1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Recovery and Redux ROM Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by slm858uk, May 12, 2011.

  1. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Hey Guys,

    Im new here as you can see this is my first post so just wanna say hello also have some few questions regarding my software setup.

    Im using the above recovery software but i have found that the backup/restore function sometimes doesnt work well. As sometimes i create a backup but go to apply this backup and it fails md5 checks and other times it works fine. My question is if i replace recover with the standard CWM or amon ra will this put s-on? And will s-on stop me installing custom roms?

    Sorry this is a bit of random post as i have a couple of questions regarding different things.

    The software before i rooted was TMO branded version 2.12.110.4 CL274424 but as there is no RUU for this software if i ever needed to send it back would a flash of TMO 2.1 software allow me to do an over the air update to the 2.12.110.4 software? hope this makes sense.

    And just one more thing having probs with the redux 1.2 custom rom. first off i was having verification errors so downloaded from a different mirror which solved that. But then i would have problems getting past the s-off screen so i tried again this time i got into redux but everytime i tried to install a application the rom would restart and the application wasnt installed. Then i made an ext3 partition and installed the dark tremor beta 2 which once installed the phone wouldnt boot past the s-off screen again.

    Sorry such a long post hope someone can shed some light for me.

    slm858uk
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Not sure if there is a picture being blocked by my server, but I am not sure what "Above recovery" is?

    MD5 checksomes can be down to a corrupt backup. This can sometimes be caused by a dodgy SD card. Flashing recovery does not affect the Hboot (S-off) no. If you are on a PVT 4 device with erase size 40,000, Flash AmonRA 2.0.1 otherwise Clockworkmod 2.5.0.7 (see rooting quide or faq for instructions to check erase size in my signature).

    Be aware that recoveries cannot restore other recoveries backups.

    You can use teppic74's downgrade tool to downgrade to any older RUU, so as long as there is a tmob 2.1 RUU available, yes you can.



    Again this could be a dodgy sd card, or recovery
     
  3. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Sorry SUroot changed the title of my post halfway through so i had removed the fact i am using CWM-AlphaRev Recovery v2.5.1.8. Will try flashing CWM v2.5.0.7 if you think that is better.

    I have PVT1 device and have checked that it has an erase size of 20,000.

    Thanks for your help SUroot looks like it could be my SD card that is causing probs as i have re-installed Redux and it still downloads an application but before it starts to install the rom restarts and i have to unlock the phone. but even without A2SD+ or dark tremor installed applications are not even installed to internal storage.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I would definitely flash the 2.5.0.7 CWM over the alpharev one. It has been problematic in the past for some.

    Flash cwm 2.5.0.7, do a full wipe and reflash of the rom and see if things are any better. If not, reformat the card partitions too (using gparted if possible)
     
  5. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Sorry SUroot another question you mentioned that backups are not compatible between different recovery software. How about between Alpharev CWM and CWM?

    As the only backup i have for my original TMO branded rom is an alpharev CWM backup.

    Thanks.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    CWM to CWM should be fine.

    I was more refering to CWM to AmonRA (as I couldnt work out what recovery you are on).

    Although the backup will need to be working in the first place. The backup to your stock rom isn't really much use once you get another rom that works. Its not like it can be used to return to stock or anything, so its not the end of the world if its lost.
     
  7. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    That is a very good point :D

    One more thing. Do you know if it is possible to mount the internal phone storage to linux and if so use the images to restore the phone yourself?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    I'm not really familiar with linux but assume its possible as it is possible in ADB Shell on a Windows PC (Basically a simple linux command line interface), But they must be .tar files.

    see this guide here:

    [GUIDE] How To Backup and Restore using tar on adb shell - Fastest recovery - xda-developers

    However, its not straight forward. Its much simpler to use recovery.
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    im pretty sure this is a corrupt sdcard
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Certainly could be, but its not a bad idea to get off that alpharev cwm, even if it is the card.
     
  11. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks for your replies.

    If the SD card was corrupt would it let me load my stock ROM backup.

    Also i have downloaded the quick system info program to check the storage partitions. is it right in thinking thr A2SD storage should be the ext3 partition i created?
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes a2sd is the EXT.

    How did you create it by the way?
     
  13. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    I used gparted in ubuntu which i loaded onto a virtualbox.

    I mite try to load ubuntu onto a usbstick next time i format it.
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    just load gparted live on to usb stick. much better :p
     
  15. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Yeah something wrong with my SD card as the A2SD storage in quick system info doesnt match the partition i created using gparted.

    Also how do you changed the phone storage partitions? and how do u know what size to make them?

    And why would you need to flash the kernel and does a nandroid backup replace with the old kernal?
     
  16. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i wouldnt advise on doing anything like that with a dodgy sdcard
    you need s-off 1st of all
    after that there are files to flash, all of which can be corrupted by the faulty SDcard
    you need to take a backup first then restore afterwards so if the md5 issue comes up you are goosed

    get a new sdcard
     
  17. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Yeah it was only for future reference anyways no where near that stage of modding my desire lol.
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
  19. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks for your help just woke up to find my SD card is defective so will buy a new one.
     
  20. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Hey guys back with an update and some more queries. I got a new SD card which passed all the tests with h2test2.exe. So now onto what i have done to my phone with the new card and problems i have had.

    First of all i entered the SD card into the phone and format it.
    Then used Gparted live CD to resize the partition to add an EXT3 partition.
    Then i copied onto the SD card a copy of redux v1.2 themed, dark tremor (the version on SUroot's dropbox), redux's own equivalent of a2sd.
    Then i cleared the the three main sections ready for new rom (delvik-cache, cache and the data wipe).
    Then i updated with the redux rom zip and dark tremor (after i did both of these at the same time i couldnt get past the alpharev why so serious screen)

    So then i cleared all three caches loaded redux on its own loads up fine so i can use it on its own.

    So then i cleared all three again and loaded redux with its own a2sd script which loaded into redux correctly but while installing aps and keeping an eye on quick system info the new apps are not being moved over.

    Also to help matters the terminal emulator keeps force closing when i try to load it up so cant check what scripts are loaded. * A reinstall fixed this issue *

    Can anyone shed some light onto why im having problems?

    Also while im here is it possible to get the smart dialer for redux?
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Redux already has 10apps2sd in it. Then you can flash a new redux 10apps2sd script which has more functionaility (moves dalvik too).

    The number at the beginning of a script determines the order the scripts run from init.d

    I've just looked in Dark tremor zip and that script is called 04apps2sd. The update script in the zip does not look for any other apps2sd scripts and delete them, so now you have 04apps2sd running first, then 10apps2sd running after.

    This will be causing huge conflict

    If you want to run Dark Tremor, remove /system/etc/init.d/10apps2sd from the rom before flashing. If you just want to use redux's apps2sd, dont flash DT.
     
  22. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Yeah i tried not to get a clash of scripts by not using redux's a2sd and dark tremor at the same time by doing a complete wipe inbetween each flash. By doing this i was able to work out that dark tremor was causing the issue.

    I didnt realise that redux came with a2sd as standard even without downloading there a2sd addon separate.

    Atm listed in my /system/etc/init.d/ directory i have three files:
    -06mountdl
    -10apps2sd
    -99complete

    There is nothing in there to cause any conflict is there?
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Thats the standard set up. As long as you dont flash Dark Tremor, there will be no conflict.

    if you want dark tremor, you must remove 10apps2sd.

    Wiping wont help as that wipes /data and init.d scripts are in the rom /system

    basically 10apps2sd is as standard, basic a2sd. the dalvik add on is a more complext 10apps2sd so it replaces the basic one with a more complex one
     
  24. slm858uk

    slm858uk Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks for your reply. but with my setup at the moment should the apps be installed to the SD card? because they look like they are in the internal storage according to quick system info.
     
  25. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Internal space will always go down. What does quick system info say about a2sd?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...