1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Re-flashing HA and AAA keys?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jimmy422, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. Jimmy422

    Jimmy422 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    177
    40
    43
    Male
    Learning from my last experience, I wrote down the HA and AAA keys in the event that they got wiped out. Well for some reason, when I flashed the stock firmware they got toasted. But luckily I have the keys...only one problem - I don't know how to write them. I tried "writing" instead of "reading" when following the guide to get the keys, but it doesn't seem to save.

    Does anyone know how to properly re-write these keys?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I wrote them to my unbricked phone last summer. Didn't have the AAA code wrote down back when I first bricked it in April of 2011, but everything else wrote using the same utility that you read the AAA code from. Just make sure you do everything that's necessary to get to that point.

    I'll have to try and see if I can remember what I did, but it wasn't hard?
     
  3. Jimmy422

    Jimmy422 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    177
    40
    43
    Male
    For whatever reason the DFS tool isn't re-writing the keys. Every time I go back and hit "read" after closing the program they don't show up, and I still don't have 3G service.

    I think I'm doing it right, so I don't get why it's not working.
     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Hang in there. My memory is still not there yet. Try and PM sammyz, or Phatninja. They should remember.
     
  5. Thewraith420

    Thewraith420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    318
    76
    53
    Did you remember to read once with lgpnst to unlock before opining dfs?
     
  6. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
  7. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    tli likes this.
  8. tli

    tli Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    263
    93
    53
    QPST reads and writes AAA registration keys? :thinking: It clearly displays the AAA Security Parameter Indexes (SPIs) in the profiles, but not the actual AAA itself? :thinking:
     
  9. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Where not looking to read them. Just write them to the phone. The OP already obtained the AAA code, but now needs to write them to the phone after zeroing them out.
    For further info on how to obtain the AAA code read the sticky.
     
  10. tli

    tli Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    263
    93
    53
    How? Where do you enter the AAA in QPST?

    [EDIT] NVM... found it. Learned something new, thanks! [/EDIT]
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  11. Jimmy422

    Jimmy422 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    177
    40
    43
    Male
    I had no luck. I finally got the keys to write but I must have wrote it down wrong (stupid me hand-wrote them down). I have no data still. And I know it's impossible to get the AAA keys back, so yeah :(
     
  12. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Keep trying to remember the code. I wrote mine down and double checked it. It seems to be a 19 digit alpha/numeric code. 19 digit doesn't make sense, but that's what I got wrote down.
     
  13. Thewraith420

    Thewraith420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    318
    76
    53
    19 digit... That sounds like the hex version..... If you forget to uncheck the hex box when reading it in dfs its what you see

    Edit: also if you did get the keys to stick try running the activate app on a froyo rom
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  14. Thewraith420

    Thewraith420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    318
    76
    53
    You know... Just a thought.... Lgnpst has to be used in order to read the aaa key anyway. We should start recommending people to backup the .nvs file created when lgnpst reads the phone. It contains the aaa key and all other nvitems and lgnpst can write them back to the phone easily
     
  15. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Where are those files stored? Compute-where or Phone-where?


    I wrote the HA and AAA codes down twice. There different from each other.

    Ah well.......I guess I'll have to install all the utility's again and run it one more time to make sure I got it right. I didn't really think that code was right. Good thing I have the stock ROM backed up.
    I needed to do it for the spare V anyway. Might as well kill two birds with one stone.
     
  16. Thewraith420

    Thewraith420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    318
    76
    53
    I'll have to reinstall the programs to be very specific but there's a subdirectory on the computer and it's just one file a .nvs with the com# in the name

    Edit:
    http://forums.androidcentral.com/showthread.php?t=193485

    This is where I found out about it. Up to step 5 deals with setup and saving the file

    Update: i zeroed my aaa by zv4 bin flash and had to restore both .nvs file and run qpst to restore my qcn file to get everything working again
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  17. Thewraith420

    Thewraith420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    318
    76
    53
    jimmy, you said you got the numbers you wrote to stick? did you ever happen to do a prl update with qpst? if you did. did you happen to make a qcn backup? try to restore that if you have it
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...