1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support RAM in the Spica

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shmuel, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. shmuel

    shmuel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Hey everyone,

    I've been following Android for a while and think I might go for the Galaxy Spica/Lite/Portal or whatever they want to call it!

    I was going to get the original Galaxy but wasn't so sure because it didn't have much RAM compared to other android phones. I know the Spica has a faster processor but how does the RAM compare?

    I couldn't find anything concrete online and this would sway me over the original Galaxy (unless you have anything else to convince me either way)

    Thanks guys!
     

    Advertisement

  2. informale

    informale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    704
    33
    68
    Scotland
    Just take a look at i7500 forum ) Don't buy it. At this price you're better off with a Hero.
     
  3. shmuel

    shmuel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Well I was hoping to get the phone sim-free for when I go abroad etc.

    The Spica is about
     
  4. 28064212

    28064212 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    245
    17
    38
    The Spica's RAM is 146 MiB, compared to the Galaxy's 192.
     
  5. devast

    devast Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Visible physical memory on the spica is ~146mb, galaxy is ~96mb. Total physical memory (my guesstimate) is ~240-256mb for the spica and ~192mb for the galaxy.
     
  6. 28064212

    28064212 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    245
    17
    38
    Yeah, you're right, I was just going by visible memory as reported on my Spica, I got the Galaxy figure from pdadb. The Spica does have more
     
  7. shmuel

    shmuel Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Thanks for the info. I don't know why it is so hard to find the specifications for Samsung's Android phones! Hopefully I'll be getting an Android soon.
     
  8. adbaby89

    adbaby89 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    11
    2
    16
    Where does it show 142?!!? For me (using Taskiller)...available free ram hasnt crossed more than 55! :( i m on Android 2.1 Spica
     
  9. devast

    devast Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Read again and try to understand harder what i wrote.
    With 2.1, it seems like samsung cut down the size of the radio stack, since visible physical memory went up to ~165mb for me.
     
  10. Beerkan

    Beerkan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    720
    166
    93
    Blighty
    Physical memory, and working memory are two different things. 2.1 update frees up more available RAM, as devast says.

    When my spica has newly powered on, I have had up to 91 meg working memory free. And regularly float between 60 + 75Mb free.

    If you use TasKiller remember to ignore just those tasks you want enabled, and to switch on AutoKill feature when the screen sleeps so unwanted apps are kept shut.

    Also add the TasKiller Widget to your Home screen.
     
    Santoso likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...