• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Reduce lag without rooting??

bendbolden

Lurker
Aug 11, 2010
Hey guys. Looking for a few tips on reducing my lag without rooting. I have read mixed reviews on the advanced task killer and also am not sure how i should set the frequency and level of kill if I did use it. Also is there a major difference in lag if I were to root. I like the phones stock features and wouldn't be interested in doing anything other than speeding the phone up. I have jailbroken an iPhone so I may be a little familiar with the process but all help is appreciated. Thanks

I have no experience of rooting so I'm afraid i cant give you much advice there, but i do use the advanced task killer on my Desire.

I set the kill frequency to the minimum (30 minutes) and then excluded any apps i either want to run in the background, or need to run to update. Things like IM+, Mail, music, internet etc. It made using the phone a much smoother experience as it stops rogue background processes eating your CPU. My available memory used to get as low as 50mb where the phone really lagged, but with advanced task killer running it was always somewhere between 150 and 200.

Id say give advanced task killer a go, its not going to make your phone faster per se but it will keep it from getting bogged down. Just play about with the autokill till you get something that suits you.

Plus, installing an app is easier and faster than rooting.

Upvote 0
If you like all the stock features, you can root but leave your current OS (HTC Sense etc... ) as is. Nothing will change.

Then just install the setCPU app and overclock your Eris to 710-768 MHZ which will take care of most of the lag issues.

If you really want to remove lag completely you would have to install a new ROM (OS) which is much more slimmed down than stock and overclock with setCPU

Upvote 0