1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Reached Dead End With Rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jedimanelas, Dec 18, 2012.

1. jedimanelas

jedimanelas Lurker

Hi All,

So... complete novice loves his HTC Desire but hates the internal memory issue and finally decides to take the plunge and attempt to root his phone.

And now after overcoming some hurdles I have hit a brick wall and can no longer use the phone at all - I'm hoping it's a simple issue I haven't found a solution to yet - sifting through the forums is hard work and a "20 minute process" has now taken me the good part of 4 hours. I am waving the white flag and hope someone with more experience can come to my aid.

1) Downloaded HTC Sync then uninstalled to obtain drivers
    2) Installed the HBoot drivers
    3) Ran UnrEVOked and received error 'backup CID is missing'
    4) Discovered 'downgrade froyo 2.2 to stock 2.1' may help
    5) Created GoldCard in accordance with requirements for downgrade
    5) Followed instructions and removed PB99IMG.zip file from SD Card
    6) Loaded up phone to receive 'SIM network unlock PIN' error message
    7) Found HTC Desire Unlock on xda forums - downloaded and attempted to run but could not identify phone. Took out sim so I could get into phone and re-activate USB-debugging which had been reset by downgrade.
    8) Now no error message - command prompt just starts up and sits there.

I think that's everything... I really didn't expect it to be so difficult and now I can't use the phone at all. Because I never got it rooted I haven't made my first backup file to restore to previous settings. If this isn't going to work can I restore to it's original settings with an RUU?