1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Re Factory Data reset after upgrade to JB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by razrclive, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. razrclive

    razrclive Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    181
    14
    58
    Male
    Retired
    Slough UK
    I have just been upgraded to JB OTA and probably need to do a factory data reset as many recommend.
    My concern is whether I will lose all my contact details (phone number etc) and if so how to back them up and restore them afterwards. :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. djclemon

    djclemon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    230
    38
    53
    Male
    Michigan City, Indiana
    Yes a factory reset will erase all that, but as long as u have a Gmail account and have the phone set to sync with Gmail, it will all come back as soon as u sign back into ur gmail account!
     
    razrclive likes this.
  3. razrclive

    razrclive Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    181
    14
    58
    Male
    Retired
    Slough UK
    Can anyone tell me how to do the factory Data Reset on a Razr Maxx
     
  4. SteamStarter

    SteamStarter Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    91
    13
    18
    Male
    Exit 160, NJ
    System setting -> Privacy -> Facory data reset
     
    razrclive likes this.
  5. nightowl66

    nightowl66 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    145
    3
    36
    My phone was a little slow and laggy after update.I didn't want to do a FDR. So I did a live chat with Motorola just to see what they would say. They had me boot into recovery and wipe cache. I did that and everything seems to be faster and smoother.
     
  6. Ravenbrook

    Ravenbrook Member
    Rank:
     #408
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    86
    4
    26
    Female
    ᴡᴡᴡ.ravenbrook.18sexy.be
    How do you boot into Recovery Mode?
     
  7. djclemon

    djclemon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    230
    38
    53
    Male
    Michigan City, Indiana
    Turn the phone off....hold down the power and both volume buttons at the same time for a few seconds, a menu will appear....use the bottom volume button to scroll down to "recovery"....use the up volume button to select recovery....there will be a pause....when the android appears on the screen...push both volume buttons at the same time, another menu will appear...use the down volume button to scroll down to "clear cache partition"...use the power button to select it...it will format the cache...when its done....push the power button to restart the phone....and you're done.
     
    rogerstg, razrclive and kingnut like this.
  8. goldrush28

    goldrush28 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    129
    9
    36
    Male
    Connecticut
    I received upgrade around April 4-5th. Everything seems to be O.K.. What difference will I see if I do this? What might I lose by clearing cache? Should I leave well enough alone?
     
  9. Ssith

    Ssith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    264
    76
    53
    if you're not having problems and don't feel the need to "clean house' as it were, leave well enough alone. if you start having issues, start thinking about it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...