1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Random boots on CM6

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kevinrubio, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    So I just noticed these random boots that happens like 6 times a day...i'm not even joking. These boots happen only when i'm not using my phone as much, like the screen turned off for like 5 mins . It doesn't happen when i'm using the phone on a app, like right now i'm using phandroid and it's not booting. It's annoying because I won't get text messages for like a while since it booted in the middle of the conversation. So how can I fix this, i'm Running cm6. I can provide my information if needed. Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    try this, uninstall the phan app and reboot the phone and see if problem resolve.
     
  3. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    Wait what are talking bout? If u read the problem it has completely nothing to do with the phan app...it's the system but thanks though
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,008
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,008
    9,641
    1,433
    UK
    Are you running an undervolted kernel at all? That can cause your phone to freeze at specific CPU frequencies.

    How long has this been happening? Have you been running the rom for a while, or have you flashed something new recently and this started happening?
     
  5. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    I've been running this ROM since two months now, my CPU frequency is 710 MHz and i'm not running Amy kind of kernel. This problem has been happening since yesterday. Well I first noticed this problem yesterday 'not sure if it happened before... is there any kind of app that tells you how many reboots your phone does? So I can know if it happens alot
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,008
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,008
    9,641
    1,433
    UK
    Well, all roms come with a kernel, but yeah if you haven't changed anything in the last two months it's unlikely that's the problem.

    Speaking as somebody who flashes far roms far too often for his own good, in your shoes I would backup my firmware in recovery, backup all of my apps and data, do a factory reset and update my rom to the latest version (if there was one). Usually that fixes most problems for me.

    It's a bit of a cop out answer I know, but it's something you may want to consider if you can't find an easy fix.
     
  7. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    Alright I will backup everything...I'll reflash again I guess..
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,008
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,008
    9,641
    1,433
    UK
    If it doesn't work then you can always save your self the trouble of setting up again and restore your firmware backup :)
     
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    smarty pants? lol well, i'll keep quite...but some apps will cause phones to act stupid and do different stuff, like camera apps in cm7 will cause FC's and before the camera was fix in cm7 if you tried to launch it it would take down the system...But (IMO) iwasjust trying to help you out and seewhat was install/use before the trouble started but.....
     
    Gmash likes this.
  10. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    No I think u took it the wrong way lol.I was over reacting, i'm so sorry for that.and I haven't installed any app from two months ago so it can't be that problem...maybe some update messed with my system?
     
  11. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    i know you dont mean no harm, you cool :p was just trying to pin point some possibilities...;)
     
  12. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA

    well I can take screen shots at my apps to see If u can identify the apps that are causing this issue. But I can't upload them till tomorrow night.
    Edit:
    Unless I can find another way to upload the pics on my phone through phandroid.would u know how to?
     
  13. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    never did them through the app, but also check the prongs on the battery and check the gold plates and see if some build up is on there, if so you need some alcohol and cotton swap to clean it, but another way to test and see if its the phone itself revert back to stock or if you with metro use 2.2 and try it out for a day and see if it starts doing it. When i had the kmod install i had the same issues with constantly reboots without warnings, even when i tap the back of the phone or lay it down a little to hard the phone would restart, but after i reflash with a different build, i didnt have them problems no more.
     
    kevinrubio likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...