1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Quick Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xenotype, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. xenotype

    xenotype Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    32
    1
    16
    Alright so I am not a complete noob, Ive just been out of the game for awhile.

    I have been running Fission 2.6.1 on my phone since about when it came out, say around April '11. Since then I have not been vigilant in reformatting my SD card and reflashing everying, which I know you have to do to keep everything running smoothly.

    I am at the point where my SD card is no longer recognized and I get random reboots about once every 2 hours, so I believe it is time to SBF and get a new rom.

    I guess I could just put fission back on but whats the fun in that. I came onto the forums again and saw all the stuff about the new Gingerbread roms.

    My question is what is the new, most functional, blurless rom available?
    and is there anything else besides SBF'ing to Gingerbread and rooting that I need to do before installing the rom? (for example: does it still work the same way by using bootstrap?)

    *edit: i have been reading around, and after reading simdelts sticky up top I am unclear if i have to SBF to my stock froyo before doing the the gingerbread SBF that his post outlines

    Thanks in advance
    -xeno
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    you would need to check out all the new gingerbread roms
    as they have come a long way, about 95% bugless in all the roms

    you can look for them at the top of the page in the rom/theme list
     
  3. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    unfortunately, coming from fission, or any other ROM of the sort, it would likely be better to wipe your device and SBF to get to the GB ROM. That way you don't have a bunch of latent coding hanging around to mess stuff up. Just my $0.02, of course
     
  4. xenotype

    xenotype Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    32
    1
    16
    I have been doing some reading and I think I am finally starting to get a handle on this new generation of DX roms.

    Basically from what I gather, the first list of Roms in voidedsaint's sticky (http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...-droid-x-theme-rom-list-updated-1-3-12-a.html) are the most current.

    Of those it seems like the 2init roms (took me awhile to figure out what 2init was lol) are more buggy than Apex/ICX/Liberty. I see a lot of people are using MIUI however vs the others.

    Is there a significant performance difference between the 2init Roms and the regular ones, lets say Liberty vs. MIUI?

    I am not a poweruser on my phone so I would prefer not to sacrifice functionality and battery life in exchange for absurd speed within reason. (ie. ive read that the 2init Roms are having issues with ringtones/cameras etc and would want to keep that functionality)

    I am familiar with the old liberty/apex 1.4/fission 2.6.1 and I remember there being comparisons written between them about fuctionality and battery life and I am having a hard time finding comparable info about the new versions.

    Any help is appreciated :)
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    honestly liberty is by far the best blur based rom there is, with apex as a strong and i do mean strong second.

    you have more battery life with liberty and apex because something to do with the blur will help your battery


    however i never noticed a battery hog while on cm7 or miui. which IMO are the best 2init roms for the DX.

    its all about your personal preference, i would test them all out til you find the best one, and beware, your battery will be shot flashing and installing all those roms and apps.
     
    xenotype likes this.
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I've never reformatted my sdcard. A factory reset might be something you might need to do periodically tho.

    Do you know for a fact your sdcard isn't starting to fail?
     
    xenotype likes this.
  7. xenotype

    xenotype Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    32
    1
    16
    the sd card reads perfectly normal in the computer just not in the phone so im pretty sure its just the phone being tempermental.

    and by the battery being shot, i assume you mean just to watch out that I dont drain it completely while switching between roms because you cant charge in recovery and not that it will be toast altogether. in either case i have a spare charged battery

    thanks a lot, I think i will give them all a shot tomorrow morning!
     
  8. xenotype

    xenotype Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    32
    1
    16
    i am trying to do this now and it seems my camera button does not work :/ any ideas or suggestions?

    cant get my phone to go to the bootloader and camera button wont work in clockwork recovery either.......
     
  9. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    hrm, i think bouchigo knew of another method that bypassed the camera button to get into the bootloader, you may want to send him a PM, as i dont know if he checks here daily or not
     
  10. xenotype

    xenotype Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    32
    1
    16
    ok well I have managed to SBF to .602 just fine, I just bypassed the step of manually entering the bootloader (rsdlite will automatically enter the bootloader after pressing start)

    So I am on .602 now and rooted with the 1click root program. I have installed Droid 2 bootstrapper and now I am again stuck, just like in the old Droid x bootstrap CWM recovery my camera button does not work...

    I have read that cycling through the recovery menu with the volume button 3 times will disable/enable the back button in the menu which is supposed to allow you to use the powerbutton instead of the camera button for selecting. I have tried this and all the powerbutton does is turn the screen black like before.

    I would really like to find a workaround to be able to use CWM recovery without having to bring my phone back for a warranty claim for a faulty camera button. With my insurance plan I believe that would cost another $80

    I appreciate your help thusfar and hope someone has a fix for this :)
     
  11. xenotype

    xenotype Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    32
    1
    16
    aha! so patience pays off

    I only had ver 2.5.xxxx whatever of CWM bootstrapper, and 3.xxxx of Rom Manager. After updating Rom manager through the market I was able to get a newer, I assume the current, version of CWM bootstrapper 5.xxxx.

    Scrolling through the list of options in recovery 3 times now allows the use of the power button to select instead of the camera button and it WORKS!!

    This would be something to note as it seems through my searching that quite a few people have been having this problem of nonfunctional camera buttons.
     

Share This Page

Loading...