1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Recover /hidden and /hidden/data

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by b_randon14, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    On this phone, the vm added apps are located under the /hidden/data partition under /hidden/data/CDA/apk. Also in the /hidden/data partition is the shutdown and boot ani's, and some other files. In the process of trying to create a stock ROM that would restore both the /hidden and /hidden/data partition, I seem to have messed mine all up to where whenever I try to copy my self made .tar backup of the /hidden/data parition to /hidden/data, everything copies fine but all the files are blank(won't open) and the .apks say there is a parsing error and can't open them. Now the bootanimation does not play when I boot up nor does the shutdown animation. Just wanted to see if any experienced devs had any insight they could give me on how to restore the /hidden and /hidden/data paritions!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    try going back to stock and factory reset... also, try just moving the folder into the phone via root explorer (i dont know if thats what you meant above or not) :D
     
    b_randon14 likes this.
  3. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Nah that doesn't work. Factory reset only wipes /data and /cache. And everytime I copy the files over using root explorer or a update.zip, it acts like the files are corrupted. Like I have all the files in there and the permission are set correctly, and the partitions are mounted like they should be, but for some reason it won't open any files from it, like the apks say there is a parsing error, and the .sh scripts show up as blank when you open them, and the startup sound won't play right.
     
  4. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    I got it working. Ended up I had my update script set permissions on the /hidden partition and apparently it didn't likethat! I need a tar file of stuff on the hidden partition. If you dontcare could you do this for me. In the terminal run umount /hidden/data and then use toot explorer and navigate to the hidden partition and make a tar file of the data folder under /hidden. After that go back to the emulator and run mount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk0p9 /hidden/data and that will remount your /hidden/data partition! Just send me the tar if you don't care to!
     
  5. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    hey here you go.... hidden.tar its all stock except for boot sound and shutdown animation. (if you want the stock sounds and anim just say so) oh and i couldnt get that shut down anim to work! can you tell me why?
     
    jdt265 likes this.
  6. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Im not real sure I haven't messed with the shutdown ani yet. I had a time getting my /hidden partition back to working. But i'll look into it for sure!
     
  7. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    yea i saw a thumbs.db file in the shutdown (if that does anything) and it wouldnt open up. so i dont know if i have to edit anything. i just renamed the picture to what the stock said and hoped it would play, but it didnt! LOL :D
     
  8. kcnjenny

    kcnjenny Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Can someone please post the stock start up and shutdown animations/sounds? I have done everything I can think of but I just can"t get my phone to produce a shutdown animation. Now all it does it just say "shutting down"... no sound or animation. I can't seem to find where I saved all my original backups of everything....grrrr..... thx to whoever can help me out...
     
  9. mantera

    mantera Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,319
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,319
    1,587
    313
    Check in b_randon's post here--he mentions something about restoring the hidden folder in his ROMs:

    http://androidforums.com/triumph-al...dex-roms-triumph-wi-fi-works.html#post3201169
     
    jdt265 and kcnjenny like this.
  10. kcnjenny

    kcnjenny Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you VERY much for the link!!! Worked like a charm...everything back to "stock"... I have been trying roms and restores for days now off and on... this worked first shot! Thanks again mantera for taking the time to point me in the right direction!!!!
     
  11. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Yeah to get a shutdown animation to work they have to be named just like the original ones and it will only play up to 12 images. I hit a custom shutdown animation on my phone at the moment!
     
  12. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    is there any way we can get it to play more than 12?
     
  13. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    I haven't figured it out yet! I had like 30 images in there and it only played the first 12.
     
  14. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    i put 60 and it played none! :thinking: is the "thumpbs.db" a file that controls the shutdown animation? cause even if i name the images to what they are supposed to be they dont play.......
     
  15. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Nah mine didnt have a thumbs.db in it. Also what are the permissions on the images. It needs to at least have read a nd write permission i believe
     
  16. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    When I was messing with the stock shutdown animation and working on my own I could not find any way to get more than 12 to show. I looked all over the place and couldn't find any solution (I was under the impression that 2.2 wouldn't allow more than that, but I might be mistaken). If you do find a solution let me know because 12 images do not last very long.
     
  17. thangfish

    thangfish Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    1,311
    352
    163
    Thumbs.db was left in there by widows and should not be there.
     
  18. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    @ b_randon

    what controls the shutdown animation? what file? if we found it could we modify it to use more images?
     
  19. b_randon14

    b_randon14 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    910
    628
    163
    Pizza Delivery Driver
    Somerset, KY
    Yea in theory we could but I believe it is probably in the framework somewhere in a smali file. I wouldn't no where to begin. That's why I just made a simple shutdown!
     
  20. ziggy46

    ziggy46 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,688
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    1,688
    612
    213
    Being a pain in the a$$! LOL
    Chambersburg, Pa
    cool... you remember that animation i said i couldnt get to work? is there anyway i could condense it from 60 images to 12? and it still look good...
     
  21. Chingling

    Chingling Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    439
    90
    53
    Nerd
    Antarctica
    I have successfully gotten a shutdown animation working but when i tried replacing the startup anim zip with another bootanimation.zip and it did not work. So since I made a backup of the original anim, I restored that backup, but now there is no startup animation at all. I also noticed that it only plays a limited amount of shutdown pics, like b_randon said.
     
  22. hi5five

    hi5five Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    68
    8
    36
    Let me know how to get more then 12 to work I tried about every edit I could think of but the 12 same name remains. It ok I got my shutdown to look ok off the magic 12.
     

Share This Page

Loading...