1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Recommended steps to transfer data from one Android handheld to the 4G LTE

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by UNSCleric, May 10, 2012.

  1. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It doesn't actually come with an SD card in it. You will place the EVO's SD card there for extra storage.


    As far as data, that will not be transferred by placing in the SD card.

    What sort of data were you trying to save?
     

    Advertisement

    vailpass and EarlyMon like this.
  2. vailpass

    vailpass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    217
    76
    73
    Gettin' My Mind Right
    Hey rxpert,
    Good to see you over here, you've helped me a few times on the EVO4G All Things Root page.
    Yeah, I discovered there is no sd card on the LTE, n00b=me:eek:

    Question: I have her sd card mounted now. Any idea how I can launch the apps now? I can see the pictures but no apps. Do I need to dl golauncher?
     
  3. ws6dom

    ws6dom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    83
    11
    18
    Question Once the sd card is in are the new pics automatically saved to it.. Thanks
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It will ask you whether or not that is where you want to store them.

    I don't think you can move app data from phone to phone. I went ahead and just started all over. All purchased apps will still be available to be downloaded from the market, and all her contacts should have been sync'd to google.

    (in other words, if her card was partitioned I don't think theres any way to use the apps on the partition)
     
    vailpass likes this.
  5. vailpass

    vailpass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    217
    76
    73
    Gettin' My Mind Right
    Oh, didn't know that. She wanted to bring her progress on Where's My Water, etc. with her. App data doesn't move with the card?
    Her Evo is stock, no partitioning of her card.
     
  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It may be able to be done, but the LTEVO uses the internal card as its SD card by default. So moving the folder into the internal card might work. :thinking:
     
  7. vailpass

    vailpass Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    217
    76
    73
    Gettin' My Mind Right
    Thanks Rx.
     
  8. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    424
    58
    53
    I put my EVO SD card into my new LTE. How do I format the card? I have a lot of stuff on there from the EVO that I dont need.
     
  9. KenjiSpencer

    KenjiSpencer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    78
    24
    28
    I think you press Settings->Storage->Unmount storage card->Erase storage card
     
    i.have.droid likes this.
  10. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    424
    58
    53
    Yes that did it..thanks!
     
  11. deep3mixdiver

    deep3mixdiver Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Any help on moving all SMS & MMS from EVO to EVO LTE?
     
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    SMS Backup + is the closest for just that, but it has MMS limitations.

    MyBackup Pro will handle all of it.
     
    deep3mixdiver likes this.
  13. cmruff

    cmruff Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012

    Aug 27, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I'm still using my HTC EVO 2 years and some months after getting it. I'd love to get an HTC EVO LTE and I have waited to see how users are doing with the nonchangeable battery. I put an extended battery into my EVO.
    Costco has a pretty decent price right now (129.95, waives the new device activation fee) but I don't know how to move my data from the old phone to the new one! By data, I'd want to move contacts, pictures, texts and apps. Is this possible?
    I have Lookout Premium and have emailed them to ask if I could restore to the new phone from the data they've backed up. Has anyone done this?
    Will Sprint transfer data if I don't buy the phone from them? When data is transferred, do my apps get transferred as well or do I have to just load new ones from Play store myself?
    I haven't rooted this phone and won't root the next one because I don't know how and I'm afraid I'll break it.

    I apologize for all of the questions. I am hoping someone else has already switched and can tell me how it was done.

    Thanks!!
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Contacts are going to be automatically backed up to google.

    If you want to backup call list and texts there are apps that enable you do do so.

    Your apps will automatically re-install from the play store as well when you sign in.

    I myself prefer the clean start. :D
     
    PattiCakeUS likes this.
  15. KENNECTED

    KENNECTED Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    I went from the original EVO to the EVO $G LTE a month ago. The phones are a world of difference. ICS, Sense 4.0 and a much better camera make this a new phone.

    The battery isn't an issue. Check the Battery thread in this very forum for more detailed discussion. I haven't had one issue with my battery since I got the phone. Compared to losing 50% of my battery power in 4 hours when using the original EVO 4G. The battery is amazing.

    In regard to "data" you contacts should move automatically, you are saving contacts to your Google account, not your phone memory, correct? You can look in the forum or the Google Play store for "backup" apps.

    If you "bought" an app from the Google play store, it will be listed in your Google account and you'll need to download again to the new phone if you do not use a back up app.
     
    PattiCakeUS and Rxpert83 like this.
  16. CBRRider

    CBRRider Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    63
    49
    43
    Electrical and Computer Engineer
    Canton, MI
    Wife went from EVO 4G to EVO 4G LTE and loves it. She loved her OG EVO but doesn't miss it compared to the EVO LTE.

    But as stated above, your contacts are saved in your Gmail and just download My Backup Pro to backup your apps, texts, MMS, etc. Pictures are saved to your SD card so no need to back those up though.
     
    PattiCakeUS likes this.
  17. rcubed3r

    rcubed3r Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    50
    22
    18
    Salisbury, NC
    I am having some issues that I think are related to my memory card. How can I swap this one out with another and not lose anything? Just copy the contents to another one?

    Thanx,
    Ron
     
  18. alpha0990

    alpha0990 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    550
    62
    78
    I would hook up to my computer and copy all the folders on the sd card to a folder on the computer. After putting the new card in, I would copy the folders to the card.
     
    rcubed3r likes this.
  19. rcubed3r

    rcubed3r Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    50
    22
    18
    Salisbury, NC
    Yup, that's what I am doing. Almost finished. My original card did not pop up on the PC like the other card did. Maybe that's the problem!
     
  20. alpha0990

    alpha0990 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    550
    62
    78
    I've never had a new card myself, suppose it has to be formatted like after creating a new partition on a computer' s hard drive.
     
  21. myea_one

    myea_one Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    126
    54
    53
    NY
    Hey just got a new 32g sd card. i backed up my original 8g sd card using this method : back up sd card using mini sdk


    I was wondering if there is a post on instructions on how to load all the old sd contents onto the new sd card??
     
  22. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Did you have a problem accessing the SD card from the computer?

    The easiest way is just to put the old SD card that you want to backup in the phone, connect it to your computer, select the folders you want to backup, and then drag them to your desktop. Then you pop in the new SD card and Drag them back over
     
    myea_one likes this.
  23. myea_one

    myea_one Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    126
    54
    53
    NY
    no problem. i used to do it the way you described, copy and paste. but i saw a sticky on using mini sdk and figured id try that and it backed it up beautifully. was just wondering if there was another method other than copy and paste.
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The backup is done with adb pull, you can reverse the process with adb push.

    Would you like me to post instructions for that in that thread?
     
    Granite1, Rxpert83 and myea_one like this.
  25. myea_one

    myea_one Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    126
    54
    53
    NY
    yess!!thanks!!!:d:d:d:d

    let me know when its up...thanks again...
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...