1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Reboot by typing Reboot

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by SirFenwick, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008

    Oct 12, 2008
    99
    1
    16
    If you have 29 and under you can reboot your system by typing reboot from your home screen and press enter.

    It'll try to find someone in your contacts but if you just type it in and then press enter it'll reboot your system.
     

    Advertisement

  2. indubitably

    indubitably Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008

    Oct 22, 2008
    12
    0
    15
    thats a cool trick, doesn't work with RC30?
     
  3. OrganizedFellow

    OrganizedFellow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008

    Aug 18, 2008
    130
    0
    35
    Tried under RC30 - does NOT work.

    Too bad I didn't read this last night when I was RC29!
     
  4. drustvold

    drustvold Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008

    Oct 24, 2008
    236
    6
    36
    Huh, neat. Makes me wonder what other system commands that were usable from the home screen.

    Though that would be a very bad thing to let other programs have acsess to, no wonder they turned it off.
     
  5. C-Rex

    C-Rex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    0
    5
    hmm, kinda liked the reboot trick, but this is huge security flaw yah?

    Malicious programs could basically pass ANY commands they wanted? Can anyone elaborate on the potential problems?
     
  6. brunner

    brunner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    4
    0
    5
    I'm still on RC29, but this does NOT work for me. Nor am I able to start telnetd.

    Does anyone have any idea why?

    I am a systems administrator, and so I would love to have root access on my device.
     
  7. brunner

    brunner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    4
    0
    5
    Never mind. Once I rebooted, it worked fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...