo on her phone. I had hoped that her reboot issues before were from the extremely small amount of internal space, when was runnin MikG v3.0 w/ lithid's kernels.

    Should I try just MikG v3.11 w/ it's stock kernel next? (Maybe I need to get away from MikG entirely.)

    Or maybe the anthrax kernel's still breaking in. we'll give it a little longer.
     
  25. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Are you using setcpu to change the speeds of the device?
     
    paully likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...