1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Random shutdowns?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Phubu, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.
    Sup everyone not new here on the forum but i'am fairly new to the touchpad which i received a month ago from my brother. I successfully installed the latest nightly build on first try about a week ago, and loving the tablet. The only problem im having now is random shutdowns out of no where, my brother said it was even doing it in on webOs, can anyone point me out in the right direction.
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    When you say shutdown, you mean it shuts off, and you power it back on as usual by pressing the power button for a few seconds?

    Or does it just not wake up and you have to hold down the power and home button for 30-40 seconds to wake it up (SOD)

    Or does it reboot? (Completely different problems.)



    If it's shutting off in CM and webOS, it sounds like a hardware issue (which isn't good).

    Can you reproduce it by bumping your tablet?
     
  3. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.
    I'm not sure which one is it yet, but i do hear a click sound when it happens, and i do have to press the power button for some time.

    and no, bumping it doesn't replicate it.
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    If you have to hold down the power button for > 30 seconds to wake it, you probably have a SOD (sleep of death), which shouldn't be an issue in webOS. I don't recall if you can recover from that with just the power button. One thing you could try would be to increase the minimum cpu speed to 384 or 512 to see if that fixes it. SOD's were resolved years ago and only recently showed up in some of the CM10.1 builds. Flashing an older build or CM10 should resolve that.

    You might want to confirm that it also happens in webOS. They are independent of each other. From what you're telling me, if there's a problem in webOS, it's something else.
     
  5. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.

    Another question, about two days ago i got an email from webos saying there was some updates, im i able to update webos in case of a system update, will i lose moboot and all together?
     
  6. Nevertells

    Nevertells Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    198
    43
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    Latest nightly build of what? CM9, CM10, CM10.1? What Gapps did you install with the version of CM you installed?

    What Colchiro was asking you, when you are using the TouchPad, and all of a sudden it shuts off and does not reboot or while using it it reboots unexpectedly? Or, when you put it to sleep using a short press of the power button and a while later you try to wake it up and it refuses to do? Normally, the proper method of forcing reboot when something like this happens is to hold the power and home buttons for 15 to 30 seconds until you see the pulsing HP logo after which you should see the Moboot menu.

    Have you duplicated this in WebOS? If it is in fact happening in both operating systems, then you have some kind of hardware issue. Are you paying attention to the battery levels when this happens?

    The email you received was probably about the fact that the WebOS Root Certificate will expire on July 23rd. All one needs to do is while in WebOS, start the HP Market app and select NEW. Look for the Market update and install it. That takes care of updating the root certificate. This needs to be done before the 23rd. If you want more info go here and read:

    http://rootzwiki.com/topic/43785-im...ebos-root-certificate-a-must-do-before-72313/

    There is also a video explaining how to do the update at that link.
     
  7. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.
    Ok..so its actually CM9 (cm-9-20130714-NIGHTLY-tenderloin)

    gapps-ics-20120429-signed

    moboot_0.3.5

    ACMEInstaller2

    Can you guys help me get updated since i see u mentioned cm 10 and 10.1


    While using it it shuts down, i usually just hold down the power button until i see the hp logo than go back into moboot.

    Edit: I did the update and it installed successfully.
     
  8. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.
    OK I just had it happen 3 more times, first 2 where reboots and the last one was an actual shutdown, never came back up.
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Phubu likes this.
  10. Nevertells

    Nevertells Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    198
    43
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Florida



    The 7/14 CM9 has problems. Uninstall and use the 5/12 nightly. And this time, use ACMEInstaller3. Also you did not mention what version of CWM you installed. Be sure you are using CWM6, dated 12/15.
     
    Phubu likes this.
  11. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    Oh my. What is the deal with the 10.1 and BT not working?

    I like the Sun Mar 3rd build of 4.1.2, CM10-20130304-Experimental... Seems stable. What am I missing out on? BT not working would be a nojoy!
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    BT was an issue created by Google and was an issue on many devices, not just our TP. Supposedly it's straightened out in Android 4.3.

    Simple fix: If you need BT, go back to a rom that had BT working, like CM10 or CM9.
     
  13. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.

    First to 2 actually rebooted back up all the way in, 3rd didn't...so what is it called if not a [shutdown], the device makes an obvious audible click as when u shut down a desktop PC by holding down the power button. Aren't you booting back up from a complete shutdown if you're seeing the HP logo as you boot? Getting confused now here :/ lol
     
  14. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.
  15. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Shutdown stays powered off.
    Reboot will crash and boot past logo again.
    SOD stays asleep and just won't wake up.
     
  16. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.

    Ok. So if i upgrade using 10.1 and acmeinstaller3 will it fix this problem?
    Also on the cm 10.1 link you gave theres a bunch of builds posted im confused on which to pick or most up to date build?
     
  17. Nevertells

    Nevertells Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    198
    43
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    Someone is missing something here. You started this thread stating that you were having random shutdowns. Then Colchiro and I spent several posts trying to understand what you were saying and explain the difference.

    In post #6, I gave you a very detailed description of the differences between a shutdown, a reboot and an SOD. Yet, in post #13, you are still confused about what is happening. In post #15, Colchiro is explaining again the differences.

    We have established you installed CM9 and I specifically warned you that the 7/14 date has problems. Now your back asking if installing a Rom that is still very new to the CM world with lots of it's own issues will fix the problems you are having with CM9, which has been around for almost two years and is very mature and stable, EXCEPT for the 7/14 build.

    Here is what you need to do, go back and do what I suggested to you in post #10 and let's see if that stabilizes your situation. If you need more help, go back and refer to Colchiro's post #9 for reading material about installing CM on one's TouchPad. I'll also add one more link that you can refer to:

    [ROM] Official CyanogenMod 9 Nightly Build Discussion - CyanogenMod [HP Touchpad] - RootzWiki

    If you want to continue using CM on your TouchPad, you need to get CM9 installed and working correctly. Then you need to do a WHOLE bunch of reading and educate yourself on what you think you can do next. That's how we all did it, you need to do the same. All you are going to have is trouble if you continue to try to do things above your skill level.
     
  18. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.

    Ok, ill leave you to your assuming, thx for your great help.:D I did all stated and updated everything which looked like the pad was doing much better ( I do know how to follow instructions perfectly). You know not everyone here that ask for help is some clueless noob or a noob at all. Some people like asking a lot of questions just to feel/make sure before doing any process. If people have the knowledge and are here to help like some of you, than i think the assuming should be left aside and focus solely on helping.;)

    I uninstalled, and used ACMEInstaller3 and installed JCSullins's CM10. I'm gonna see how it holds.

    Edit: Ok once in CM10 Goo.Im gave a message saying rom had an update, should i go for it?
     
  19. Rabid1

    Rabid1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    403
    68
    53

    If everything is working you don't need to update unless there is some bug fix you want to have.

    The shutdown you were reporting originally, did you see it in WebOS or just your brother saying it was happening? I ask because the shutdown you describe is a lot like an overclocking error, usually when the CPU heats up and becomes unstable, particularly the click. Did you have any overclocking software installed?

    The best thing to remember is this stuff is not really rocket science. You are doing the right thing taking a breath and asking questions. The process itself is so easy you can train a monkey to do it. But the troubleshooting can drive you crazy. One app could have been the cause of your problems, but unless you want to start from scratch and install one by one testing each app before the next, it can be a real pain in the ass. When in doubt have a backup and start from scratch.
     
  20. Nevertells

    Nevertells Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    198
    43
    43
    Male
    Retired
    Florida
    No, There is a problem using Goomanager with JC Sullins Roms. Its wanting to try to install CM 9.
     
  21. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.
    I didnt have an overclock app or anything except regular apps and games. Im leaning towards an overheat problem, i did noticed im not able to click to try and lower the cpu...strange.
     
  22. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.

    You are right lmbo
     
  23. faeq00

    faeq00 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    26
    1
    36
    Male
    Architect, Coder, Developer
    West Bloomfield, MI, USA
    I must say, what is wrong with 7/14 build?
     
  24. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    It had updates (wifi I think) that caused SOD's (sleep of death). When your device fell asleep, the only way to wake it is to hold down the home and power button to reboot it.
     
  25. Phubu

    Phubu Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    452
    33
    43
    Male
    Miami, Fl.
    So far J's CM10 has been holding out great, no reboots or anything so far.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...