1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Qwerty texting and apostrophes

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ElJudge, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. ElJudge

    ElJudge Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    After two years tied to a Nokia 6300 I've just made the move into the lovely, lovely world of smartphones and the Desire. Am totally amazed so far, and can't believe I survived up until this stage without it...however, have one issue, which is probably just a shortcut I don't know...

    With my old nokia, when texting with predictive text I could place a '.' where I wanted an apostrophe to be, and predictive text would realise. On the Desire I know I can hold down the long press on the letter C and get an apostrophe to appear, or I can type a word without it, and select the option with the apostrophe (i.e. type 'well' and select 'we'll'), but ideally I'd liked to be able to type quickly without having to do a long press...and sometimes the abbreviated word doesn't show up as an option...any ideas? Suggestions? Or had I better get over this one, tiny niggle :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. jaspabt1

    jaspabt1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    61
    2
    36
    work for BT
    UK
    you might have to get over it :p. You can add custom words if it is not in the dictionary, so this shouldnt be a problem the second time you enter the word.
     
  3. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Under settings and keyboard enable suggest words, and spelling correction. It'll then work like the nokia's did ;)
     
  4. Rainbow Snake

    Rainbow Snake Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    I've been having lots of problems with apostrophes. I'm using the "phone" style keypad though.

    I've found that the predictive text usually requires you to put no punctuation in order to suggest the right word.

    eg typing the apostrophe in these words will lose the word you meant, requiring a backspace or confusion: "didn't", "isn't", "I'm" ... etc ...
    (but if you type them without the apostrophe, it will put one in)
     
  5. Das_Jeeb

    Das_Jeeb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    74
    2
    16
    Thanks, Rainbow Snake - I'm a bit of a pedant with these things and it seems typing the word without any punctuation is the best way as it then brings up the properly punctuated word as an option. Will just be a change of habit I suppose. The last couple of days I had been typing 'did' then entering n, the apostrophe and then the t seperately for example and it was fairly time consuming.
     
  6. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...