1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

General [Recovery] Twrp v3 for Zte Zmax Pro

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by messi2050, Oct 28, 2016.

  1. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    530
    892
    173
    Male
    Deleted

     

    Advertisement

    #1 messi2050, Oct 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2018
  2. Tennaki

    Tennaki Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 16, 2015

    May 16, 2015
    75
    44
    33
    Smiling.
    Port Saint Lucie, Florida
    One small step towards something grand; thanks a bunch for helping us slowly get there!
    I'll most certainly send a donation your way once payday comes around. c:
     
    cyanidekid, lambo352 and messi2050 like this.
  3. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    Not to sound like an ass, but if you can't get it to install yet, how do you know it works?
    I still have nightmares about unbricking my LG G2.... keep up the good work though, I'd throw in some money but I'm really tight on cash right now.
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  4. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    530
    892
    173
    Male
    as u can see in the first post it's still in beta stage as it was not tested yet, it should work by 80% but u are right it's still risky to be tested by beginner users it's why the donations will be used to get a devlopment device so i can do the tests on it...
     
    #4 messi2050, Oct 28, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2016
    che_edgar and lambo352 like this.
  5. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    Good point. I just hope that it wont be as bad as the LG G2 if it gets bricked. You know... the whole perma brick thing. I'm sure it wont be that bad this time around if it does brick a device.

    Have you went into developer options and enabled "Allow bootloader to be unlocked"? I think it disables security checks when you flash via download mode. I had to use that option on my S4 and Core Prime to get custom recovery.
     
  6. messi2050

    messi2050 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    530
    892
    173
    Male
    I still don't have the device so i didn't make any trys myself
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  7. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    Oh okay. Good luck when you do get it. I and many others really appreciate it.
     
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Ideally, we need a way to temporarily get a root shell so that we can dd the stock recovery to the SD card then dd twrp to the recovery partition. Since we don't have stock firmware available for download it's very important to be able to pull the raw images of all the firmware partitions so that a stock firmware zip can be made.

    Why does ZTE have to be such a pain in the arse
     
    cyanidekid, lambo352 and Krlypumaa like this.
  9. Mosthated0ne

    Mosthated0ne Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016

    Oct 22, 2016
    2
    8
    6
    Male
    This guy is A beast! Keep it up Messi , if I wasn't poor I'd buy you one! Sucks someone with extra $$ get this pro a zmax pro then be will probably have root, recovery all done same day, I mean look all this done without the phone just some firmware files he found! Mastermind!
     
  10. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    Device will departure by Nov 4 that's the early i can send it to the address you gave me. Sorry...
     
  11. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Thank you sir. You're doing some amazing work. I wish I was there in person to learn how one begins to root a device from scratch (ie not a google search for someone else's hard work that they already did for you so all you have to do is flash it)
     
    messi2050 likes this.
  12. lambo352

    lambo352 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    188
    165
    68
    Male
    Will Odin work for flashing recovery if we put the device in download mode? If Odin will work how do we navigate the program so files go where they need to? In download mode the screen stays blank but home button will keep flashing..
     
  13. lambo352

    lambo352 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    188
    165
    68
    Male
    Or can we flash with this sp flash tool?
     
    Mcfuture77 likes this.
  14. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,646
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,646
    2,255
    533
    Male
    South Florida
    Everything I've seen indicates that sp flash tool is only for devices with mediatek chips and won't work on Qualcomm devices.
     
    cyanidekid and lambo352 like this.
  15. lambo352

    lambo352 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    188
    165
    68
    Male
    How bout Odin?
     
  16. nino44

    nino44 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    63
    56
    33
     
  17. nino44

    nino44 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    63
    56
    33
    Odin is only for Samsung devices
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  18. lambo352

    lambo352 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    188
    165
    68
    Male
    Zlurk, Joe1337357 and cyanidekid like this.
  19. Tennaki

    Tennaki Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 16, 2015

    May 16, 2015
    75
    44
    33
    Smiling.
    Port Saint Lucie, Florida
    I'm not sure, but the Volume Up + Down while plugging in USB combination does seem to put the phone into some mode that isn't FTM, but it keeps disconnecting and reconnecting. The Home button also stays solid lit; is this our download mode?

    [​IMG]
    https://gyazo.com/f342a49649677ae54f6e046a6deb4354
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  20. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    I think that isn't DFU, and I sure as hell wouldn't attempt to flash to it because it looks just like a bricked LG G2 when connected to a PC. If any of you have Ubuntu or Arch Linux please boot the phone like Tennaki did and try to see if you can mount partitions. If you can then you can dump all of the firmware and data from the phone.

    A bricked LG G2 would do the same exact thing - connect and disconnect quickly on OS X/Windows, but if you go into Linux you can mount the partitions of the phone. I'm willing to bet that the Zmax Pro is doing the same thing.
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  21. lambo352

    lambo352 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    188
    165
    68
    Male
    Yes I think that's download mode.. I thought the home button blinked. I know in download mode the screen stays blank with the home button lit.. You might need this also.. I'm not home yet to try..
    http://gsmusbdriver.com/zte-zmax-pro
     
  22. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    I wouldn't try flashing anything just yet, BULK mode in many cases directly exposes all of the data partitions on the phone, including recovery and firmware. I could be wrong but that's how the LG G2 acted when you put it into bulk mode.

    I'm going to try to see if the partitions are exposed when put into this mode. VOL UP+DOWN on boot right? I've installed the drivers so maybe I will be able to mount them in Windows (lol probably not). I will post results in a few minutes.
     
  23. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    I'm back with results! I was wrong, it does not expose the partitions... however, we DO have DFU mode. :)

    What do we do now? DFU mode doesn't require signed binaries does it? All we have to do is flash the TWRP recovery, right?
     

    Attached Files:

    lambo352 likes this.
  24. Tennaki

    Tennaki Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 16, 2015

    May 16, 2015
    75
    44
    33
    Smiling.
    Port Saint Lucie, Florida
    Only thing left is to try and see what happens if that's indeed DFU mode...

    So..., who has a brave stomach? lol
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  25. anubis2048

    anubis2048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015

    If someone can promise $120 to replace my phone then sure I will do it right now....

    Also
    "Only thing left is to try and see what happens if that's indeed DFU mode..."
    Check the picture I posted, it says that it's DFU mode. I did install the drivers that were posted and that's probably why I was able to see it.
     
    lambo352 likes this.
  26. LaVelle1991

    LaVelle1991 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016

    Nov 29, 2016
    1
    3
    16
    Male
    Parma Ohio
    I'm excited about this and i'm totally donating my zte max pro for development. i'm pretty tech savy and I do have linux and windows os so please contact me. Skype-lxf5856
     
    J_Mohler, Elgindelta and messi2050 like this.

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...