1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Random processes force closing

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fixmy59bug, Jul 12, 2010.

  1. Fixmy59bug

    Fixmy59bug Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    27
    6
    16
    So, this phone has really been ticking me off in the last couple of days.

    Random processes have been force closing. The most persistent one is sms.messaging (or something like that). It usually happens when I pull the phone out of my pocket after receiving a message notification. This one happened twice today, once yesterday.

    Occasionally, I get process.htc force close and the phone reboots. This has happened three times in the last 3 days.

    A friend of mine says maybe I should try resetting the phone or reinstalling android. Is that even possible?

    I'm thinking maybe I should go ahead and root and install FroYo. Is that possible since I have updated?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    Do you have a task killer installed?

    Resetting the phone can fix lots of force close issues.
     
  3. Fixmy59bug

    Fixmy59bug Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    27
    6
    16
    I did have ATK installed for the first week and a half. Then I learned it could actually be causing the phone to lag more than it would without it.

    So I uninstalled it about 2 weeks ago.

    I'll look up the process to reset the phone.

    Is rooting possible with the update yet?
     
  4. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    The reset is easy, settings > privacy > factory data reset

    I'm pretty sure there is a root out for 1.47
     
  5. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    I've also read of people having trouble with their phones after uninstalling ATK. It's like it doesn't remove itself all the way. Even read one complaint that the ATK icon came up in the notification bar after it had been uninstalled. They had to factory reset to get it removed.
     
  6. hawt

    hawt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    106
    30
    63
    I had a problem like this when I was using Startup Auditor. I had it set to stop the Messaging application from opening itself on it's own (I turned it on during my stint with Handcent) and the app kept randomly closing. I took that setting off and it worked fine.
     
  7. sagedil

    sagedil Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    796
    178
    93
    Laid off....sigh
    Raleigh, NC
    I really think this is just a 2.1 issue. Same as on my Hero. Hoping gets better with Froyo.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...