1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Quick simple question..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Root Crazy, May 28, 2011.

  1. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Whats goin on guys, I rooted my phone last week and could only load CM7 for some reason (stuck on evo white screen) on every other rom but after reading a random thread someone mentioned if you just rooted and read the instructions for unrevoked you probably installed clockwork.. anyway i realized I did and how to flash namo rec. i think thats what its called and all the roms i want are loading great now, and not giving the script error as before. Do I need Rom Manager at all now? Or just keep it for the backups i did have on clockwork mod? - only because the default sprint one is there i wanna keep... or is there a way to copy that 1 backup to namo rec.? also do i need the CM7 zip file on my phone anymore? im pretty sure i dont cuz the backup img has everything but wanna be sure...


    thanks guys
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok first of all congrats on rooting and welcome to the forums!
    do not use rom manager. i would do everything manually. rom manager is buggy and creates a lot of problems.

    did you mean amon ra2.3? if so that is a very good recovery. it is what most of us here use. unfortunately your clockwork mod nandroid backup will not work with amon ra. but i would save it to your computer. i would keep the cm7 .zip on your card just in case you do not have a bootable phone. i always have a rom .zip on my card. but that is up to you as it is not really necessary. and always make a nandroid backup whenever you are making changes to your phone. remember that nandroids are your friend. hope that helps.
     
  3. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Thank a lot man! Your actually the guy I was talking about in the other thread about someone bricking theirs ( or thought so). I read it though a couple times then finally just did it. I understand pretty much most of it now as far as rooting flashing roms but no flashing any kernels yet. And yeah it is Amon ra2.3. I am more comfortable doing everything manually anyway just feel like itll work better/smoother. So even if i want to flash that 1 sprint rooted backup I made I would have to use Clockwork Recovery right?

    lol no clue where i got namo from...

    thanks again for everything dude
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah if you ever have to use your original backup, you will have to switch recoveries again.

    just a word about flashing things, i would recommend that you wipe system, dalvik cache and cache, if you do not know already. also i would use Calkulin's_FORMAT_ALL.zip. it will also wipe system, cache and dalvik cache. just flash it like you would do as a rom. so this is what i do:
    1.make a nandroid
    2.wipe system, dalvik cache, and cache
    3.flash caulkins format all zip
    4.flash rom
    5.reboot
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    as far as kernels go, check out my sig ref#3. it has a lot of terms associated with kernels. hopefully that will help you pick the right kernel for you. and you can get most of the kernels in my sig ref#2.
     
  6. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Cool thanks man I actually use the same exact steps without that program I always make a back up before i mess with anyway then i just manually wipe everything install reboot.. from what i understood from reading the kernels are basically a program telling the OS/Rom how to interact with the hardware? Also I notice such a hugeee diffrence in speed between sprint and any sense rom and any AOSP rom im figuring its because there isnt the 20-40 programs running in the backround constantly? i was amazed when i saw 6 running lol i keep reading about tiamat kernel? will it make that big of a difference?
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yep you are correct on what kernels do. the key though is that not all kernels will react the same as it would on my phone then on yours. so the key is to keep trying one that works for you. tiamat kernels are an aosp kernel and they work really well on my phone. i would highly recommend that you try them and see. i love the kernel so much that i really do not stay on any sense rom very long, because my setup in my sig has given me the best battery life ever!
     
  8. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Im downloading the Tiamat Kernel right now, will it be able to run the old sprint sense rom? if not can i go back?

    If i install Tiamat now ill have the same exact set up its fast as hell this is awesome really bringing out all this phone can do
     
  9. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Congrats on becoming a Guide.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no tiamat is an aosp kernel. you can just re-flash another kernel and it will replace the old one. no deleting or anything.

    just remember that aosp kernels are for aosp roms. same goes for sense kernels. however, there are a few universal kernels that can go both ways.
     
  11. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Netarchy is a universal kernel that can go both ways so to speak.
     
  12. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    cool you guys are great man! i know i flash the kernel like a rom but i do have to clear any cache? Also when i switch back and forth between asop backups no flashing tiamat again? i swear last questions... lol
    i like asop roms a lott better than sense so hopefully i stick with all this only asking in case something happens and gotta go back to sprint stuff (hopefully never again)
     
  13. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    When flashing a kernel, wipe cache/dalvik cache. When switching back between ROM's, unless it's a nandroid you're switching back and forth from, YES, you will have to reflash the custom kernel of your choosing because the kernel will be replaced with the kernel the ROM came with...It's sounds like you're referring to switching between nandroids, so you're good there, NO, you won't have to reflash Tiamat. No worries on the questions, we're here to help.
     
  14. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Thanks alot! huge help tried to learn as much as i could without having to ask! huge help!!
     
  15. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Congrats on rooting and flashing, and welcome to the forums!

    Holy crap both Frenchy and Ocnbrze got promotions. I've been slacking, I didn't even notice. Congrats guys!
     
    frenchy714 and ocnbrze like this.
  16. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Great thanks guys everything is working so perfect and smooth..
    when I format date cache dalvik cache and everything i dont need to reflash the kernel right? only once pretty much?
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yep you are correct. wiping does not erase the rom or kernel. however, every time you flash a rom you need to flash a custom kernel as well.
     
  18. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Perfect! thanks man i just wanna make sure this flashing back and forth between nandroids isnt messin with my kernel n stuff
    Just flashing between AOSP backups deciding which 1
     
  19. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    Not sure if this is normal or not but im running CM7 w Tiamat kernel.

    when i go to settings>about phone it says the kernel version is: 2.6.37.4-cyanogenmod-01338-g03744804shade@toxygene #1

    I just noticed this and it is not a huge problem but I installed tiamat should it be listed there? Did i flash it wrong or will it just stay w the default name?
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so i just flashed tiamat 4.04 and the actual name of the kernel is 2.6.38.7-Tiamat_Evo-v4.0.4-sbc+cayniarb@linuxdesk#18. so not actually sure what you did. what recovery are you using?
     
  21. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    hmm i didnt think so... I have Amon RA 2.3 when i installed i wiped cache and dalvik cache and installed the zip from SD and rebooted..? did i do it wrong? thanks again man
     
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    sounds like you did it correctly. not sure what happened. try wiping both caches and re-flash it. also it could be a bad download so re-download and try it again.
     
  23. Root Crazy

    Root Crazy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    29
    1
    16
    there we goo, got it now.. it turns out i guess when i was flashing between recoveries it brought back the old kernel? i had to reinstall the tiamat file again after clearing the caches then reboot says everything now perfect. thank you so much for everything man hopefully i can leave u alone for a while haha
     
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,053
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,053
    16,102
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no worries. if you have any more questions, you know where to ask it.
     
  25. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,153
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,153
    1,957
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    We'll be here waiting, with answers ;).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...