1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Red Flags for Tethering off sprint?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by MissDroidNoob, Jul 9, 2011.

1. MissDroidNoob

MissDroidNoob Lurker
    None

Jul 9, 2011
    Quick post and run... but I just temp rooted my evo shift 4g and downloaded a tether app and was streaming live video on my laptop at almost 30mb/a sec (atleast thats what the app said). is this going to send red flags to sprint or is it TRUELY unlimited? there is no 4g in our area so its 3g. what are the chances of being caught doing this? and what can happen if I do get caught? I just got this phone a few days ago, and im new to sprint and smart phones in general. im just scared of getting caught lol

Advertisement

2. sitlet

None

Apr 11, 2010
    HAHAHA no you weren't. 3g speeds are between 600kbps and 1800kpbs, approx. 4g on sprint wont get above 6mbps approx.

A few minutes here and there isn't going to hurt. People that tether all day long are the ones that really need to worry.

You would only get caught if you did it excessively, i.e. all day long doing nothing but downloading.

Sprint could terminate your contract.

3. MissDroidNoob

MissDroidNoob Lurker
    None

Jul 9, 2011
    Well, I won't pay for TV so we use netflix and hulu constantly... probably up to 5 hours a day. That would be too much you think? what if I started paying for the service legally would that still be too much?

4. BenChase7

BenChase7 Android Expert
    None

Jun 16, 2010
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix