1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General RE: Gap on top of screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndroidFlip, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. AndroidFlip

    AndroidFlip Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Hey guys,

    sorry about being anal about this just curious if any of you guys are experiencing this too.

    i just got my thunderbolt and noticed there was a gap between the glass and casing, i could actually put my insert my receipt in the gap. do you guys see this too and will i get dust more easily? all the other phones my verizon had, had the same gap.

    pic with red square box showing area.

    thanks,

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. HTCThunderbolt

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,127
    194
    143
    Need one :(
    Concord NC
    Mine has this.. Not that big of a deal though. Dust shouldnt get under the screen though.. I have a screen protector on it and it covers it up though
     
    AndroidFlip likes this.
  3. AndroidFlip

    AndroidFlip Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    thanks i just want to make sure i am not the only one.
     
  4. rcpratt

    rcpratt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    54
    13
    18
    I have a "gap" big enough to fit a piece of paper in, yes.
     
  5. Feels Good Man

    Feels Good Man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    127
    34
    63
    gap crew, signing in
     
  6. lamoglinsgal

    lamoglinsgal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    1,044
    115
    143
    Virginia
    Top and bottom. :)
     
  7. nkd

    nkd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    333
    37
    43
    not a big deal. Let me state this carefully, my phone's gap seems to be tighter.
     
  8. Feels Good Man

    Feels Good Man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    127
    34
    63
    lol:D
     
  9. jr313

    jr313 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    194
    33
    63
    delivery man
    Detroit, MI
    :D tehehehe
     
  10. AndroidFlip

    AndroidFlip Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I just got a new TB due to freezing. I can tell you from looking at it right now, there is no gap. and even the bottom no gap.
     
  11. Strife21

    Strife21 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    59
    5
    16
    I had one bolt and then exchanged it for another due to another issue but both have a very small gap at the top.
     
  12. UCGoody1

    UCGoody1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    28
    1
    16
    The funny thing is I didn't notice until I read this thread when you originally posted it.

    I actually have a minor gap at the top, as well as the bottom.

    Since the current screen protector I have on (installed by vzw) isn't specifically for this model and is slightly smaller than the whole screen area, I currently have 2 layers of thin strips of scotch tape covering both the top and the bottom gaps.

    I'm hoping my Steinheil will fit perfectly and help fix or cure this problem.
    Plus I figure once I get a high quality case on the phone it may help as well..
     
  13. spm826

    spm826 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    25
    0
    15

    I can't imagine your screen is completely sealed, if this is the case i'd really like to have one without the bottom gap! i thought this was just the design, not a random placement... anyone else have a completely sealed screen?
     
  14. ISUVetMed

    ISUVetMed Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    62
    13
    18
    Engadget described this in their review, they said it was purely cosmetic. I had a TB with a bum screen and got it replaced. Both have had a gap at the top. I found the below info at the XDA forums credit to dossa002


    "One characteristic that we've noticed on a number of other phones in the past year that we miss here is the gapless display, a display so close to the glass that it appears to be on the surface of the phone itself (in fact, it's so cool that Sony Ericsson actively markets it as a feature of the Xperia Arc). Well, there's definitely a noticeable gap on the Thunderbolt, but it's a purely aesthetic complaint -- there's zero effect on capability or usability whatsoever -- it's just fun to hold your phone at an angle once in a while and say, "wow.""

    http://www.engadget.com/2011/03/18/h...erbolt-review/
     
  15. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Easy answer...dust will get in there no matter how tight its sealed...there are numerous ways for dust to creep in there...Top gap, bottom gap, earpiece speaker, usb charging port, etc! So dust is possible to any one of us down the line on this phone.
     
  16. Spearfisher3

    Spearfisher3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    37
    3
    16
    I keep my smartphones spotless. Had my Incredible since launch, basically, and it looks brand new. I slid it in and out of an Oakley sleeve every time I used it! :)

    I noticed today that I had dust particles under the screen of my T-bolt (top left corner; kept trying to clean the phone to no avail; probably 8-10 noticeable specs). Since I have the pink hue screen and some light leakage, I decided to call Verizon.

    They were quick to help and are sending another Bolt as I type.

    Upon receiving the phone Friday morning, I looked it over thoroughly. Dust getting into the gaps at the top and bottom of the screen were an immediate concern of mine. I figure if the dust is already that noticeable after a few days, it's bound to get worse. Been enjoying the phone, so I wanted to make sure I exchanged w/in my 14 day window.
     
  17. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

Share This Page

Loading...