1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Re: Keis Problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by murdok, May 5, 2011.

  1. murdok

    murdok Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi guys, just setting up a new phone, my first Android device

    Put a boatload of android apps on (using the thread on this site) but now struggling to get the bugger to connect and appear in the Samsung Keis.
    Rebooted comp and phone, updated firmware for phone, updated software to latest version, pop the micro USB and just says connecting and spinning icon.

    Running Win 7 and the phone appears in computer as a portable device fine, can access the phone using the older NPS Samsung software, but that's a seriously bad program so uinstalled straight away (slow, no auto sync, repeated crashing).

    Any ideas as to what I can do to get the device to appear in Keis?
    cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lol mahmood

    Lol mahmood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    Try taking the sim out first. Seemed to work on my Galaxy S when I had similar problems with Kies a few weeks ago. I was using a W7 laptop too.
     
  3. cuboid

    cuboid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Equipment Engineer at Seagate Technology
    Northern Ireland
    Hi, I had the same problem. I'm running the latest Kies software which I downloaded off the Samsung website and have major issues connecting my Galaxy S2. I found that if I let the screen lock it just wouldn't work. You have to keep it active while connected to the Kies software.

    I believe that you can keep it active by going into the options in the debug menu. I have not tried this yet.

    The problem i'm having is that Kies is telling me that there is a new Firmware upgrade available for the phone but I can't get it updated. It keeps saying not enough memory. How ever I have over 10GB of memory free on the phone and the update is only 3 GB.
     
  4. bonerp

    bonerp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,154
    136
    143
    Project Manager
    UK
    network kies works but the app is next to useless - can't seem to upload more than one file at a time and when i try it just repeatedly wants to install JAVA.

    Wired Kies is slow, painful to use and clunky. I'm also on WIN7.

    I just moved a load of files on my laptops file explorer by dragging and dropping.
     
  5. Irate

    Irate Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    103
    11
    38
    kies sucks and most of the altenatives suck aswell so the only thing you can do is drag and drop until a suitable alternative pops up
     
  6. Gibbyson

    Gibbyson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    197
    16
    38
    This sounds like a permissions issue, if it is trying to create or access files that already exist, but can't access, then it will error out and will think it can't write because it is out of memory. Just my take.
     
  7. Waleedq8

    Waleedq8 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    hi,

    this is a simple tutorial for kies found in samsung site, you may find it useful:

    Kies 2.0 Tutorial

    nevertheless, i still can not find Galaxy S2 kies in their site?!! any advise?
     

Share This Page

Loading...