1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support rebooting issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by markbehr, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    Is there a reason why everytime i exit an app or my mail the htc logo shows up and my phone decides to reboot it self?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    It doesn't reboot, it's reloading Sense, isn't it?

    My Sensation does this ... and other's does it too, as I heard.
    Rebooting the phone helps for a few days.

    I hope for the next HTC update ...

    Harry
     
  3. lucas.childers

    lucas.childers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    250
    41
    43
    Its when your phone had low RAM. Its pretty much rebooting.

    Do this at least once a week:
    Turn it off, take out the battery and put it back in.

    Lucas
     
  4. markbehr

    markbehr Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    266
    17
    38
    Male
    Baltimore, MD
    ok thanks, ill give it a try.
     
  5. deez1977

    deez1977 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    Memphis TN
    Do you have a task killer running? This is a common culprit....in fact, sometimes killing other processes (not necessarily sense) can cause a sense restart.

    To Lucas's point, the Android os will stop processes if you're running a lot of programs and run short on RAM.

    On a semi-related subject, have you tried any of the 3rd party launchers (e.g. ADW launcher, Launcher Pro, etc)? Aside from making the sense restart issue moot, they have some nice customization features (e.g. resize widgets, increase the number of homescreens, increase number of rows/columns per home screen, etc)
     
  6. pkincy

    pkincy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    Whatever is causing it, it is friggin annoying.

    Worst phone I have ever had.
     
  7. Jamesgreenie

    Jamesgreenie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Oxford
    Do you think htc will fix this problem?
     
  8. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    Yes, I think :)
    As I heard Sense 3.6 / 4.0 is downsized.

    Harry
     
  9. Jamesgreenie

    Jamesgreenie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Oxford
    Thanks, thats good cos iv got a htc sensation with serious rebooting/restarting issues and hopefully it will either be sorted out in the android 4 update ore the htc sense update.
     
  10. shim

    shim Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Only issue I have is my home screen likes to reload when exiting app's
     
  11. shim

    shim Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Jamesgreenie, do you do alot of web surfing on ur phone????

    Some ppl dont empty out the cache or delete browsing history, which can slow the phone down so I heard
     
  12. Jamesgreenie

    Jamesgreenie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Oxford
    Not really, doesn't htc sensation have a lot of memory and ram anyway?
     
  13. jdossey99

    jdossey99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have the rebooting problem also. I see references to newer versions of SENSE and Android. How and where can I even find those. I dont even know how to find which version of sense I have.
     

Share This Page

Loading...