1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Quick RA Recovery Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stevcha, Feb 8, 2011.

1. stevcha

stevcha Android Expert

This is my first time using the RA Recovery 2.2.1 to make a backup. Besides choosing boot, system, data, cache to include in the backup what else should I be selecting? Thanks!

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. akazabam

akazabam Android Expert

You should make at least one backup with wimax, and remember which backup it is in case you ever lose your wimax RSA keys. Also, if you use froyo apps2sd, and intend on installing new apps or uninstalling old ones that go on the sdcard, you might consider backing up android_secure to avoid any headaches with missing apps after a restore (note that it will make the backup more than 100 MB larger, probably, if you use apps2sd). If you use a2sd, which an ext partition, backup sd-ext. If you don't, do not select that, or the backup will fail. Otherwise, what you've selected is fine.

stevcha likes this.
  3. mecampo

mecampo Well-Known Member

i've been moving stuff between sd and phone, how would i know if i used the app2sd or a2sd? :(

Internetpilot likes this.
  4. akazabam

akazabam Android Expert

If you go to manage applications, then the app (or use an app from the market that takes you there for each app), and move the app to the sdcard, you're using froyo apps2sd. It will put a portion of the app that can be moved in a directory called .android_secure on the sdcard. If you don't back that up, you'll save a lot of space for backups, but if you uninstall any apps or install any apps and move them to the card after making a backup, then restore that backup, you could end up with: