1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Random Reboots/Radio Updates

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MizzouBrent, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I have been getting random reboots on my phone lately. The only thing I can figure out is that the new radio updates are causing this. I'm using CM7.0.3.1, which has never caused me issues in the past, and Tiamat 4.0.5, which has always been solid on my phone as well.

    What are the radios that were part of the last HTC radio update back in December when they released Swype? Until updating to the newest set of radios, that was the only time I had ever touched the radios on my phone, and I
     

    Advertisement

  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
     
    MizzouBrent likes this.
  3. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Well, I figured out part of it. The Kingdom GPS driver was keeping my CPU at 100% usage. But even after removing that, I'm still getting some weird battery drain that I can't figure out. I thought it was being caused by the GPS making the CPU stick at 100%, but that does not appear to be the case.

    I am running CM7.0.3.1
    PRI 1.77
    Baseband: current
    Wimax: Current
    GPS Driver: Qualcomm from HTC Vision (I think that's the right name, I'm not using stock CM driver)

    But anyway, I went to bed last night with 66% battery. Woke up this morning with 18%. No wakelocks per Spare Parts. CPU usage is normal every time I check SetCPU. I can't figure it out. I don't see how I can drop 50% battery with no wakelocks when my phone is just sitting on the table overnight. Wifi was on. Wimax was off.
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Maybe do a battery recalibration, may help, who knows;) LOOK HERE for directions
     
  5. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yeah I'm really stumped. I just flashed the november radios, removed partition and wiped sd card, full wipe with RA and Calkulin and went with a clean install of the latest nightly for CM7.

    It could be some weird issue with that GPS driver that I just can't see anywhere. I'm rolling total stock with only essential apps to see if the problem has gone away. I suppose it's possible my battery is just messed up somehow.
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Personally, I've always had trouble with CM's stable releases. Not sure why but even going back to CM5, CM6 and CM7 stables, I've always had trouble with those stable releases. I've always had better luck with the nightlies;)
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    not sure if this is what is happening to you, but i was getting random reboots. i thought that it might have something to do with my radios as well. so i tried just everything stock with the sprint lovers radio combo rom and same thing reboots randomly. i also noted that the phone would get hotter then normal right before it reboots. so i then tried unrooting ti to see and lo and behold another reboot. took it in to sprint showed them that it is stock ran a ton of apps to try and make it reboot and it did. they then ordered me a refurbished phone. so far no reboots i had a hw 0003. the refurb is hw 0004 now.

    i hope that yours is fixable, because i'm hearing that the new phones are now coming in with 2.3.3 already updated. not sure on the refurbished phones though.
     
  8. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    That stinks, because I flashed to Koni's Elite III to do a profile update and I got a reboot. I guess that means it's probably hardware related. UGH!

    It just started doing this over the last week or two. How far from your purchase date can you get a refurb with a hardware failure? I got mine in October.
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well not sure. i bought the phone in august and i had my replacement in april. but i have insurance also.
     
  10. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yeah I just called and I would either have to pay full price or buy a refurb (at full price of course). Yuck. Well, we'll see if my situation gets any better with the old radios. I never had this issue prior to the new radio updates.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...