1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Re-install Stock browser - so I can use search key

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BenUbben, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. BenUbben

    BenUbben Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    After I rooted phone I deleted apps I did not think I would use including the browser. I did not however think all the way through the process and of course now the search key does not work. I like using that key for work.

    Can someone help me re-install? I asume all I need is the apk file???

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    just apply your backup (you did make a backup didnt you) and you should be good
     
  3. BenUbben

    BenUbben Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Um I did a nandroid....I am pretty sure I did it after I removed the bloatware.
     
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    and this is why you do a nadroid BEFORE you make any changes other than rooting....
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    ^ I'm sure the OP realizes that now ;)

    OP - Yes, all you need is the apk file. Perhaps someone who is rooted can get it for you. I would, but I'm currently not rooted as being rooted did absolutely nothing for me.
     
  6. BenUbben

    BenUbben Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Yes I realize that. I am sure I am the first to ever make a mistake.

    If someone could help me with that apk file? I would appreciate it.

    Thanks Kelmar.
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Might be worth checking the xda forums.

    Worse comes to worse (might be a good choice), flash back to stock and start from scratch (making the nandroid backup).
     
  8. BenUbben

    BenUbben Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    if anyone else needs it:

    3.If I root my phone, can I go back to the original stock settings?
    a.Yes. In order to do this you need to download the RUU from here:
    Download: RUU_Hero_C_Sprint_1.56.651.2 signed release.exe Geek For Me – Android CDMA Sprint Hero. This is an application that you run on your computer. Make sure you phone is plugged into your computer and use this application to restore your phone back to factory settings.
     
  9. nexus8pt2

    nexus8pt2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I dropped my phone and now have this search key problem. The search key doesn't work in the browser. Is that weird that this is my only problem? I don't know what rooting a phone is and just want to reinstall the browser. Any suggestions?
     
  10. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Reinstalling the browser probably won't help you. Try rebooting your phone and see what happens.
     
  11. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    174
    10
    38
    Northern California
    I don't understand why you would need the stock browser. You should be able to use any browser from the market in exactly the same way.

    have you tried installing another browser like Dolphin?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...