1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General RC29 Update!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chrislimon, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. chrislimon

    chrislimon Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008

    Oct 28, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    Tonight when I got home and turned on Wi-Fi my phone started going slow and freezing a bit when I was doing some stuff. Next thing you know I get a screen saying: System Update available: install now or install later. You may not use your phone while updating blah blah blah well of course I hit install now. The phone restarted shows some loading screen that shows a software package with an arrow to the phone, then restarts does some thing with some arrow to a microchip then restarts 2 more times.

    Anyways,
    When I go to system settings to view the version this is what it shows:
    Build Number:
    kila-user 1.0 TC4-RC29 115247 ota-rel-keys,release-keys.

    So I guess they are just skipping the RC28 and going straight to RC29...

    I wonder what is different between this and RC28.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    I got mine this morning.

    I read somewhere (no link handy) that is fixes like 2 minor things one is some Amazon app/interface bug (translation - where money is involved they move quickly) and something else.

    I hope someone who pays better attention than I do can update this thread.
     
  3. bengrulz

    bengrulz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    I got rc29 last night and noticed something this morning (pretty sure it came with the update)
    FORCE LANDSCAPE MODE in the browser while the phone is closed!
    Just go to menu - more - flip orientation :)
     
  4. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    Awesome! Even if that was there...that's a great tip and trick! Nice find!
     
  5. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    bah! you guys are lucky. i guess i will just keep waiting.
     
  6. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    I just found a bug with that flip orientation...if your phone sleeps in that mode then it won't re-orient itself so when you hit menu to get your unlock pattern it is sideways. Usable but sideways.
     
  7. I7oobie

    I7oobie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    44
    0
    35
    Mechanical Designer, Best Buy Co Inc.
    Land of Hockey, MN

    It was on there before. But still a good tip!
     
  8. parker

    parker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008

    Oct 28, 2008
    7
    0
    5
    do the updates only occur when the phone is connected to wifi?
     
  9. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    No Parker, they don't. I had wifi and even 3g off all day yesterday to preserve battery life and got mine.
     
  10. Scottdroid

    Scottdroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    29
    0
    15
    Graphic Designer
    Morristown, NJ
    I'm still waiting for R28. :(
     
  11. sleebus.jones

    sleebus.jones Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008

    Sep 27, 2008
    240
    0
    35
    Houston, TX
    I got my OTA over EDGE.

    Scott, you won't get R28, you'll go straight to R29
     
  12. andonnguyen

    andonnguyen Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    35
    0
    15

    I have RC19, and flip orientation is there. So its not a part of the RC28 or RC29 update.
     
  13. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    Hey, I've noticed that I'm having some issues connecting today. I have 4 bars, seem to be getting SMS without a problem but for some reason maps doesn't fully load the area where I am (which makes my Locale "work" situation useless), and it can't find My Location at all. It keeps saying it's having a connection issue but 3G seems to be flying (the icon is there and the up/down arrows keep moving and flashing).

    I also don't seem to be able to load the market.

    Does the update hog resources like this? I remember someone saying their connection was suddenly slow right before they got the update notification.

    It's been like this a couple hours and I've turned the phone off and on a couple times just to see if that would help it make a good connection, no dice.
     
  14. Flatman

    Flatman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008

    Oct 23, 2008
    174
    5
    56
    DFW
    Did you okay the update? I think it asks you before it actually does it...
     
  15. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    No, I've gotten NO notification.

    My question is: Is this what happens when it downloads the update in the background BEFORE asking you to install it?
     
  16. szymc1o

    szymc1o Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008

    Oct 29, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    your data connection is down because of the update rolling out. i talked to the customer reps and the lady told me that the data plans drop from your account and they need to re-apply it. they are working on fixing it. but even when they re-apply the data plan to your account, you have to wait a while for it to work. mine is still down :(. i would recommend calling tmobile to double check if your data plan is added and if the correct one is selected. also the rep was complaining on the amount of calls she got about this issue. i think it's something major :thinking:
     
  17. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab

    I was all excited to show off the g1 in a networking meeting and then use the GPS to get to my next meeting and had the same connection issues. Browser, Maps, etc all not working. As I was in the car, no wifi access.

    I just tested this now back the office, and in Maps it tries to find me and an error message shows up. (while my battery sucks to the ground.)

    Then I turned on Wifi just in case and....it works.

    Bottom line - data services are off. I called Tmobile and checked on my Tmobile.com. Long story but you need to add them back in again if you are having issue.

    Do it now. Took me 35 min to get back on after I added them, but could be up to 2 hours. Faster to do it online (via a PC) than calling too.
     
  18. solider

    solider Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008

    Oct 28, 2008
    34
    0
    35
    I haven't recieved any update notification so far. It seems like some people have and some people don't. I kinda figured that once an update is up and ready, everyone should have been able to get it. Should I just wait for it then?
     
  19. rposeidon

    rposeidon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008

    Oct 29, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    I've had the G1 for several days, still at RC19. Is there ANY way to force the update? I am connected to wi-fi all night when I get home, figured it should have hit.
     
  20. g1mp

    g1mp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    0
    15
    yeah i've had mine since 10/21, and i always have wifi on when i'm at home, and have perfect 3g connectivity while at work. I haven't gotten JACK! i'm still on 19 as well.
     
  21. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    FYI - Tmobile's past (with Danger) was to do rolling installs in a random batch.

    It works "kinda" like this....

    10K users across the country get an OTA, which tests the system, for flaws, bugs, errors etc.

    then

    They roll out XXX number of users every X period of time, randomly. They may continue to do a geographic distribution.

    The idea is to not overload their own network during this mass download to their installed user base. It is actually a smart idea as only rabid fans like us (forum users) know about an OTA so most people just one day go "hey look an update".
     
  22. mikeeh

    mikeeh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    139
    3
    56
    Bay Area Cali
    I got mine sometime this morning. I woke up checked my time and there it was, the prompt for the "SYSTEM UPDATE". So it must have received the request while I was sleeping but who knows for how long.

    Went ahead with the update and while I was waiting, it gave me the creepy feeling how that they can just access my phone like that remotely.
    It's like it some kind of conspiracy. LOL

    next thing you know, once we have that retinal scanner app, we all be hypnotized and be under Google's control to rule the planet!
     
  23. thelub

    thelub Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008

    Oct 27, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    Got mine this morning. I've noticed its eating the battery much slower than it used to.

    I've alos had my G1 for well over a week with no data problems but I don't remember getting a free week of data. Where did they mention that?

    ---posted from my G1---
     
  24. bonh

    bonh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008

    Oct 9, 2008
    42
    2
    36
    south florida
    i can understand

    but quite honestly it kills me that everyones like saying they got the update and im sitting here with RC19 still like waiting when I'm going to be next.. hopefully they fix this in the future or allow a manual download via pc and an application to update it for users who can..

    maybe even release a torrent for us :) no system overloading there :p
     
  25. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,202
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    1,202
    29
    118
    Android Scientists
    The Lab
    Tmobile is not very likely to change this policy. There is one more issue, Customer Service call center bandwidth. If they let you update or others update and something really was wrong, they now have a larger group of people calling with a messed up system. So the small batch releases work well for them in multiple situations.

    BTW - as you can see from this thread, in the case of this update you aren't missing much of anything. No one seems to be able to determine what has actually changed for the user. It is likely under the hood items.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...