1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [RECOVERY] Amon Ra v3.11 (1/3/12)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nolimit06, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    Looks like there is a update to everyone's favorite recovery. Here is a link to the original thread at XDA and a link to the v3.11 file. Enjoy!

    Amon Ra Style Recovery for Supersonic - xda-developers

    Amon Ra v3.11 <--- Download Here

    1.download the file.
    2.rename the file so that it is only named PC36IMG. make sure not to add ".zip" to the name as windows hides extensions.
    3.transfer the file to the root (that means not in any folder) of the sd card.
    4.power off (you most likely need to uncheck fastboot. settings/apps/uncheck fastboot.) then press and hold power+vol down.
    5.hboot should see the file and select yes to update.
    6.select no to reboot because we want to go into recovery and make a nandroid backup.
    7.select recovery.
    8.select backup and restore and select backup
    9. select the first three and wimax. the other partitions do not need to be backed up. always keep one nandroid backup with wimax keys backed up on your computer.
    10.now you can reboot.
    11.using a file manager of some sort or even through your computer via usb, you should rename or delete the PC36IMG file on your card. otherwise you will be asked to update every time you go to the hboot screen. you do not need that file any more.
    (From: http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html)


    Enjoy!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Raekwon

    Raekwon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    193
    39
    53
    Male
    US
    When changing recoveries is it just download and flash over the old one? Or do you somehow get rid of the old one first? what is the procedure here? Never changed recoveries before.
     
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it just replace the previous one and it is not flashed in recovery. this one is done in hboot. use the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html and go to the switching recoveries section for directions.
     
    youdoofus and nolimit06 like this.
  4. nolimit06

    nolimit06 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011

    I have added directions to the OP ;)
     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    It's hard to add directions for different setups but if your sdcard is partitioned, then checking sd-ext is a must.

    But when I make a nandroid, I check everything anyways but that's me and a few others.


    It's nice having the compressed backup now with 3.11.

    Thanks for the write-up:D
     
    RCope48 and Xtremedays like this.
  6. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    WOW, it took forever to make a compressed Nandroid, but its about 200MB smaller than my others!:D
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    That's the nice thing about the compressed backup, less storage room :D
     
    RCope48 likes this.
  8. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I haven't made any compressed nands with this recovery yet. I'll have to give it a try.

    @ Andy, have you restored any compressed nandroids yet?
    Just curious if there are any bugs with the nand compression.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  9. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Nope I haven't made or restored a nandroid, as of yet. It's about time for roms to be updated, so I'm sure I will be nandroiding soon:p



    Anyone else?
     
  10. AndroidSerpent

    AndroidSerpent Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    111
    39
    63
    I know I might be asking for too much but is there a way to switch the color of the font? Just wondering...
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Not that I know of
     
  12. LumpyLouis

    LumpyLouis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    33
    9
    16
    ooh its blue now!
     
  13. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I did a compressed backup last night and wow, it took a long time:eek: So make sure you have a good charge before doing or plug the phone into the charger and charge while doing the compressed backup.

    It was about 200mb difference for me 700mb regular backup, 500 compressed;)
     
    Granite1, dustwun77 and ocnbrze like this.
  14. AndroidSerpent

    AndroidSerpent Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    111
    39
    63
    Darn... Thanks for your response though, greatly appreciate it. :)
     
  15. jo1020

    jo1020 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    31
    11
    38
    NY
    ok I am trying to put Amon Ra v3.11 on my phone. I have an older version. As of today my computer does not recognize the phone. I have re install HTC drivers. I am rooted, never had a problem until today.
    The only thing that is different on my computer is that I am using kaspersky internet suite. I did disable Kaspersky and tried but no go.
    Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I also do not have a card reader on this laptop.
    Thanks
    Jo




    Sorry if this was a double post.
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    is your sd card mounted on your phone? does it charge when the usb is plugged? do you have another cable you can try?

    you can always use dropbox to get files onto your phone.
     
    jo1020 and MizzouBrent like this.
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Or you can download the file directly to your phone.

    I've been rooted for a 1 1/2 years and I believe I've transfered 2 roms to my phone. There shouldn't be any reason to hook up the phone to the computer, but that's just me
     
    jo1020 likes this.
  18. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    I have just updated to the 3.11 version. I am currently (like just started) doing a compressed nandroid backup. I plan on doing a restore with it as to be able to give Granite and others some insight of how it restores. Not sure of how long all this will take but I'll keep y'all posted.
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  19. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    My 2 compressed restores worked as they should. No troubles here :)
     
    Granite1 and argedion like this.
  20. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Size difference

    Uncompressed 731.69 (boot,system,data,ext)
    Compressed 486.77 (boot,system,data,ext)
    Both nandroids were done this morning.

    Andy has stated "for the record" that both of his compressed nandroids have restored with no issue. Thanks Andy for that heads up.

    I am Now Preparing to do a restore on mine. Lets see if my results are the same. No reason to think they wont.

    UPDATE: Everything Restored Fine. So I hope this helps answer some questions.
    Do note I have been doing my chores around the house as well so am not really sure of how long the whole process takes. Either way though having a compressed nandroid is sweet.
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  21. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Thanks guys!

    I'll probably update this tonight. Also going to give the latest NRG Rom a go.
     
    argedion likes this.
  22. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I'm cooling a little bit on the new Amon RA. I've had two issues while using it...

    Last week, I restored a MikG nandroid backup. It restored just fine, but when I booted up, the lockscreen didn't display so I couldn't do anything. I got a text while trying to figure out what was going on, and I briefly saw the launcher selection screen that displayed GoLauncher and HTC Sense but I wasn't able to select anything and when I closed my text notification, it went away and I was stuck at the same screen. I tried rebooting into recovery and wiping cache and dalvik and everything else I could think of but to no avail. I ended up just flashing a clean install of MikG 3.0 and everything was working as normal again.

    Last night I decided to restore an old backup of Deck 1.3d. Again, it restored just fine, but when I booted up, it gave me the "Touch Android to Start" just like it would when starting up the ROM for the very first time. I logged into my google account and all my apps and everything were still loaded up, so I guess it just lost my google account login? Anyway, I thought the weirdness had passed, but I tried to run some market updates and I kept getting force close issues after trying to run any updates. I tried fixing permissions, clearing market data and finally got fed up and just did a fresh install.

    I'm not sure what exactly could be causing this, but I am diligent about following wiping procedures and for all the weird quirks I see a lot of people post about, I pretty much never have any issues, so I'm not sure where the fault for these issues lies. But I certainly never had a single issue while running Amon RA 2.3. I will give the new version one more strike (three and you're out) but I don't feel as comfortable with it as I did with the uber-reliable 2.3. I definitely like saving wear and tear on my volume and power button, but at the end of the day, I need my recovery to work.
     
    argedion and ocnbrze like this.
  23. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Were both the Nandroids created on 2.3? or just the Decks? I don't really have any old nandroids. I usually delete them after a month. Most do to the fact that I have a couple of updates with my programs by that time. I am curious if there are issues restoring from other versions? like 3.08
     
  24. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I went back down to 3.08. Had trouble with data connection after restoring a nand with 3.11.

    Certainly may not have been connected, but I don't need compression anyway and 3.08 worked fine for me a number of times...
     
  25. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS

    I honestly can't remember. Like I said I'm going to stick with this version for now and I am going to try and make some newer backups that were definitely made with the new version.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...