1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Recovery for commando

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by getitnowmarketing, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. schmude07

    schmude07 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    Understood, thanks. I just did a Google search "baseband unknown fix after nandroid restore" and THIS thread popped up already! I'll look around some more...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Rjglenn, I'm not at my computer but if you feel like searching around for a way to explore the md5 file, maybe there is an identifier for baseband or serial number? Just trying to brainstorm some ideas that might help make progress. I'll start looking when I get home. Thanks again for the help guys
     
  3. schmude07

    schmude07 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    Looking at other threads I found one about flashing an "amss.mbn" file to fix the "baseband unkown" problem, and another thread about flashing the radio.zip file (contains radio.img) after loading a custom rom. Both threads may be related to our problem:
    Please Help... Cant still figure out - Android @ MoDaCo
    and
    Radio_Update - android-roms - How To: Install a Radio Update. - Android ROMs will host updates to the OS both Custom and Offical. - Google Project Hosting

    Maybe we need to re-flash a baseband file? (just brainstorming too, Spike)
     
  4. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    While I prefer the 2.2.1 status bar, I otherwise agree with what rjglenn said.
    2.2.1 was much faster, less laggy pretty much all the time, and had less force-closes. It also booted faster. Where I normally had 40%+ battery at the end of the day with 2.2.1 after removing apps, I am often at 20% or less with 2.3.3 after cleaning it up as much as I could. It's almost like someone added an app to 2.3.3 that ensures no improvement if you clean up the useless stuff. :)

    2.2.1 was the high mark for me.

    Thank you both for trying to make this work!
     
  5. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Flashing a radio from another model phone will have undesireable results (brick) and will probably not be correctable. DO NOT DO IT.

    I do not have the technical knowledge to be able to extract the baseband out of the phone and then package it up into a flashable update.

    This is a classic example of the Peter Principal:

    "A man will rise to the height of his own incompetence and then peter out"

    I've petered out...
     
  6. schmude07

    schmude07 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    I wasn't suggesting we use another model phone's baseband to flash, I agree that would be a bad idea. Until someone less technically challenged than I am stumbles onto our thread, I think I'll go create a dual boot CM7 SD card for my Nook Color which should be arriving in a day or two :D.
     
  7. jakoopen

    jakoopen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    2
    0
    5



    I tried this with command prompt... I did the following:
    cd "C:|Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools"
    redirected to C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb wait-for-device reboot recovery

    attached copy of screen print

    the phone boots to the verizon intiating and nothing further.

    adb status window show that it is [2j [2HAndroid Degug Bridge

    were do i get the GNW recovery
     

    Attached Files:

  8. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    You have to have the recovery installed on the phone to be able to boot into it. Follow the first post on this thread to CNM's post area. On that thread you will find instructions and links to download the needed files.
     
  9. schmude07

    schmude07 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    Ok, so today I spent several hours playing with 2.3.3 and could not get a radio signal, so I recovered my 2.2.1 nandroid backup and all was well again. I decided to try Spike's 2.2.1 backup and it works fine also. So, it appears that it doesn't matter which phone the nandroid came from, the problem is going from one version to another. I wish we knew where the settings for the baseband are located.
     
  10. schmude07

    schmude07 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    10
    2
    36
    Spike, just FYI, my 2.2.1 nandroid has live wallpapers, yours has some cool wallpapers I never saw before, but I didn't see any live ones. My backup also has all the bloatware restored.
     
  11. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    I deleted my stock live wallpapers with titanium so i'm assuming thats why haha but its good to know that nandroids arent for just single phones. also when i flashed rjglenn's 2.3.3 i had several of his apps but i'm sure it wasnt all of them. so i'm assuming they are just apps that start on boot since they were in the boot file or he converted those to system apps. just little things i'm noticing as i learn. Still waiting for someone who knows what theyre talking about to come school us
     
  12. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,565
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Q: if I ever have to unroot and return my phone to Verizon to be replaced under warranty, how do I go back to stock recovery?
     
  13. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Just a guess, change the name of the installed-recovery.bak back to installed-recovery.sh and that should run a script that overwrites the GNM recovery with the stock one on reboot. I do not know if it will work and I'd be scared to death to try it.
     
  14. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    477
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    477
    788
    138
    No it won't work in reverse. The recovery-from-boot.p patch it calls will fail. You did dump your stock recovery right? If not and you used my installer script that script of mine dumped it for you.
     
  15. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,565
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Didn't the installer save it as another file, and the instructions said to move that file or it will get over written?
     
  16. matt8508

    matt8508 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    avionics tech...usmc
    north carolina
    any new info with this? haven't loaded the recovery yet...seeing if anything is possible thus far besides backups.
     
  17. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,565
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    so how do i go back to stock recovery?
     
  18. DaveCool

    DaveCool Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    Oct 15, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I've been lurking and studying up on this recovery. I've had my phone for about a month, but have been very conservative with monkeying with the phone rooting and debloating. The phone rebooted by itself twice last night, and tonight when I went to send a text message it just shut down. Now all it will do is vibrate when I try to turn it on. No video or audio. Verizon is sending a replacement under warranty. I assume that recovery would not help me, even if I had installed it, since the phone won't turn on. Am I wrong?

    I was just becoming happy and comfortable with how I had the phone configured and set up. Bummer.
     
  19. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,565
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    My first commando did that, rebooted and shut down at random. I'm on my second replacement device.
     
  20. bigdanmeys13

    bigdanmeys13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    40
    5
    36
    Heavy Equipment Operator
    Ohio
    Recovery installed successfully! Thank you GNM! After bricking two commandos ( one while trying to install joneidy's 2.2.1 recovery) I was very leery to try this. Used the script & it was easy as 1-2-3! Made a Nandroid backup so now MAYBE I can recover next time I "f" something up. I appreciate all your work and look forward to a custom ROM to play with.
     
  21. matt8508

    matt8508 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    avionics tech...usmc
    north carolina
    Install successfull. Thank you gnm! Once I have this installed...what do I use to unpack the system and boot files to change things?
     
  22. getitnowmarketing

    getitnowmarketing Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    477
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    477
    788
    138
    Dsixda rom kitchen. On the 2.21 to 2.3.3 backups the radio/amss was updated by casio for 2.3 which is causing the no baseband issue when restoring 2.2 or vice versa. There is no current way to backup or flash a ams s/radio.img for this device nor any casio android product service tool available to flash a full firmware.
     
  23. skywindx

    skywindx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    2.3.3 gingerbread nandroid not from 4share downloads,plz post mirror url,thx
     
  24. Pawkoo

    Pawkoo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    I am so happy to finally see a working, albeit not for me quite yet, recovery for my casio commando. I ran the script in the terminal emulator wit success however, my issue is that it runs the script and reboots my phone into recovery, its still just the triangle with droid and exclamation mark. Im in debugging mode and I plugged in my phone after which I turned usb to "charge only" and yet I am baffled. I tried this 5 times with no success other than the script ran and rebooted. Please help asap as I would love to have this on my phone. Thanks!!!!
     
  25. Pawkoo

    Pawkoo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    I think I might have found the issue as to why the recovery isnt working. When I run the script a line pops up stating that there isnt a file "recovery.img" to be found. I thought this before. When i download the .zip for the commando recovery the only files that came with it were as follows: Readme, busybox, dump-recovery.img, dump-image, flash_image, reboot, and recoveryflash.sh. Again, there isnt a "recovery.img" file in the zip and I think that is the issue. Please help if you can! Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...