1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Random white "HTC" screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JaRN99, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. JaRN99

    JaRN99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #594
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    365
    42
    43
    Ok....anyone else have this problem? At times when I back out of an app or close it I get the white "HTC" screen. That screen lasts only second or two & then it seems like Sense is reloading. I say that because when the clock comes back up it takes a second or two for the weather to show up....same for "Friend Stream" posts, song on music widget, info on calendar widget & people listed in favorites widget. When it does this everything in the status bar on top of screen is fine. Seems to only do this when backing out of things. It has happened when backing/closing out of Hanging With Friends, messages widget, Facebook & The Market. There might be more but those are the ones I remember. Only had my Rezound for about a week and does this at least once every day. Any help is appreciated....Thnx.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jayochs

    jayochs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    672
    89
    78
    Critical Infrastructure Protection Bureau, Office
    Brick, NJ
    means you have an app hogging up memory, forcing sense to shut itself down to free up memory.

    hanging with friends EATS memory like it's a poorly coded app..which it most likely is..so it requires force closes from now and again to free up that memory.
     
  3. olbriar

    olbriar  
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,973
    Posts:
    17,350
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    17,350
    12,447
    1,973
    Male
    Land of Oz
    I have not experienced your problem. I hope someone has and has a suggested fix. It does sound like it's reloading.. like a pc would that is way short on resources.
    If it were my phone, I'd like at least try powering it off and pulling the battery out for a few. It just takes a minute.. might do something.. I hope someone with some experience with the problem can help out.
     
  4. pwalt

    pwalt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    164
    21
    38
    I have had that problem. Got my phone in December ... and have had it happen just a few times. If it was happening to me daily I'd take it back and have them replace it with a new phone (since it's still in the return window). It doesn't bother me much, because it doesn't happen often, but it almost sounds like there's a glitch in your phone's memory circuits or something.
     
  5. JaRN99

    JaRN99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #594
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    365
    42
    43
    That makes sense since it would always happen on my Inc 2 also. When it happened on that phone it was mainly when closing out of Hanging. And also when happening on my Rezound if I do a restart then it'll run fine for a while before it does it again. Just wonder why once it starts doing to then it'll do it when using other apps also....not always just Hanging.
     
  6. gloriousnumber1

    gloriousnumber1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    765
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    765
    52
    88
    Male
    Photographer
    Portland, Oregon
    I've seen this a few times, what's funny is it has only done it when I've been in the app settings, shutting things down, and I have never tried to affect sense by trying to shut it down too.
     
  7. JaRN99

    JaRN99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #594
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    365
    42
    43
    Just checked the "running services" section under applications & Hanging is always running....using 35 MB. Facebook was showing using 60. Crazy how these apps have to keep using so much memory when not actually being used.
     
  8. JaRN99

    JaRN99 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #594
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    365
    42
    43
    Called HTC today & they weren't much help .
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...