1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Recommend Kernel?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ashapopalis, May 6, 2012.

  1. Ashapopalis

    Ashapopalis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 5, 2012

    May 5, 2012
    5
    0
    25
    Colorado
    Ok so I am getting ready to root my Evo and since I'm an utter noobie at this I decided I would upload everything to the comp I needed yesterday (so I could avoid trying to figure out which stuff I want to middle of all the whole step by step process and then knowing me mess up my whole steps and ju ju and yah...lol) One thing I was wondering is out of the Kernels list which kernel do yall fellow evo'ers recommend. I remember reading something about if you have a question you rather a new thread then adding it to another so figured I'd just do this... loo forward to hearing the responses. Thanks\:p
     

    Advertisement

  2. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Unfortunately there is no real answer to your question with Kernels its is a YRMV issue. Most would probably recommend Anthrax or the FREEDOM KERNELS. For Sense ROMS

    For AOSP you will want Tiamat

    With KERNELS you need to give them a few days to adjust to determine how well / not well they are going to do.
     
    frenchy714 and ocnbrze like this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well with kernels it is always YRMV. so it will depend on what your phone likes. what works for you may not work for me. but i would try out the freedom kernel and start with the aggressive universal kernel for it (as there are different versions of it). but there are now different kernels that came out with sbc (superior battery charge, it is a trickle charge)like the underworld and the mason kernels.

    best thing to do once you are rooted is to make a nandroid backup and try them out. always give the kernel that you are trying out is to give it a few days before you decide to move so that the kernel has time to settle in.

    also make sure that your kernel matches with whatever rom you are on. gingerbread sense kernels go with gingerbread sense roms. and the same goes for froyo roms. aosp kernels go with aosp roms. do not mix and match as you will most likely have something broken due to having the wrong kernel.
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    And I don't want to confuse you even more, but if you are using a sense-ROM based on the newest OTA (4.67) you will need to flash a compatible kernel (underworld is the only one I know of right now) other wise your front facing camera will be upside down.



    Honestly, a kernel can be flashed at any point. I would worry about getting yourself rooted and choosing a custom ROM. Once you have that part done just tell us what ROM you are on and we can tell you what kernels work for it and which ones we recommend.
     
    frenchy714 likes this.
  5. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Disagree on tiamat now. Mason is king. Tiamat had a great run though.

    For sense I am using underworld. For some reason it has seemed choppy for me on mikg but its running great on classic 0.0.9 supermagic preview.
     
  6. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    yeah I forgot that there was a new Kernel out for AOSP. I haven't run AOSP in a while. I have to say though for you to tell me that mason is better then I think we can edge that in stone.;)
     
    MizzouBrent, Rxpert83 and frenchy714 like this.
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Hes in active development of a sense mason kernel, so you'll be able to get a taste of it ;)
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  8. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    I have a kernel question as well. I rooted and am using Mik 3.0, however, I've noticed that ever since I rooted my cell signal is crap and the data upload/download gets stuck quite often and I have to restart the phone to get it unstuck. Do you think this is a kernel issue? A friend of mine suggested he thought I needed a new kernel. If so, what do you recommend?
     
  9. bigbear6708

    bigbear6708 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    470
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    470
    224
    68
    could be a kernel issue...I was running only Mikg for a while as I just couldnt let go of my Sense based ROM, but I saw the lag you are referring to...I have switched to CM7 and LOVE LOVE LOVE it..no lag, fast phone, great battery
     
    Renee1228 likes this.
  10. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Forgive the dumb question, but is CM7 a kernel that you use with Mik, or did you switch to a whole different ROM? Yes, the battery issues are also really bad lately, but the lag and no signal are much worse.

    Thanks!
     
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Cm7 is a Rom. I would suggest the anthrax kernel for mikg.

    Rooted roms show your true cell signal. The sprint rom kind of lies to make the network look better.
    Also look into updating your radio for signal issues
     
    Renee1228 likes this.
  12. bigbear6708

    bigbear6708 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    470
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    470
    224
    68

    yeah...case in point, where I work Sprint would show 3G...but I am actually roaming!!!!
     
  13. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Do I have to install the radio myself? I'm confused. I thought I only needed a Rom and Kernel. I tried to find it at XDA but honestly, I don't speak the language so it's all too confusing.

    I am fine with a ROM showing me the true signal. My problem is that if my phone ever goes into roaming mode, it won't come out of it. I have to reboot in order to get a 3G signal again.

    Are you saying I can keep Mikg, but download Anthrax? Or should I just go with a different ROM all together? Do I need the radio thing if I get a new kernel? I really just don't understand how all the pieces fit so I don't know what I'm supposed to do. Thanks for your help!
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Keep mikg, you download and install anthrax by wiping dalvik cache, cache, and flashing the zip.

    Upgrading radios carries a risk. If the battery comes out or dies while flashing a radio... that's a sure fire way to brick the device. Theres usually little difference with upgrading radios, so I wouldn't recommend it unless your comfortable.
     
  15. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ok, definitely not comfortable, so I'll stay away from that. Thanks for your help!
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  16. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    + 1 to the anthrax kernel. I'm running it right now.
     
    argedion and Rxpert83 like this.
  17. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    First let me commend you on knowing your level of comfort. The big thing about flashing a radio is making sure you have plenty of battery power and don't mess with the phone let it do its thing. Have you updated your PRL / PROFILE?
    menubutton>settings>System Updates>PRL/PROFILE

    Radio's can improve your signal quality however I have never heard of anyone getting a better signal from updating the radio's. Not to say there are not those who haven't but usually most people have stated they have seen no difference. If your signal is really bad at home but decent at other places then you can ask sprint to send you the airave. Its like having a tower in the house. I love mine. Only drawback is you have to have an always on Internet Connection (DSL or CABLE) but it works great for both phone signal and 3G signal. I mostly use WIFI at home but every now and then I am on the 3g.

    IF determined you need updated radio's you should be able to go to the local sprint store and have their tech do it for you. This way if it screws up they did it so they have to fix it.

    I would stick with RXperts recommendation and run Anthrax on the MikG. Just make sure you wipe cache and dalvic before flashing and also give it a few days to settle in.

    If at anytime you have a question please feel free to come ask. We don't expect everyone to be Techs and we dont fuss cause you didn't search. We are here to help and are always glad to do so.
     
    Renee1228 and Rxpert83 like this.
  18. biker57

    biker57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    452
    601
    148
    Male
    Spend others money all day long
    Covington, Ga
    Maybe I've missed it or there may not be one, but I was wondering is there a thread or site that gives the best Kernel for each ROM.
     
  19. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Its not the best kernel for the ROM, its an interplay of ROM/Kernel/your individual phone.

    Some phones just dont like some roms or some kernels and they just plain dont work as expected.


    For the majority..... Anthrax, lithids freedom line, or underworld for Sense

    Tiamat or Mason for AOSP
     
    MizzouBrent likes this.
  20. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    The Big issues with this are that YRMV is a major factor Sure we can say that Running Nitrous 147 is best with Anthrax kernel and I get crazy battery life and awesome signal

    So you install the setup and experience that the battery dies even quicker you have major lag and it reboots often.

    There are a lot of variables that we have to look at as to why the big difference.
    1. Internal Environment. What widgets, tickers, how fast does the email check it self, how frequent does facebook, the frequencies of other programs that get updated information. All these play a major roll in your experience.
    2. External Environment. How close / far are you from the towers? Does your travels take you in and out of Service Area's, Is it Rainy, Cloudy, or is the Sun Shining? What other interferences do you have (Airports, Hospitals, Government Facilities) All these can affect your radio's and their signals. Are you on Mobil Network most of the time or WIFI. WIFI uses less battery power.

    So why in theory having a page of what works great with what is a good idea the harsh reality of it is that its not very practical. Please also understand that my list is by no way complete there are many other factors and issues that have to be accounted for as well.
     
  21. biker57

    biker57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    452
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    452
    601
    148
    Male
    Spend others money all day long
    Covington, Ga
    It's interesting how many varibals go into how a Kernel performs. I'm still running the stock one with Mik 3.11 that I flashed serveral weeks ago when I finally rooted. The biggest benefit I might be looking for is better battery life and will the difference be that noticeable between some kernel/rom combinations.

    When I find time in the next week or so I think I'll try the 4 Korner rom. Any ideas how the stock kernel might perform with that or ideas for a different one.
     
  22. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yes, there is the possiblility of a noticible difference in battery life (especially with sbc charging), as well as a noticible difference in performance between kernels.

    Give them a few days before passing judgement as they need time to settle in.
     
    frenchy714 likes this.
  23. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Can you give me (or link to) instruction on wiping cache and dalvic?

    I didn't think Sprint would help you if you rooted your phone?

    I use WIFI at home, so I never have issues there, plus I mostely use my Galaxy Tab at home, but I live in a decent metropolitan area and cannot get 4G at all and the 3G (in the past couple of months) has gotten very spotty.

    I checked all the updates yesterday and each said no new updates. I had calculus last night so couldn't get started with the new kernel, but I'm hoping to do it tonight. Thanks again for all your help!
     
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    power off the phone then press and hold power+vol down. this will take you to the bootloader. in the bootloader menu select recovery. it will depend on which recovery you have, but if you have amon ra 2.3 (which is the one i highly recommend) it will be under the wipe selection. if you have clockwork mod (make sure to always wipe at least 3x as this recovery does not wipe well IMO) dalvik cache is found under advanced and wipe cache partition is found on the main menu.

    and here is some reading for you:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html
    just go to the after root section. it has a ton of info on things you should know like how to flash kernels and switching recoveries.

    also a little info on kernels as well:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/389360-kernels-dummies.html
     
    frenchy714, Rxpert83 and Renee1228 like this.
  25. 2strokenut

    2strokenut Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    206
    34
    43
    I tries the mason kernel with decks 1.3d and it seemed a bit more fluid when scrolling but I had reboots when using Google maps, which I can't have using my phone for work. Tiamat 3.3.7 sbc is still flawless for me except for lag every once in a while
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...