• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Raleigh Request

I will hopefully be getting my Samsung Epic Monday the 22nd and was wondering if anyone in the Raleigh/Durham area would mind meeting with me at some point to show me a few things about it and work with me on it to root it and set it up. I can buy you a cup of coffee or a beer or heck both. I am giving up on my HTC touch pro 2 ( which I loved until recently the past 3 months I don't know what happened but it sucks big time ). Needless to say I am a total newb to the Android so any assistance will be appreciated. Thanks:D

Pic Please!!!!....:)

Seriously, read up a bit and give it a go. I don't have the Epic but I had my hands on one for couple of minutes and had it rooted with a stock Froyo ROM on it in less than an hour. The one click method y'all have for this phone is a thing of beauty. Anyway, there are some basics that need to be learned but other than that, it is not that big of a deal. Good luck and don't be afraid to read around on other makes forums. I come from the EVO and the basics are all the same. We have a thread over there called "Rooting for Dummies" that will explain a lot. Obviously it is phone specific but there are lot of basics that would carry over to the Epic. My only advice is not to use ROM manager. I have heard it has problems on the Epic and to be honest with you, it ain't all that great on the EVO. I initially used it but don't anymnore...it is not needed on the Epic because the one click method y'all have to root installs the recovery as well...whcih again, is awesome. Don't be skeered. Give it a go.

Reactions: Rebulldog
Upvote 0
Pic Please!!!!....:)