1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Random reboots after 2.3.5 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by msueagles2010, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. msueagles2010

    msueagles2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    84
    9
    36
    Xenia, OH
    Is anyone else experiencing occasional random reboots post-update? It was never a problem for me with 2.1 or 2.2, but now every once in awhile it just restarts itself.
     

    Advertisement

  2. falcon7204

    falcon7204 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012

    Jan 17, 2012
    45
    3
    36
    Yeah, it happens to me, too. Out of the blue it just shuts off. I usually have to pull the battery to make it reboot. I didn't have it long before I upgraded to Gingerbread, so I don't really know what it was like with Froyo. When it shuts off like that, is it a reboot (i.e. will it restart after a time) or is it a shutdown?
     
  3. CamaroZ28c

    CamaroZ28c Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    65
    3
    36
    Environmental Scientist
    Topeka
    It rebooted on me once in the middle of using the navigation.
     
  4. LarrynKy

    LarrynKy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    37
    5
    16
    Yes, it happens to me as well. Sometimes I also need to pull the battery out and reboot. I will be glad to get rid of this phone when my contract is up in June. I will be looking hard at the new Apple by then. My family members have them and they do not have any of these issues. While I enjoy the creativity of the android sometimes it just does not function very well.
     
  5. iffrett

    iffrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    210
    14
    38
    Engineering Student
    Toronto, Canada
    I'm getting the same type of response on my phone as well. The only thing I can think of that may potentially fix this is to reflash....
     
  6. lordfly911

    lordfly911 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    84
    2
    16
    A Factory Reset seems to fix everything. Mine wouldn't even let me get very far after the update. I was already prepared to start from scratch, so it was an easy decision.

    I see a lot of newbies pulling their hair out on this one.
     
  7. msueagles2010

    msueagles2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    84
    9
    36
    Xenia, OH
    It's also closing out apps randomly. Not force closing them, just returning me to the home screen.

    I did a factory reset to get rid of the tethering manager force close, but still have this.
     
  8. falcon7204

    falcon7204 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012

    Jan 17, 2012
    45
    3
    36
    I had an issue with playing videos - my phone locked up while playing one and I couldn't get out of it (the video played on, amazingly enough). So I yanked the battery and restarted, then I caved in and did a factory data reset. Since then, I have had no problems with the tethering manager force close issue, nor have I had any issues with apps locking up (with the exception of the built-in video player switching between videos last night). I downloaded MX player and since then have had no problems.

    I think the rule of thumb here might be the same as with a PC - if you're updating or upgrading the operating system, it's best to do a clean install (if you can) to avoid any issues down the road. I don't know if that's even possible with a smartphone, but a workaround might be to make sure your phone is as clean of personal data as possible, then update, then do a factory reset immediately after. Even with all that hassle, it still doesn't take as long to accomplish as updating an iPhone. :D
     
  9. MarcPD

    MarcPD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    CamaroZ28c likes this.
  10. CamaroZ28c

    CamaroZ28c Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    65
    3
    36
    Environmental Scientist
    Topeka
  11. ndoran

    ndoran Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Oct 4, 2010
    37
    4
    16
    NY/TX
    I went from 2.1 -> 2.2 -> 2.3 all without factory resets... However I was getting these random shut offs, so I wiped it finally. It restored with 2.3 on there still, but is still randomly shutting down...
    On a brighter note, my gps works brilliantly
     
  12. missoulasnow

    missoulasnow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012

    Feb 1, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Are you getting the tether error as well?
     
  13. ndoran

    ndoran Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Oct 4, 2010
    37
    4
    16
    NY/TX
    not after doing my factory reset :)
     
  14. davidvang

    davidvang Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    getting tether error thingy also. did factory reset by typing this: *2767*3855#

    got rid of the issue.

    i just updated mine to 2.3.5 and now the battery is super bad.. only lasts about 8 hours of light-moderate use. :(
     
  15. RazorvoirHOGS

    RazorvoirHOGS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    15
    1
    16
    Fayetteville, AR
    Anyone have anything new on this? I running CM7 now and the issue is gone, but my fiancee' is still using her stock Captivate and this has started occurring since the Kies update to Gingerbread. She doesn't really want to root the phone and run CM7 like I did just in case she needs to take it back for whatever reason, so is there another fix?
     
  16. stewlevine

    stewlevine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Dallas
    I am having the same problem - both random reboots, often multiple in succession (first reboots after about a day, then several in a row) and frozen screens. Posting over on xda, there was a theory that it was tied to the number of apps installed, especially on SD. Not sure of that, all I know is that the problem on my phone seems to be getting worse, and since it is my employer's owned phone and out of warranty, I am loathe to go the custom ROM route on it. Trying to figure out the best way to ride this out to July when I can get a new phone from my employer.
    Until then, for those who did master resets or reflashes - has that been a permanent fix, or have your issues come back? Have any alternate kernels - like Corn seemed to help?
     
  17. iffrett

    iffrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    210
    14
    38
    Engineering Student
    Toronto, Canada
    I straight up flashed to ICS and I've never expereienced any random shutdowns/reboots anymore.
     
  18. stewlevine

    stewlevine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Dallas
    Which ROM have you gone with CM9 alpha, team hacksung, AOKP, a different one?
    I've been fearful of going to ICS both because it's technically not my device, and the reports of people with internal SD problems over on XDA.
     
  19. iffrett

    iffrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    210
    14
    38
    Engineering Student
    Toronto, Canada
    i went with teamhacksung
     
  20. chrisr1984

    chrisr1984 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Having the same issue did a factory restore and still keeps rebooting randomly
     
  21. stewlevine

    stewlevine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Dallas
    That's what I am afraid of too. Did you reinstall all of the same apps that you had on before? I suspect that KK4 is a lemon, and that unlike the international Galaxy S, won't see a value pack update that could fix some/all of the causes.
     
  22. chrisr1984

    chrisr1984 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I did install most of the apps that where on there before wiping
     
  23. stewlevine

    stewlevine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Dallas
    Unfortunately I expect that Samsung would say it's an issue with a rogue app rather than say it's a problem with the ROM itself. If you were getting the reboots without the apps that would eliminate that possibility.
     
  24. Italo

    Italo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    744
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    744
    170
    113
    Male
    Student
    Atlanta
    I'm having this issue on a fairly regular basis as well. I'm running teamhacksung's ICS. It seems to happen most often when I'm taking to my mom (who has an iPhone), or after it's been asleep and it won't wake up. Getting to be really annoying have conversations cut off mid-stream from the phone rebooting... I'd hate to do a factory reset, but I don't know what else to try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...