1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support RAM Causing Rebooting?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Optimus_User, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Optimus_User

    Optimus_User Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    392
    29
    43
    I've come to the conclusion, some of rebooting is positively caused by RAM trying to exceed its normative limit. Ie; the two times my phone has rebooted were from high definition games and too many processes running. Any intel or inquiries?
     

    Advertisement

    starstress likes this.
  2. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Uhm.. Sometimes when playing certain games. The phones tend to reboots. So that is most likely because of some bug from the games . They are many phones that don't fully support those particular apps. So most of the time the apps caused the phone to unexpectely reboot. That's normal unlike there weird reboots the people are having !

    But it could be, who knows.
     
    Optimus_User likes this.
  3. nuked

    nuked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    179
    35
    43
    Ok,
    Sorry for the long post but decided to do a memory test.

    First I checked what Go Launcher's showed as user tasks currently running and also how much Gemini App Manager showed for their ram usage.

    Go launcher shows 200free out of 370mb with the following tasks:
    K-9 Mail (5,71mb RAM usage)
    Minimimalistic Text (7.04mb RAM usage)
    Clarus Notifications (4.05mb RAM usage)
    Check it Off (4.92 RAM usage)

    Also Gemini shows the following running plus RAM usage:
    Gemini App Manager (32.04mb)
    Market (5.41mb)
    Go Launcher (21.07mb)

    Before the test I tried several games to get the average ram usage and see if game was still in memory after minimizing and starting the game back up. Each game was started, minimized, restarted with the following results:

    Warp Dash
    76.02mb RAM usage when minimized
    paused with resume option, game continued

    Bejeweled 2
    56.02mb RAM usage when minimized
    game continued

    Words With Friends
    33.04mb RAM usage when minimized
    game continued

    Baseball Superstars 2011 Pro
    25.68mb RAM usage when minimized
    paused with resume option, game continued

    Wheres my Water
    23.53mb RAM usage when minimized
    paused with resume option, game continued

    Train Conductor 2 USA
    20.23mb RAM usage when minimized
    paused with resume option, game continued

    Cooking Dash
    game progress reset after restarting from minimized so no use for my test


    With this data in mind, I tried to loaad the RAM with different combos of games and check the results:

    load Warp Dash, minimize, load Bejeweled 2, minimize, Warp Dash was not running, Bejeweled 2 was, reload Warp Dash, minimize, Bejeweled 2 now not running, Warp Dash was.

    load Train Conductor, minimize, load Wheres My Water, minimize, load Baseball Superstars, minimize, checked and all games are paused, load Words with Friends, minimize, check and all 4 games are still loaded in memory, load Bejeweled, now only Bejeweled in memory all other games have closed.

    load Bejeweled2, minimize, load Train Conductor, minimize, check and both are paused, load Wheres my Water, minimize, now Bejeweled is closed, and the other 2 are still paused, reload Bejeweled 2, minimize, now all 3 are in memory, check Train Conductor, still in memory, minimize, now Wheres My Water is closed and both Bejeweled and Train Conductor are still paused.

    I have read that Gingerbread was good at keeping up with the ram in a system. To me, my results show that if the ram was filling up, the system would close programs to free up needed ram. No reboots, just the system closing apps when needed, and none of the background tasks listed at the top were affected, just foreground games that were taking up memory.
     
    Optimus_User likes this.
  4. Optimus_User

    Optimus_User Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    392
    29
    43
    Both responses are very informative. I figured it was probably the glitchy game. Also, thanks for the extensive research you (second poster) did. I plus thanked each of you.
     
  5. theonlymike

    theonlymike Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    26
    11
    18
    Its a hardware issue.
     
  6. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    make sure after you finish using an app, use the built in app manager and close apps you are no longer using, but also here is an app that will do the best job, Fast Reboot
     
  7. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Why not Gemini task killer widget? it's the same as fast reboot but you only have to shake the phone and it will free all the ram. It's a good combo with Gemini app manager.
     
  8. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Mines would do it whenever I connected bt. the ram would just drop until it rebooted, I flashed the stock rom again and it solved the issue,I also use fast reboot pro
     
  9. twistedriku

    twistedriku Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    449
    94
    53
    Advice for those who play shadowgun, before playing be sure to have more than 100 mb of RAM because for me in the middle of the game, it'll reboot my phone. When it boots up and I go straight to the game, it works just fine for as long as I play( usually about 250mbs of ram freed) also another thing I noticed that helped some, lowering the vm heap size.
     
  10. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    well i did some testing and at least i can say that my phone is not doing no of that rebooting i opened about 8 apps and than played FL Commando flawlessly when i check my ram when i was done it was at 210 that is what the stock app manager said and my phone was running smooth so i think it is best to let the phone do what it has to with out interference of the other task apps that is what i have been doing and no problems






    fl
     
  11. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    HA HA HA go figure as soon as I say that i was not having the reboot problem i go to play and it reboots ha spoke to soon
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...