1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Quick Guide to the rooted stock 2.3 ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by novox77, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    This quick guide is intended to explain how to upgrade your phone to the rooted stock 2.3 ROM posted on xda here:

    [ROM][STOCK] --- Version 4.22.651.2 --- odexed & deodexed ---

    or here:
    [ROM][STOCK] 4.24.651.1 - Odexed & De-Odexed


    Since the contents of that OP is subject to change, this guide can become outdated without notice.

    The list of downloads contain an odexed and de-odexed version of the stock ROM. For a great explanation of the difference, see this article:
    What Is Odex And Deodex In Android [Complete Guide]
    For the purposes of this guide, if you're not sure which one to get, stick with the odex version. It is closer to stock.


    Flashing the ROM
    Most of what you'll be doing will be done through recovery. So play around with the menus in the recovery image to see what options are there. Start off by doing a NANDroid backup. Since this is a quick guide, I will assume you know how, or can find out how. Next, wipe dalvik-cache. You don't need to wipe data or cache if you're coming from a rooted stock ROM, even if your kernel is custom. Now you are ready to flash the ROM. The ROM contains the stock OS (w/ superuser) and stock kernel. All of this is done from the recovery image.

    When the flashing is done, you can reboot and see if it worked. Take a quick look to see if your data, apps, homescreens are still there. They should be. If you like what you see, you can stop here. Having the most updated radios is not essential for upgrading to this ROM. If you want to flash radios, keep reading.

    Flashing the Radios
    Note that the OP in the xda thread says to flash the radios via HBOOT instead of recovery. That's because the provided radio file is in the PC36IMG.zip format. Note the actual file name is PC36IMG-Radio_2.15.00.05.02_WiMAX_R4623-EVO27242_PRI_2.15_003.zip. Rename this to PC36IMG.zip, and the bootloader will find it. Note that Windows may be set to hide extensions; if so, you'll want to rename it to PC36IMG

    So all you do is download this file and stick it in the root (top) folder of your SD card. Then power off your phone and boot into the bootloader (from phone off, hold power + vol_down). HBOOT will auto-scan your SD card and find that file and prompt you whether to install its contents. Say yes, and it will do its thing. When done, reboot, and you should have the updated radios.

    Done.

    Never accept an OTA if you are rooted. One thing you can do to help prevent this from accidentally happening is by disabling the OTA update check:

    Menu > Settings > System Updates > HTC software update > Scheduled check (uncheck this box) "Go online and check for updates according to schedule from server"

    Always do a NANDroid backup before you flash, and you'll always have a way to recover from an unexpected problem.

    Good Luck!
     

    Advertisement

  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you are using Amon Ra v2.3, you can the radios via recovery. You do not need to in hboot.

    Amon Ra

    Download radio, wimax, pri zip
    Boot to recovery
    Flash radio.......
    Then reboot
    Green arrow pointing down on phone
    Then reboot again


    EDIT: I used Calkulin's radio...zip
     
    ardchoille, EarlyMon and novox77 like this.
  3. bluenadas

    bluenadas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    2
    8
    6
    Under the Application settings in the new ROM there is the Fastboot option. If you turn this off and then restart you can get to hBoot with out having to pull the battery.
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,439
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I like Calkulin's packages myself - link here - [ Radios ][ 6-3 ] All EVO Radio, WiMAX, PRI, NV & HBoot versions - xda-developers

    I plan on doing the same via CWM.

    Edit - for those using the hboot radio package - once you've completed that, remove the PC36IMG.zip from your SD card (or at least it's root) - PITA to deal with it once it's installed.

    A tip from the original PC36IMG.zip rooting days. ;)
     
    ardchoille and novox77 like this.
  5. largeprint48

    largeprint48 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    Do need this Kernel - HTC#1 May04 w/ RAMDisk (Stock ROM)?
     
  6. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    If you flash the main ROM, it comes with that kernel. But they provided a standalone kernel in case you flashed a custom one and then wanted to go back to stock. Without this, you'd have to reflash the whole ROM again.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  7. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    When I had the file in the SD root directory named as "PC36IMG-Radio_2.15.00.05.02_WiMAX_R4623-EVO27242_PRI_2.15_003" HBoot did not automatically recognize it. I had to go in and rename to PC36IMG.zip for it to automatically recognize and ask if I wanted to install.
     
    EarlyMon and novox77 like this.
  8. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Yeah I tested also, needs to be pc36img and that only...
     
  9. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I would have to agree.....otherwise we wouldn't see as many people having issues flashing those files in hboot with an extra .zip on the end of the file name.
     
  10. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    true my friend, true
     
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,439
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    BTW - I really wonder if that long PC36IMG name applies to all revs of the bootloader - I'm still running the original one, hadn't heard of that before.
     
  12. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Yeah I had that same thought, haus knows his stuff usually so something gives...does it work on yours as long as its in the name our does it have to be exact?

    Exact for me on 2.10...
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,439
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Work and modding all day, some Evo 3D posting. Hoping to do it tomorrow, but will probably use C's zip file and just do it from recovery.

    I'd have to check, but I think I'm on 0.79.
     
  14. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I am going to reflash Amon RA(I have a wierd issue with it) and will try and use the name in the download first to see if it works. I am on .93
     
  15. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Cool yeah I'm just curious at this point. I would bet haus is on eng because those guys like the extra options...
     
  16. Tapper88

    Tapper88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    did evo 2.3.3 update including radios. restarted hboot so I could make nandroid b/u and it is again asking if I want to start update? Thought I was good. Should I start it again?
     
  17. cdadams1223

    cdadams1223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    203
    15
    38
    It's asking you if you want to start the update again because you forgot to rename the PC36IMG file. If you don't rename it everytime you go into hboot it will try to install it again. I renamed mine NewRadiosGBPC36IMG.zip.zip. This should take care of your problem. :)
     
  18. Tapper88

    Tapper88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    so, select no on update then go into sd card and rename? TY
     
  19. cdadams1223

    cdadams1223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    203
    15
    38
    Yes. Plug your phone into your pc, load up your sd card, find the PC36IMG file and rename it there. Or, you could use a program like ES File Explorer to rename it.
     
  20. biohazerd87

    biohazerd87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I am an Unrevoked user that was using 2.2 and I'm now happily using 2.3.3 :)! Thanks!
     
  21. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    Question...and as I type it sounds silly...but I'm gonna ask it for myself and any other not-so-familiar-with-this person who might be wondering the same thing.

    I'm familiar with NAND backups...and fortunately/unfortunately restoring them :D ...and understand the need to make the backups before trying anything fancy.

    Now here it is suggested to make a nandroid backup of your phone which, for me and many others, is froyo 2.2. Here's my question/scenario...I make my nandroid backup, then flash this Gingerbread 2.3 and, for whatever reason, have problems or don't like or whatever and want to REVERT BACK to froyo 2.2...

    Do I simply backup from my froyo 2.2 nandroid backup and, VOILA, I'm back to my previous stable-state froyo 2.2 phone as if I never attempted to flash the gingerbread 2.3?? Or do I have to flash a stock 2.2 ROM to get back to my froyo 2.2??

    Again, forgive the ignorance but like to have some knowledge of not only how to jump in forward but BACKWARDS too if necessary...THANKS!!
     
  22. scudder

    scudder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,281
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    1,281
    364
    163
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    Can someone comment on the various methods suggested for wiping the phone prior to flashing this gingerbread ROM?? Was wondering what methods people are using, how many times to wipe (I have heard people wiping THREE times and not sure if this is overkill or what??), etc??

    The OP link to the XDA forum has a WIPE zip at XDA. In addition, a Good and Evo post mentioning the gingerbread ROM at XDA has a comment that suggests using a method "Vr_superwipe" to wipe the phone and was wondering anyone's success/familiarity with using that suggested method??

    Good and EVO post: New rooted Gingerbread update (version 4.22.651.2) ready for flashing on HTC EVO

    Vr_superwipe post/file: Vr_superwipe

    THANKS!!
     
  23. cdadams1223

    cdadams1223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    203
    15
    38
    You don't have to do anything special in regards to restoring your nandroid backup. Some people say you don't need to wipe prior to restoring a nandroid but I always do. Just wipe everything, cache, etc., and restore your nandroid.
     
    scudder likes this.
  24. cdadams1223

    cdadams1223 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    203
    15
    38
    Here's what I do:

    1) Wipe all/Format all (whatever it says)
    2) Wipe Cache
    3) Wipe Dalvik Cache
    4) Flash Calkulin's Format All
    5) Flash ROM
     
    scudder likes this.
  25. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    This is my understanding (I may be wrong):

    Nandroids are images of the entire partition, including empty space. Which means that when you restore a nandroid, it overwrites the entire partition, leaving nothing behind. The partitions that the NANDroid backs up include the areas you normally wipe: data, cache, and dalvik. Therefore, you shouldn't need to do a wipe before you restore a Nandroid.

    When you install a new ROM, you typically only replace /boot (kernel) and /system (OS). Which is why data, cache, and dalvik need to be cleared. A format-all will also wipe /boot and /system, but this part is extraneous, since the new ROM will flash over these partitions, which effectively wipes them anyway.
     
    scudder and andygu3 like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...