1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Radio Issues Anyone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by treb1797, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. treb1797

    treb1797 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    7,991
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    7,991
    2,901
    623
    Tennessee

    Advertisement

    OutOfPhase and xmr405o like this.
  2. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    Not I. I've had a very stable experience with my Bionic. Only problem I have with the Radio is that it doesn't seem to turn off when I'm on wifi, which ruins my battery when I'm on wifi at home. I hope for an update soon.
     
    DanDroide likes this.
  3. devlop

    devlop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Just as the title says. I was reading Droid life earlier and saw that there are a number of bionics that are having radio issues. I've been fighting to get good battery life and I discovered that lte keeps my phone awake where as cdma does not. I live in Las Vegas where there is plenty of 4G signal to go around. I was wondering if anyone else has noticed this.
     
  4. Shackles

    Shackles Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Yes, I lose data connection all the time. Even putting it in airplane mode and switching doesn't fix it. I have to reboot the phone. Will be taking it back for an exchange, just waiting for some later models to come to the store.
    Build date on mine is 29/11 if anyone wants to keep track.
     
  5. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    I keep 4G on 24/7 and under usage my phone sleeps all the time when it is supposed to. What battery saver mode are you using?
     
  6. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    I had the issue happen only once in the past 3 days :)
    I think its a network issue and not hardware....I can live with once every 3 days.
    Other than that lil hiccup, this has been the best phone I have ever had :)
     
  7. devlop

    devlop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Thanks for the reply. I have the maximum battery saver mode selected. I think I have a bad radio.
     
  8. ChelsNicole

    ChelsNicole Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    26
    0
    15
    Do you think this is a software issue that might be cured with an update? Or hardware? I'm also having battery issues.
     
  9. devlop

    devlop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    That I'm not sure. I know some people are hating their battery life and others are raving about it. That makes me think it's a hardware issue. I'm either going to exchange this one or return it and buy it from Radioshack. Apparently, they begin selling Verizon tomorrow and most of the smart phones, including the bionic, will be $100 off.
     
  10. PhilD

    PhilD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    133
    21
    58
    Southern NJ
    might be worth trying a factory reset, just to rule out software as the cause
     
  11. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Have you tried using performance battery mode for a day or 2? How long have you had the phone? After 3-4 days and several charge cycles my battery life has increased by a mile.

    There are reports coming in (quite a few as well) of mobile connectivity issues. Idk about the sleep thingy though.

    If you can't get it under control id exchange it for another one
     
  12. devlop

    devlop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    I bought the phone on the release day. I've done multiple full drains and charges. I've tested both cdma and lte to see if my phone goes to sleep after I turn the screen off. With lte on, the counter continues on. I'm positive thats why I'm getting poor battery life. I'm assuming it won't go to sleep because it's constantly searching for a connection. I might give a factory reset a chance tomorrow.
     
  13. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa

    Go for it let us know if it helps
     
  14. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    I think I jinxed myself. I lost my 4g signal since mid day today. Is lte down? :(
     
  15. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    I dont' have 4G in my area but I lost 3G for a good hour or 2. I eventually reset my phone when I went home from work. I assumed it might have been due to the poor signal at my work area. Getting 20-40% signal strength at work area and over 80% while at home. Drove home and noticed 3G not coming backing on even with airplane mode.
     
  16. CKwik240

    CKwik240 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    188
    43
    43
    I had a few issues when I initially got the phone. But it was switching between wifi, 3G and 4G like crazy. Its become more stable, but still has a few moments where I lose all data and the signal bars are just always low. I just turned on my DX's radio just to see how many bars and its got three. No telling how well they are calibrated with respect to each other, but still disconcerting given they are sitting a few inches apart. I'm going to stop by the VZW store tomorrow and compare to their demos and see if their reception seems better or not. If not, I'm asking for a new one.
     
  17. Travisimo

    Travisimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    455
    88
    53
    USA
    My phone is definitely sleeping now that I switched to battery saver mode. On performance mode, my phone would rarely ever go to sleep. But I'm on 4G now and the phone will sleep if I turn the screen off (you can set the amount of time it waits to go to sleep). So at least on my phone, it was the background data services that were keeping my phone awake, not the radio.

    By the way, I can curiously tell if the phone is sleeping or not but feeling it. When the phone is still awake, it will be somewhat warm to the touch. I can actually feel the heat on my leg while the phone is in my pocket. When the phone is actually sleeping, it does not feel warm and is pretty much room temp. And when I look at the graph of battery usage, it definitely uses more juice when it's staying awake as opposed to actually sleeping.

    There are some inconsistencies though.... sometimes I think it should be sleeping and it is not. So there may be a variable there with the radio... like maybe it doesn't sleep if the signal strength is too low? I don't know...
     
  18. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    496
    53
    73
    What were you getting as your cell stand by percentage?
     
  19. jestexman

    jestexman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    393
    30
    43
    Mapping Specialist
    SE Dallas
    Im calling now to get a new one.. I cant put up with it dropping my data..
     
  20. devlop

    devlop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    I've been off the charger for 22 minutes and the percentage is at 45. If you go to settings> about phone> status, it'll show awake time. This counter should stop when you turn the screen off. I don't have a lot going on at work. Maybe I'll do the factory reset today. I'll report results when I do.
     
  21. jestexman

    jestexman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    393
    30
    43
    Mapping Specialist
    SE Dallas
    Edit: i am not calling now!! I just talked to a buddy that has a charge and he said that he lost his 3g yesterday around the same time as i did. And it did not come back on until this morning around the same time mine did.. I could just be having a network deal over here.. 3g only in my area.
     
  22. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    HONESTLY - I belive it is network. VZW is launching like 15 new LTE networks today (9/15). I think it is VZW, not actually MOTO.
    Everyone try to hold out if you can.....
     
  23. jestexman

    jestexman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    393
    30
    43
    Mapping Specialist
    SE Dallas
    Yep and they are getting closer to me here is the list i just found.....
    Here
    Verizon just keeps pumping out LTE connectivity in new areas across the country -- we saw no less than 15 cities get their piece of the LTE pie last month, and now 26 more are all set to get lit up tomorrow, September 15th. VZW already dropped the names of 15 of those cities last month, but here's the list in its entirety:
    Fort Smith and Jonesboro, AR
    San Luis Obispo and Santa Barbara, CA
    Daytona, FL
    Bloomington, Champaign/Urbana, Rockford and Springfield, IL
    the Quad Cities, IL/IA; Iowa City, IA
    Shreveport, LA
    Kalamazoo and Saginaw, MI
    Reno, NV
    Las Cruces, NM
    Fargo, ND
    Canton, Lima and Mansfield, OH
    Dyersburg, TN
    the Tri-Cities, TN/VA
    Austin, Beaumont/Port Arthur, Wichita Falls and El Paso, TX.
     
  24. devlop

    devlop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Ok, I did a factory reset. I've found that if i change the mobile network to just cdma, the 3G logo appears for a second, then goes away and never actually connects. I have to toggle airplane mode to reconnect to the network. As for the phone going to sleep, it never does now. I've tested with lte, cdma, airplane mode, and even selecting sleep from the power button menu. The timer never stopped. Am I wrong about it stopping when you shut the screen off? I swear before I did the factory reset, the timer would stop when cdma was on. My Incredible would stop as well when I turned the screen off. I haven't installed any apps yet either.
     
  25. Blasek

    Blasek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    66
    6
    16
    Manchester, NH
    It has to be the network. Where i live there's only 3g and my network keeps disappearing. Been pissing me off over the past 3 days... just came home and my phone is connected to 4g... must be them switching over.
     

Share This Page

Loading...