1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Reduce Lag on the MyTouch

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Clackamas, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. Clackamas

    Clackamas Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009

    Jul 15, 2009
    80
    2
    16
    Reducing Lag Due to Location Based Services (Tested with myTouch)

    Summary:

    Only use GPS or Network Based Location services but don't have both enabled at the same time.

    Background:

    I purchased the myTouch on 08/20/09 running Firmware 1.5 (Cupcake), Build Number COC10. I am also using the 4GB card that came with the phone.

    I found that Sherpa and Google maps tended be less than accurate and lagged significantly despite being in Downtown Seattle with 2 - 4 bars of service depending on building density.

    I also had Pedometer running (a free app from the Market). Sherpa was exteremely laggy to the point of being useless in both Carsel Mode as well as Map Mode. I didn't use Satillite nor Street View in any of my testing.

    Testing:

    When I killed Pedometer, I found Sherpa seemed to improve a bit, but still, it was very clumsy to use due to lag. I then looked at "Security and Locations" services and saw both "Use wireless netowrks" and "GPS" enabled. I first disabled "Use wireless netowrks" and saw an immediate improvement in Sherpa. I reenabeld the Pedometer and still got a good response from Sherpa and Google Maps including reduced lag and more precise location. I then disabled GPS (and told the applications to cancel when asked to enable) and enabeld Network based services. Sherpa, Google Maps and Pedometer all responded well, location services improved in accuracy and little lag.

    Conclusion:

    Having both GPS and Network base location services in Cupcake seems to cause significant performance problems. Having only 1 of the two services enabled both improved performance and accuracy of location based services.

    I hope this helps others.

    08-22-2009 04:16 PM

    (Separate tags with spaces)
     

    Advertisement

  2. gmac

    gmac Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you for this information.:D
     
  3. DevinB

    DevinB Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009

    Aug 2, 2009
    42
    0
    15
    Good info, thanks.
     
  4. phohammer

    phohammer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009

    Sep 12, 2009
    13
    2
    16
    +1
     
  5. vertigo25

    vertigo25 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    +1

    Testing this myself, I'm seeing the same results. With both on gMaps gave an accuracy of 10 to 12 meters; that's now down to 4 to 6! All my locative apps (especially Sherpa) seem far more snappy, too.

    Thanks for posting this. :)
     
  6. MonkeyK

    MonkeyK Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009

    Jun 22, 2009
    66
    5
    16
    Twin Cities, MN
    I could easily see this being the case. How does one manage flipping the two location services as appropriate? Are you using Locale to handle this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...