1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support "Recent Apps" popup - how to disable it

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pglenn, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. pglenn

    pglenn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    47
    2
    16
    patsrants.com
    I find the "Recent Apps" popup annoying, especially as it keeps coming up and I dont know what I am doing or pressing to make it appear (and I really dont want to know). I just want to disable it so it never appears. how can I disable it?

    Patrick
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    It's been a while since I was stock, and I know you said you don't want to know why it pops up but, you may be inadvertently long pressing the "home" button.
    There, I said it,:p :D There may me a setting that configures the home button behavior. I just cant remember if there is.
    I assume you are on the stock launcher?
     
  3. pglenn

    pglenn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    47
    2
    16
    patsrants.com
    all stock...
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    when you get the popup, are you on one of the home screens, or in an app, or texting or what are you doing at that time.
     
  5. pglenn

    pglenn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    47
    2
    16
    patsrants.com
    always on one of the home screens.
     
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    The only way I know of that the recent apps are coming up, is you are somehow long pressing the home key.
    If you are not, then I would think there is a home key button issue.
     
  7. pglenn

    pglenn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    47
    2
    16
    patsrants.com
    well that may/may not be true (probably is) but like I said I dont care how it happens, obviously i am doing it by accident by just picking up the phone or holding the phone. I just want to know if there is a way to de-activate it
     
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Without being rooted, I don't believe so, no. Now I am 95% sure about that.
    Someone may know something I dont, like I said, it's been so long since I was stock:p
     
  9. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
    I "think" Mike is right. I don't think you can disable that in the stock launcher. You could change launchers and customize how that button works but in the stock launcher I don't think that can be disabled. Like Mike, I am about 95% certain unless someone knows better. :D
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  10. pglenn

    pglenn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    47
    2
    16
    patsrants.com
    if so... then without rooting how do I change launchers? and what launcher to use to prevent this action?
     
  11. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
    You can change launchers without rooting. I used Go Launcher even before I rooted. It's very customizable and you can download it free from the Play Store. ADW and Launcher Pro have free versions as well. There are several launchers to choose from and most are free.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Yes, lots of free launchers to use. I also use GoLauncherPro and it very customizable.
    Currently, I use TSF Launcher, not free, but I know there is an option to assign differerent actions to all the buttons, including the home button:D
     
  13. pglenn

    pglenn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    47
    2
    16
    patsrants.com
    so I can use GoLauncher and it will allow me to get rid of the action that brings up the Recent Apps? as well as whatever actions bring up the complete App List and the one that brings up the "circle of home screens" as I call it... (yes I know I am accidently pressinng or long pressing on some key but I DONT CARE what causes it I just want it to STOP - my hands and fingers are just too big for this annoying actions. these DIDNT occur on my samsung S2)
     
  14. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,691
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,691
    22,248
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    I don't remember if Go Launcher had the option of re-assigning tasks to the bottom row buttons or not. I know I said I used it, but never looked into it.
    Try it, you can always go back to your stock launcher.:)
     
  15. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,805
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,805
    1,841
    693
    Male
    USA
    Yes, Go Launcher gives you the option to change the "Home" key's function.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  16. rtnm

    rtnm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017

    Jan 11, 2017
    2
    0
    15
    I had some randomly appearing grey "Recent Apps" popup on grey background (not the standard recent apps carousel after pressing the Home button). That grey pop up turned out to be an adware/malware (also showing full-screen ads). Removed it with ESET antivirus.
     
  17. roalush

    roalush Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017

    Jan 13, 2017
    5
    1
    6
    Male
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Go to:
    Setting
    Apps
    Find My Apps
    Hit uninstall
     
  18. rtnm

    rtnm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017

    Jan 11, 2017
    2
    0
    15
    By now it's removed by ESET, so I cannot 100% confirm, but if my memory serves me right, "My Apps" was not to be found in the Settings->Apps list.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...