1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Quick Help Needed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YPA, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. YPA

    YPA Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    I've decided that it's finally time to start rooting my phone.

    Before I start doing things I want to make a full backup of everything so that if I do mess something up I can get everything back to how it was.

    I know I can't do this without Root so I was of first doing a temp Root and then doing the backups.

    Once I do temp Root the phone what are the programmes that I need to use?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rootmepls

    Rootmepls Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    264
    29
    43
    NorCal
    I use TIBU for back up but it requires root. I've yet to see someone root their phone and lose any data. I guess it could happen but like I say I've yet to see it. At least with the Samsung phones.
     
  3. snowwhite

    snowwhite Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    193
    6
    36
    Temproot then titanium backup but ull be fine to just permroot
     
  4. YPA

    YPA Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    What I mean is that I want to make a full image backup of the phone (similar to how iTunes does) once it's been rooted so that I can always get my phone back to the same state it was in when I first rooted it.

    Also do I need to downgrade the phone before rooting? I'm currently on 1.72.
     
  5. arlrb

    arlrb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    305
    38
    43
    Yes, you need to downgrade to 2.2 (1.32.xxx.x) to be able to root.
    Rooting will not cause you to lose anything, it is simply a permission granted for superuser access.
     
  6. YPA

    YPA Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    Will I lose my apps if I donwgrade though?
     
  7. arlrb

    arlrb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    305
    38
    43
    Yes.
    All your free apps, just make a note of them as the market sometimes doesn't remember them. Just re-download them when you're done.
    All paid apps will be waiting for you once you re-establish your google account on your phone. (after sync)
    Or, as others have suggested, do a complete backup using mybackup or titanium. (this will save text messages, emails etc too - but deselect system settings when restoring on 2.2 - as you have 2.2.1 system settings backed up)


    Should you want to return it to how it was when new, there are RUU roms available.

    As far as your sd card, just copy all of it onto your pc, then you can put back what you want at your leisure.

    As for apps, all depends what you want to do.

    Safe journey.
     
  8. YPA

    YPA Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    I thought Titanium is only for rooted phones?
     
  9. arlrb

    arlrb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    305
    38
    43
    You're right, root only, i forgot.
    Mybackup it is then.
     
  10. YPA

    YPA Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    Thanks!

    Do you know the best tutorial for a noob like me to donwgrade the phone?
     
  11. arlrb

    arlrb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    305
    38
    43
  12. YPA

    YPA Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    Sorry for the late reply. Didn't have time to do this until now.

    I've successfully downgraded and rooted the phone but I've got a problem.

    On the third part of the video you posted we download ROM Manager.

    I did everything he said but when I go to recovery mode I get a picture of the phone with a red exclamation mark in a red triangle.

    Any idea where I've gone wrong?
     
  13. arlrb

    arlrb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    305
    38
    43
    Did you do eng s-off & radio s-off?
    Did you get the full-wipe-1.3 zip file too?
    (see the 'tools' section of 'how to flash a rom...' - 2nd grey box, then read 'the works' section - next grey box)

    Skip 'flashing radio methods 1 & 2' - stock radio should be fine, but you can do this later if you wish.

    Then do 'flashing your rom' section - read 'testing before flashing'!!

    On your sd card (not in a folder, straight in sd card directory) you need (all zips):

    Your rom of choice (i'm using cm7rc3 at the mo, will stay on this for a while i think, but i like the look of this one too - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1002671)
    Custom roms are usually 70-90MB, as opposed to the 250-300MB of a stock rom.

    full wipe 1.3

    & google apps addon (if needed - some roms come with this bundled in)
     
    YPA likes this.
  14. YPA

    YPA Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    36
    1
    36
    I tried it again and figured out what the problem was.

    When using the radio tool programme it failed. With a quick searched I found that I needed to keep the screen awake and allow SU permissions.

    :facepalm
     

Share This Page

Loading...