1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [RECOVERY] ZenGarden 2.0.3.3-T --------- 01/30/2013

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Earthnfire78, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Leave the phone in USB debugging mode. It will not hurt anything. My phone has been in USB debugging mode for almost a year and a half.

    PM Earthnfire78 and let him know about the checksum error. Could be he just forgot to update md5 sum when he updated the recovery, or there is a problem with the download.
    He can also be found at Android Central in the V forum/Rooting, ROM's, and Hacks.
     

    Advertisement

    reidi likes this.
  2. badblue1

    badblue1 * TRUCKS ARE BEAUTIFUL *
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1,094
    375
    163
    Male
    truck driver
    ~ the "burgh" ~
    @ Earthnfire 78 : I got the same results, md5 checksum = (ac2d8d56913bdc3c6b64930ffff92611) i got the same number as mnwaterbug?
     
  3. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    215
    44
    43
    Hey I was thinking of trying the new Mirage today and I'm currently using
    BS 1-31. I haven't tried any new roms in a long time. I was using Xionia recovery and have already flashed ZenGarden, is all I have to do basically is go to (prepare for new install) and that's it?
     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Go to the All Things Root Guide sticky ^
    Guide section.
    How to flash/install a flash_image, recovery, and ROM.

    Let the page fully load. It should take you to post 22.
    Go to section 7
     
  5. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    215
    44
    43
    I checked it out Andy but isn't (prepare for new install) something that I would do instead of or additionally?

    wipe and format menu

    -cache dalvik-cache
    -data/factory reset
    but I don't want (prepare for new install)?

    and in advanced/utilities/mounts and storage

    -format boot
    -format system
    -format data
    -format cache

    btw, thanks for replying to me in the mirage thread in Android Central:)
     
  6. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    When going from one ROM to another, or a backup, you need to wipe and format everything but the SD card.

    In ZenGarden this can be thoroughly acomplished by selecting all wipe options in the wipe section. You won't need to format anything in the mounts and storage section because the wipe options in the wipe section acomplish this.

    You want as thorough a wipe as possible to make sure there is no residual data left behind to corrupt the new ROM or the backup.
     
  7. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    215
    44
    43
    Ok, I misread/misunderstood this-

    (Update for the ZenGarden recovery- just go to wipe option and select every option once to thoroughly satisfy the pre-ROM wipe requirements of A, B, C, and D below).

    I read it to mean steps A-D should be done even in ZenGarden for a wipe:)
    Thanks for the help Andy!
     
  8. reidi

    reidi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    31
    3
    16
    Seeks like leaving debugging on with a rooted phone is opening a wide security hole. Wouldn't anyone be able to connect the phone to a system with adb and browse unrestricted? In other words bypassing even the rudimentary lockscreen functionality?
     
  9. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Only if it's stolen.
    Then there are othed ways to gain access even without USB debugging turned on.

    If not kept on and you soft brick it you will have to use a hard brick method to possible restore phone.

    I have had the V for almost two years. Haven't had anybody steal it yet (it hasn't left my sight or person when not at home)
     
  10. reidi

    reidi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    31
    3
    16
    I suppose one solution would be if whatever recovery tool automatically turned on USB debugging before a flash (after all COT and I assume others now automatically make nandroid backups before a flash). I'm not a big fan of being "looked after" though.
     
  11. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I just try to help and give advice based on my personal experience.
    It's ultimately you decision what you do/don't do.
    If not comfortable with leaving it in USB debugging (all New Gingerbread ROMs for the V have the box checked by default), uncheck the box, just don't do anything or install anything that might softbrick phone ( don't flash a theme or kernel or a alpha/beta anything). You can just turn it on prior to making any changes. After a few reboots and runups of changes and you don't have any problem, turn back off.
     
  12. badblue1

    badblue1 * TRUCKS ARE BEAUTIFUL *
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1,094
    375
    163
    Male
    truck driver
    ~ the "burgh" ~
    Hey guys &#8230; silly questions, but i haven't flashed anything since backside back in May. I just don't want to mess anything up.

    I was at a wifi hotspot yesterday so i downloaded Zengarden touch recovery. img , can i rename it to recovery. img and use the Flash image GUI app to install it? On the app do i check the boxes to clear cache and dalvik cache?

    What happens to my current recovery, VM670nh.img, should i delete it after install of Zengarden?
    Also the xonia recovery. zip, can i delete that because of zengardens ability to get you out of a bootloop?

    Sorry for all the questions and thanks in advance, i just don't want to run into any problems without having a computer to get me out of trouble!
     
  13. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Yes, you can rename it.
    You can have as many recovery's on the sd card as you want as long as they have different names. I rename mine
    brecovery.img for the BobZohme
    trecovery.img for the Touch Screen
    xrecovery.img for the Xionia
    zrecovery.img for the ZenGarden
    crecovery.img for the Cannibal Open Touch
    The zipped Xionia I don't have to rename because it's installed thru recovery, not the emulator/cmd prompt.

    Note: You can install the recovery a lot easier now that you already have the proper flash_image installed (the reason to use the Flash Image GUI in the first place).
    Just open terminal emulator app and type in:
    su
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/zrecovery.img (or whatever you renamed the ZenGarden recovery to)

    Hit the enter key after each line.
    You should get a long stream of almost Identical looking lines of code.
    It should have a # at the end.
    If no errors you can reboot into recovery by typing in:
    reboot recovery.
     
    badblue1 likes this.
  14. badblue1

    badblue1 * TRUCKS ARE BEAUTIFUL *
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1,094
    375
    163
    Male
    truck driver
    ~ the "burgh" ~
    Thanks Andy, but i thought you could flash the recovery just by using the app without the need of terminal emulator?

    EDIT : Ok if i use terminal emulator, do i need to do anything with Flash Image Gui app?
     
  15. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Note: I was just pointing out that you didn't need the app. You can still use it if your not comfortable with giving shell commands.
    When and if you get used to the terminal emulator and or a command line interface (computer), just delete the app.
    The app just made it easy to get a flash_image installed with the proper permissions. Installing the recovery was a added bonus.
     
    badblue1 likes this.
  16. badblue1

    badblue1 * TRUCKS ARE BEAUTIFUL *
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    1,094
    375
    163
    Male
    truck driver
    ~ the "burgh" ~
    Just want to say THANK YOU EARTHNFIRE 78 what a great recovery!

    Keep up the great work!

    Installed your recovery this morning, made some backups, definitely 100% noob friendly! " woot "
     
  17. jalb93

    jalb93 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014

    Apr 4, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Thanks you!!!!! this helped me a lot
     
  18. sushifor5

    sushifor5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    676
    58
    98
    Mom, healer, writer, student midwife
    Northern Idaho
    I really hope you can help me...I switched over to your recovery a couple days ago so I could flash from my Harmonia froyo rom to Harmonia gingerbread and change my Link2sd partition to ext4... Well, I've had a terrible time getting things working right. Every time I wipe and flash the rom and try to make the ext partition in the recovery, it erases my sd card! Or, the partition won't mount...either thing is happening. Tonight, it erased my sd card again...so I am hoping I can copy the files from my computer back onto it and flash a rom and not have a brick. :( What am I doing wrong? How do I use your recovery to wipe for a new rom, install the rom, and then get an ext4 partition on my sd card so i can use link2sd? Thx!
     
  19. PL28

    PL28 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Not sure if I'm in the right area but since I have the ZenGarden 2.0.3.3-T Recovery, I thought I would ask here to see if I can get some answer.

    A while ago, my brother had given me his Optimus V and it was rooted and not remembering not to do factory reset, I did that.. Opps. After that the phone boots in loop in CWM-based Recovery v4.0.1.5, so after reading up on some of the forum to fix that issue, I saw that you can fix it with Xionia recovery but saw that ZenGarden might be a better version. So I install ZenGarden and tried to fix the issue. Now that I got ZenGarden install, I'm still not able to get out this loop.

    Here are the things I have tried:
    1) Go to WIPE/FORMAT, - Prepare for New Install (format everything? I think)
    2)Go to ADVANCE OPTIONS, and MOUNTS and STORAGE and FORMAT CACHE, DATA, SYSTEM, and BOOT
    3) Go to INSTALL PACKAGE, and install Harmonia_2.09_OV.zip and reboot.

    However, I'm still rebooting back into the ZenGarden Recovery.

    If any one can offer any help or point me to where to look, I would be very grateful.

    Thanks in advance,
     
  20. Zuca

    Zuca Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015

    Oct 15, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Any chance that this can be reuploaded as zip? Thanks in advance.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...