1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Quick question about OC'ing

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AwesomePie85, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. AwesomePie85

    AwesomePie85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    South Florida
    So my phone can run at 1.8 Ghz. But put it a 1.9 and it reboots randomly. 2.0 and it doesn't even work. So what stops it from working at those frequencies?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Memo35

    Memo35 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    190
    17
    38
    626 SoCal
    Many phones are different and cant handle different OC settings. Unfortunately, your can't go over 1.8.
     
  3. AwesomePie85

    AwesomePie85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    South Florida
    Yea I know that but I want to know what's really stopping it from going over that. Like what it is internally that's stopping it? Like could it be the voltage or the that certain chip itself not being able to handle it?
     
  4. Memo35

    Memo35 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    190
    17
    38
    626 SoCal
    Don't know the answer to that. My phone can go up to 2.2 with no problems.
     
  5. AwesomePie85

    AwesomePie85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    South Florida
    Holy shit that's awesome. I wanna see if I can overvolt my CPU to hit 1.9 or 2.0 even. That's one of the reasons for me making this thread. The other being natural curiosity.
     
  6. Memo35

    Memo35 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012

    Feb 2, 2012
    190
    17
    38
    626 SoCal
    It's overrated IMO. I'm running at 768 and dont really see a difference over OC'ing...well, aside from the huge battery saver.
     
  7. AwesomePie85

    AwesomePie85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    South Florida
    I really hate it when my phone lags. Even having a few apps open makes the phone lag considerably sometimes. So I wanna see if OC'ing over what I can would help a bit. Originally I wanted to overvolt at the higher frequencies but apparently none of our current ZVD kernels allow us to assign voltage.
     
  8. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Electronics are stange things to normal people; these work within ranges. CPUs are tested at certain frequencies; these are all different. The degree of variance is large because more tests cost more money. So, they test in a certain spread of mhz. To give a hypothetical example, I am a company making cpus. I want to know what cpus will work at 2.0 and 1.6. I'm not going to bother testing between these points. If a CPU fails at 2.0, then I test at 1.6. If it passes, great. I'm not going to test it at 1.7, 1.8, and 1.9. But, those of us who overclock can test and "burn in" our CPUs to see if we can go over the rated clock speed.

    This is an old hobby that started with older Pentium models. Just to give another example, celeron processors are the same as regular pentiums, but they have parts of the CPU disabled. So, the celeron is actually the same as the higher end CPU and it costs MORE for them to make it a low-end CPU. But, people end up paying the difference. It's all about marketing.

    So, we try to find the places where the companies do not test and get as much from the CPU as we can. That is the simplest, common speech explanation to answer your question that I can think of. Maybe someone else can do better. I'm old school. My first PC was a Commodore 64 and I was excited when the 486DX CPU came out and I was about jizzing my pants when Pentium hit the market. I connected to BBS on a 14 baud modem before the WWW kids were shitting green. So, maybe someone else can explain it in more "cool story bro" format.
     
  9. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Get "Seeder"; it will help.
     
  10. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    How do you unlock the voltage control on the CPU in Rom #2?
     
  11. AwesomePie85

    AwesomePie85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    South Florida
    I've been reading about "seeder" and it's possible it doesn't really help on what it says. It may help because it keeps your CPU active but that's about it. If it helps on what it really does is being debated.

    It depends on the kernel not the ROM (I'm pretty sure), and none of the ZVD kernels I've tried seem to have HAVS or SVS voltage adjustment support.
     
  12. reilus

    reilus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    I realize a debate is raging, but I know from experience that it works for my phone; I confirmed my experience with CPUspy.
     
  13. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    my personal opinion of why 'some' phones can 2.2 and some cant is this.. (just guessing here)

    when these cpu's and other parts are made in the giant machine that makes them, im assuming they are not 100% accurate 100% of the time, so maybe 2 identicle cpu's can still be different in a sense of maybe more thermal compound was placed on 1 than the other or more saulder etc.. so 1 cpu may have more strong points than the next.. so when we OC these things, one may have a better/stronger connection than the other.. so one can handle it but the other cant.. just cant handle the requested frequency so it craps out and reboots lol

    as for the seeder tweak.. again this is in my own opinion.. i think it DOES help, but i think it's honestly meant for people who actually OC lol

    from my personal experience with it, my device did seem to have less lag as a 'whole' BUT!!!! if i were to try multi-tasking, then i would notice small glitches between each task

    ie: i use power amp, 90% of the time im playing music in the background, so when i have the music playing, then lets say i decide to open up gallery.apk, the song will glitch out for a second while opening the app... this NEVER happened prior to using the seeder tweak...

    but i feel maybe if i was running at 1.2, than maybe that wouldn't have happenned... im not sure, and i didn't care enough to find out... here are my reasons!! lol

    1: I dont need it... device always ran fine without it
    2: I never OC, well used to (untill i discovered that GTA Vice City was released) now i go to 1.3 when i play that game :D LOL

    but all-in-all it's one of those things that is just 'user-prefference'

    EDIT: to help you understand my point of view, I am a strong believer that EVERYTHING you do on a device, uses RAM!!!

    same as a PC, if you fart while skimming through google search results, it uses RAM!! lol
     
    AwesomePie85 likes this.
  14. AwesomePie85

    AwesomePie85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    South Florida
    Oh I see. That sucks :/ But yea I agree RAM will always be the most useful thing a electronic device can use (besides power lol). I can get a octo-core phone but does it really matter if I have 128 mb of RAM lol? Thanks for the explanation man :)
     
  15. sk8rgeek

    sk8rgeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    188
    20
    38
    Kush
    Garland, Tx
    Funny thing I have most wanted and it runs the best on the speed kernel vs the oc speed kernel. dead space also..idk why. used to overclock like crazy though stable at 2.0 thanks to plague lol
     
  16. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    vice city does run good but after you get in a car and drive fast it gets laggy..

    as for that 'explanation' of mine.. none of it is fact i was just guessing.. i mean it makes sense.. lol but i could be wayyyy off
     
  17. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,761
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    You were basically correct.
    After the cpus are manufactured they go through a process called binning, which means they are sorted out after vigorous testing. After sorting, most of the cpus that are within a close range of clock speed, for example... 1.8, 2.0, and 2.2 will be certified at one clock speed like in the esteem at 1ghz. If the end consumers overclock they find out there max speeds. Most flaws in cpus arise from the wafers they are built on. These wafers are made by melting polysilicon together with some electrically active elements (like phosphorous). Once the desired temp is reached, a silicon seed crystal is added, then slowly cooled. This process is not perfect, hence the different performing cpus.

    That was the short explanation, but the manufacturing process is a lot more detailed (too much to write).

    Sorry for being such a nerd. LOL
     
    Memo35 and AwesomePie85 like this.
  18. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    lol nah dont appologize i feel i learned a good amount of info, none that i would share because i couldn't back myself up if a question were asked lol but good knowledge for the brain :D
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  19. AwesomePie85

    AwesomePie85 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    162
    28
    43
    South Florida
    Naw dude don't be sorry, knowledge is something we all deserve to have. It's very awesome for you to explain it that detailed as now I know specifically why I can't OC to 2 Ghz, but another person can. Thank you for that explanation :)
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  20. manesag

    manesag Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011

    Nov 3, 2011
    185
    15
    38
    No i believe the kernal that #2 uses is under volted. Some cpus can overclock up to 2.0+ghz on the lowered voltage some cant like mine would run up to 1.9
    The problem is you cant really raise the voltage that much because power draw scales linearly with an increase in voltage (I think thats what it is)
    Also from what ive heard android doesn't support multiple cpu cores but I dont know. Also I believe for android more ram is better. Thats why this s3 is soo smooth but thats besides the point
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...