1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Reflashing ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elbow, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. elbow

    elbow Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Could some one give me a definitive set of steps for reflashing the ROM back to original HTC? I'm getting quite confused. Is there an official HTC ROM that can be downloaded or do they all come from enthusuats' bedrooms?

    Also, does this equate to rooting and will it invalidate my warranty?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I'm assuming from the above that you've already installed a third-party ROM, so the easiest/safest way would be to restore the backup you made prior to that. ;)

    Not quite. While there's no 'official' download source available, the generic HTC/Orange/T-mobile ROMs are available for easy installation here.

    No, rooting is a separate procedure often included in third-party ROMs or applied to stock ones. As to the question of warranty..... probably. I'm sure any excuse to wriggle out of liability will be seized upon. ;)

    /Al
     
  3. elbow

    elbow Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Actually no. By "back" I mean get it back to the factory ROM and away from the Orange ROM.

    Thanks for the links.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Ahh, in that case just use the latest generic HTC update.zip and you're sorted. You're probably best doing a wipe from the recovery menu prior to running update.zip so that you start with a clean slate, so to speak. Oh, and make a Nandroid backup (also available from recovery menu) before doing anything, in case Murphy strikes. :)

    /Al
     
  5. elbow

    elbow Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    ... that b*stard ...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...