1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support RAM issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PRkid, Sep 7, 2017.

  1. PRkid

    PRkid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    519
    50
    78
    Male
    Lazy person
    Bronx, NY
    So for a couple of months my ram has been showing 0mb free. Whether I turn off and on my device or Uninstall apps, the amount of RAM never goes up. It stays at 0mb free. I have the 2gb version, but I still feel like it should be higher than 0. Any idea on why this is happening? On Memory under settings, it shows Performance = Normal. Total Memory= 1.8. Average Used = 7%. Free = 0b
     

    Advertisement

  2. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #109
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    1,041
    331
    173
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    This maybe a simple reporting glitch... If you really had 0 ram available the device would grind to a halt and be nearly unusable.

    Try installing a terminal emulator application and open it and enter the command "free" and press enter and capture the output (a screen shot is fine, preferably in landscape mode). It should look something like this:
     

    Attached Files:

    PRkid and andMego like this.
  3. PRkid

    PRkid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    519
    50
    78
    Male
    Lazy person
    Bronx, NY
    Thanks for the tip. This is what I got
     

    Attached Files:

  4. acejavelin

    acejavelin Android Expert
    Rank:
     #109
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    1,041
    331
    173
    VoIP/Telephony/IT Technician
    Bismarck, ND
    Your "free" memory is about 90MB... not zero.

    - Source

    This is normal (look at mine, I have the 4GB RAM version and have ~130MB free)... if you are not experiencing any performance issues I wouldn't worry about it, it is a simple reporting glitch in the settings menu Memory "app". You can't think of an Android device like Windows, you shouldn't have very much free memory... "free memory is wasted memory" as apps are cached into memory for quick retrieval later, the kernel manages this quite well in most cases.
     
    scary alien and svim like this.
  5. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,993
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,993
    3,023
    608
    Illinois
    scary alien likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...