1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ram?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kkwan77, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. kkwan77

    kkwan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    203
    1
    36
    Has it been confirmed how much RAM this puppy will ship with? 512?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    It hasn't been confirmed as far as I have seen, but I would expect a minimum of 512 MB. Maybe it will have 1 GB to raise the bar some?
     
  3. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    Yeah I doubt they will ship it with 1GB, I would think 512 MB
     
  4. MikeGL2

    MikeGL2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I really wish someone would look at the RAM.. there are a few first hand views that have already taken place with this phone, but nobody thinks to check out this spec.
     
  5. rootedEris

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    274
    7
    36
    haha
    i would check that s#it immediately upon first boot. Now if i was introducing or reviewing the phone, you can bet all your marbles that i would have had a detailed specsheet up already
     
  6. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Yeah, it's amazing that there are these "tech reporters" who don't report on the tech ("it's sooooo pretty!" :rolleyes: ). Oh, and their photography skills suck too. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    I can't believe it would only have 512. Can you saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay overclock? ;)
     
  8. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    When Steven is posting on the phones forum, you know it is going to be a big hit. :D
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    This might be a dumb question here, but what does overclocking have to do with the RAM?
     
  10. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    I appreciate the shout out. :) Sometimes I feel as if I need to get away from HTC Incredible forum. I like it here. Nice and quiet. Nice people. Great phone. :)
     
  11. 10splaya22

    10splaya22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    525
    51
    78
    Midlothian, Va
    +1. i was gonna say the same thing but i decided not too lol
     
  12. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    No problem, yeah it is nice and quiet here for now, I still don't think this thread will ever catch up to the Incredible's thread. It was epic for a while, I like the peace here though.
     
  13. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    overclocking has to with processor speed... it requires rooting and more battery power. conversely, underclocking will use less battery power.


    I guess it comes from the term: the speed is clocked at 1 ghz., etc.
     
  14. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    But processor speed has nothing to do with ram. Overclocking the phone doesn't change the amount of RAM available.
     
  15. kkwan77

    kkwan77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    203
    1
    36

    Correctomundo! Two different things.
     
  16. 10splaya22

    10splaya22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    525
    51
    78
    Midlothian, Va
    Yea so I don't know where this came from...just a mixup?
     
  17. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    yeah sorry...i'm @ work doing 2 things at once.:rolleyes:
     
  18. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    heh we've all been there before its no big deal. Just didn't want some noob to sneak in here asking a bunch of questions about oc'ing to get more ram :D lol
     
  19. matty032

    matty032 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    302
    12
    48
    I thought I saw a spec about 8gig. Rom, or Ram?
     
  20. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    8 gig internal storage. Not for apps( atleast not until 2.2) but for music, pix, vids, and the like.
     

Share This Page

Loading...