1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

RC30 to RC29 (root) downgrade now!

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by devolio, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan

    Advertisement

  2. richy240

    richy240 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008

    Nov 1, 2008
    152
    2
    36
    Just whatever
    H-Town, sucka!
    Anyone try this yet? I used to NBH flash my Windows Mobile devices all the time. This bootloader looks JUST LIKE the bootloader on those devices. I guess it's all HTC, so...
     
  3. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    I'm going to try it soon, once my G1 is completely charged up. I'll let you all know. :D I've heard it's confirmed though, so not worried. :)
     
  4. Mi|enko

    Mi|enko Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008

    Nov 21, 2008
    45
    0
    15
    Just got done. RC30 OTA>RC29>Rooted>Installed JF's 1.3>Installed Engineering Bootloader>Installed JF's ADP1 1.3 (Frickin' hate the preinstalled TMo apps).

    Had me kinda freaked at first, but using the Android-dl wiki set me straight. :) All in all, this took a couple hours (between reading, understanding, and doing), so make sure you have some time and can do it all uninterrupted, so you don't have to worry about continuing where you left off.
     
  5. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Just got done as well, CONFIRMED :D you can even activate your phone without a sim or service.
     
  6. randel77

    randel77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008

    Dec 14, 2008
    137
    0
    35
    san diego
    When I had my htc wing I would try out custom roms all the time. I'm still wondering what the benifit of having root is. Aside from being able to move some cache data to the sd card is there any substantial reason to risk bricking my phone. Please let me know what I can gain from root.
     
  7. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Themes, boot screen, custom images, tons more functionality (auto-rotate, screenshots, etc). As long as your battery is charged and you don't do anything stupid, there's almost 0 risk.
     
  8. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Anyone familiar with xda-developers will be able to do this no problem, but I'm also writing up a full guide on going from OTA RC30 to a custom JF RC30 with dev bootloader.
     
  9. Loomis2

    Loomis2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008

    Nov 23, 2008
    55
    2
    16
    Good, I haven't tried anything like this before. I'm almost talking myself out of it at least until the cupcake update happens to see what gets included into that, cause if I brick my phone I won't know what to do with myself. A guide would at least be nice to have handy and maybe help sway my mind one way or the other.
     
  10. Mi|enko

    Mi|enko Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008

    Nov 21, 2008
    45
    0
    15
    I <3 XDA. :) On top of the ADP1 1.3 install and the dev bootloader, I just changed the splash screen. :-D Now all I need is for the themes that are made to be updated to allow install on ADP1 w/o causing an infinite reboot loop.

    I'm sure there are quite a few people that'll appreciate the walkthrough devolio. . . as today I'm sure there's been a huge surge of people wanting to "root" it up.
     
  11. lenny3683

    lenny3683 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008

    Oct 16, 2008
    16
    0
    15
    so what exactly does this do? Does it give us RC30 with root or what? Still unsure what is exactly going on here.:thinking:
     
  12. Mi|enko

    Mi|enko Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008

    Nov 21, 2008
    45
    0
    15
    Exactly. Downgrade to RC29, get root, then install JF's 1.3 RC30 (or ADP1). That'll give you root access as well. Additionally, you can also install the dev bootloader.
     
  13. JackD3ath

    JackD3ath Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008

    Dec 6, 2008
    18
    0
    35
    Carpenter
    Suckville
    I agree loomis, I am anxiously awaiting a link to devolio's tutorial.

    This is a great turn of events, but i knew it was only a matter of time. Thanx for all the hard work!
     

Share This Page

Loading...