1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Redraw fix for BIONIC

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johnlgalt, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Updated: 23 Sep 2011

    The same tried and tested and true redraw fix works on our phones as well. Kudos to Tehsusenoh for testing this.

    Prerequisites:

    You must be rooted



    Apply Redraw fix

    Android Terminal Procedure:
    • Open terminal
    • type the following commands

      Code (Text):
      1. su
      2. cp /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak
      3. echo "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" >> /data/local.prop
      4. exit
    • reboot

    ADB Procedure:
    • Connect your device to your USB cable, make sure that Charge only mode is set for USB Connection:

      Notifications --> USB Notification --> Select Charge only

      Manual root 1.jpg manual root 2.jpg manual root 3.jpg
    • From a command prompt on your computer go to the {path}/Android/android-sdk/platform-tools/ folder, where {path} is the location of the Android SDK - it may be Program Files / Program Files (x86) is you downloaded the installer, or it may just be C: / D: / etc if you downloaded the .ZIP only

      manual root 4.JPG
    • Run

      Code (Text):
      1. adb shell
      2. su
      3. cp /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak
      4. echo "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" >> /data/local.prop
      5. reboot
      Redraw fix 1.JPG

    Enjoy the new redraw speeds.

    Remove redraw fix:

    Prerequisites:

    You must have used the above procedure in order for this remove procedure to work

    Android Terminal Procedure:
    • Open terminal
    • type the following commands
      Code (Text):
      1. su
      2. cp /data/local.prop.bak /data/local.prop
      3. exit
    • reboot

    ADB Procedure:
    • Connect your device to your USB cable, make sure that Charge only mode is set for USB Connection:
    • From a command prompt on your computer go to the {path}/Android/android-sdk/platform-tools/ folder, where {path} is the location of the Android SDK - it may be Program Files / Program Files (x86) is you downloaded the installer, or it may just be C: / D: / etc if you downloaded the .ZIP only
    • Run

      Code (Text):
      1. adb shell
      2. su
      3. cp /data/local.prop.bak /data/local.prop
      4. reboot

    NOTE: Some people will tell you that this is not a true fix, and it can have a deleterious or detrimental effect on your phone. YMMV. As always,

    I am not responsible to what you do to your phone. This guide is provide as is, without any implicit nor any implied warranties or guarantees.
     

    Advertisement

    SoDroid, breadnatty08 and tehsusenoh like this.
  2. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    I confirm that this works, to an extent. All of my widgets, even Elixir, started up almost instantly on the stock launcher, versus waiting a minute for everything to engage.
     
  3. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I'll give it a shot. Though I really can't say I was experiencing any redraw issues to speak of.

    Question: How does one undo this? I don't want to assume.
     
  4. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    What's redraw?
     
  5. thatguy188

    thatguy188 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    295
    59
    73
    South Carolina
    I did it (Terminal Method) and like tehsusenoh said, things like elixir seems to load quicker but not really by a lot. I don't see really any difference after doing this.

    Redraw however was never really a big thing of mine anyways, I never noticed, lol.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I suppose I should put that in as well lol...

    Simple - open /data/local.prop and using a text editor, simply remove the line that was added by the guide. Again, you'll need root to be able to do it, and the methodology can be accomplished in a variety of ways - direct editing, or copy file to another device, edit, copy back, etc.

    Basically, it is a setting that was undocumented (I believe) in the Android OS that sets a specific value on how fast the system tries to draw out UI elements on the homescreen, if I understand it correctly. In layman's terms, it's a 'fix' for memory intensive launchers like LPP and ADW that allowed for more than 3 screens, which people would load u with widgets.

    it may or may not be helpful to you. So, use at your own risk.

    Yeah, it depends a lot on how many widgets you have, etc. on your homescreen. And, as always, YMMV.
     
  7. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    I'd recommend a command right after su:
    cat /data/local.prop > /data/local.prop.bak

    OR

    cp /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak

    That way people can restore the prop file if need be by reversing the command:
    cp /data/local.prop.bak /data/local.prop
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  8. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    John, after the first command I got
    "No such file or directory exists". I ended up finishing the commands and rebooted. Things don't seem to have changed. But, honestly redraw isn't much of an issue with my Bionic ;)
     
  9. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    If you're doing Terminal John has 1 slight error in his commands.

    su
    cp /data/local/prop /data/local.prop.bak (Should be cp /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak)
    echo "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" >> /data/local.prop
    exit

    Looks like it's the same in the ADB procedure ;)

    Just realized that Lars had it correct in his post hehe
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Fixed - 4 occurrences of data/local/prop changed to data/local.prop

    Sorry I wasn't around recently to fix this - I had 2 tests this week an a presentation today.
     

Share This Page

Loading...