1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Radios wont install

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrbadwrench, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. mrbadwrench

    mrbadwrench Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I got an htc thunderbolt today, right away I put on cm7, and now I have tried 3 different gingerbread radios all named PG05IMG.zip under the root of the sd card, hboot says No Image! like normal. Cant figure out how to go back to stock either.

    Ive now tried over 7 radios, i have tried stock roms, gingerbread roms, froyo roms, etc, and all the matching radios. All of them with the correctly named PG05IMG.zip and everytime it reads No Image! Someone please help so I dont end up throwing the phone away.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tensazan

    tensazan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    379
    82
    53
    Indiana
    If you want to get back to stock rooted, Jrocker23 posted a thread with all the new files ( rooted 605.9 update, a debloated version of stand the radio).

    Also, don't take my word for this, but you might be able to flash a new radio manually from CWM, but I would way for a response from someone who knows more about that.
     
  3. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Make sure youre not unzipping the files

    Make sure they are on the root of the SD

    Otherwise,only 2 reasons pg05img is not found:
    1)not correctly named
    2)SD card not FAT32

    I suggest checking with a file manservant on the phone to see what the file is really named. Common error using windows is files named "pg05img.zip.zip"

    check SD mounted to PC. Right click then properties. Cannot be plain FAT or anything other than FAT32
     
    RandyRucker and mrbadwrench like this.
  4. tensazan

    tensazan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    379
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    379
    82
    53
    Indiana
    So I'm kind if wondering if it's possible to flash a radio manually through CWM. Does anyone know if that's possible?
     
  5. mrbadwrench

    mrbadwrench Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    4
    0
    5

    You nailed this on the head! Thank you so much!!! It was FAT.

    Forever grateful :)
     
  6. mrbadwrench

    mrbadwrench Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Okay they are loading now. And I ran Radio from the new update 2.11.605.9 - RootzWiki

    but still no reception, should it matter if i dont have a sim card from verizon yet? I just bought the phone used and it didnt come with one, but even without it on the stock software I still had reception.
     
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    not sure how you had reception before with no sim :eek: wifi should still work,and you can prolly dial *228,but thats about it. if youre just meaning that you had signal bars where you didnt before,i think they wont come back until you install an activated sim.

    your radio download did include 2 radios,correct? radio and mdmk9?
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    no,it is not possible.

    however,it is possible to flash PG05IMG files thru fastboot. ive been doing it this way alot lately and have decided its both quicker and easier. i think i will do a write up since folks seem to have such trouble with this. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...