1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root RAM optimization

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by scotty85, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413

    Advertisement

    RDKamikaze likes this.
  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yeah,so you guys should all flash this.

    i flashed it on gingervitis 1.2 wich was pretty fast and smooth in the first place and its made a noticable difference. i cant wait to try it on some AOSP roms as well :cool:
     
  3. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    Just so you know, I am pretty sure this is baked into Ziggy's kernels (well, sort of, I guess the kernel sort of has some ramdisk stuff that tags along with it, per his post in the synergy forum).
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I flashed it and it seems like my phone is a little faster. I bet after having the phone on for 5-6 days that's when this will be really noticeable
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    it made a pretty noticable difference on gingeritis. maybe since there is just so much crap going on in a sense rom you need every little bit of RAM you can muster :D

    im anxious to try it with cm7. im also very interested in anyones feedback that trys it,defiantely post up if you give it a shot.

    try this: put your finger on the homescreen,to scroll left or right. move your finger back and forth about an inch,as fast as you can. the homescreen actually keeps up with my finger now... definately wasnt that fast before. same for scrolling the app drawer. i feel like all the apps open and close much faster as well,but that part may be my imagination :eek:
     
  6. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    Running it now. CM7 with GO Launcher and one homescreen doesn't make it very easy to tell much immediate improvement though.. lol..
     
  7. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    On bamf 3.0 RC4.9, the app drawer is lightning now. (On a side note, one of the things that bugged me about synergy was a laggy app drawer. I know McLabia loves it, but it just does not seem to be as polished as BAMF to me.)
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    whaaaa :eek:

    and i thot i had a simple homescreen layout,lol
     
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    im with ya there... i can tolerate alot of lil prollems but i like my phone to be smooth and fast. i cant run a laggy rom... i may be alittle more critical of it than some :p
     
  10. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    So you all got the CWM zip to work?

    I tried twice, gave up and did the manual method.
     
  11. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yup... installed fine for me. what happened with you?installation aborted?
     
  12. Ibrick

    Ibrick Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    983
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    983
    208
    93
    Banking
    Milwaukee
    It said it installed fine both times, but nothing was showing in the init.d file that it actually did. Rebooted a couple times, ran SDrescan, and, nothing. So I downloaded the other zip file, extracted it, and had to put it there manually.
     
  13. RDKamikaze

    RDKamikaze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    254
    57
    73
    Unknown
    Willing to give this a go on the updated OTA ROM setup you posted earlier.

    Quick question, though, I see the post says our kernel has to support init.d but I'm personally not familiar with which kernels have that and which don't. Do you know if the OTA ROM's kernel supports this feature?

    Thanks for all your help over the years btw! :)

    P.S. I'm the first to thank on this epic find? Let's give credit where it's due!
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    im on cm7 again and found the same thing... iinstalled the .zip a couple times and it wasnt there. in stalled just like you did,then rebooted,and downloaded autokiller and set on default,my lmk values(at least what i assume are them,whatever,those are :p) match the ones listed in "how to tell if it worked". the difference here isnt nearly as drastic as it was in gingeritis. i still feel its a little quicker,tho.
    sorry,no idea. might want to back it up,just in case ;) if youre flashing the .zip in recovery,check and let us know if the script appeared in system/etc/init.d

    if it does or doesent,let us know how you insrtall it and if you check it with autokiller.
     

Share This Page

Loading...